ionodecache CPU >100% and fans boosting

Discussion in 'macOS Sierra (10.12)' started by rubendepedro, Sep 21, 2016.

  1. rubendepedro macrumors newbie

    rubendepedro

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2016
    Location:
    Portugal
    #1
    Hi

    I upgrade from El Capitan to Sierra yesterday, and now I have a process called 'ionodecache' consuming more than 100% CPU usage since then. I thought it was indexing/caching something, but after 24h it continue very high on CPU usage and the fans are boosting non-stop all the time. Googling doesn't help. I even rebooted the Mac twice but the process still persistent.

    I found recently this thread: https://discussions.apple.com/thread/7676338

    Anyone with this issue? Any hint about whats happening and how to fix it?

    I have a MacBook Pro (Retina, Mid 2012)

    Regards,
    Ruben P.
     
  2. h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #2
    The background process can last for few days. e.g. the photos scan taxed my CPU for more than 72 hours to finish the job. Just leave it, in most case, you don't have to fix anything. If you have to shut down the Mac, do it. The system will stop the process, and resume it on the next boot.
     
  3. rubendepedro thread starter macrumors newbie

    rubendepedro

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2016
    Location:
    Portugal
    #3
  4. Mr. 123 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2016
    #4
    I have the same issue. Is your computer slow or is it running at a normal speed? Mine is terribly slow:/
     
  5. rubendepedro thread starter macrumors newbie

    rubendepedro

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2016
    Location:
    Portugal
    #5
    Sometimes Chrome hangs for a few seconds on scrolling... with few tabs opened.

    I tried to unplug AC power, but the process remained active and drained half the battery in about 30 min.
     
  6. ElysioPires macrumors newbie

    ElysioPires

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2016
    #6
    Hello Ruben!

    Just enter in Activity monitor and force quit the process until Apple says something about that. I do it here and my MAC still normal right now...

    I hope that will be a quick fix for that...

     
  7. rubendepedro thread starter macrumors newbie

    rubendepedro

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2016
    Location:
    Portugal

Share This Page