iPad to Replace Macbook?

Discussion in 'iPad' started by DougEFresh23, Mar 23, 2016.

1. DougEFresh23 macrumors newbie

DougEFresh23

Has anyone thought about or even tried replacing their Macbook with an iPad?

Right now I'm a student and don't use my computer for much more than writing papers and reading stuff for class, occasionally taking notes, although I usually do that on paper. So since the recent major upgrades to iPads, and especially with the Pro now available in a 9.7 inch I'm interested in trading in my old iPad and older Macbook and going to just an iPad.

I'm a little nervous about not having a computer. In the past I never could have imagined not having a computer, but most of the stuff I do now is stored in the cloud or downloaded digitally. I obviously don't use my computer for high performance tasks so that's not a concern I have either.

So I was curious if anyone with an iPad Pro could testify to the validity of this option. If anyone has actually done this I'd be incredibly intrigued at your experience.

2. Chupa Chupa macrumors G5

Chupa Chupa

I've taken my iPad w/ me on short business trips instead of my MBP and for trivial writing the iPad is fine. I wouldn't want to write and edit a 20+ research paper on it though. I know Apple is pushing the iPad as a computer replacement but IMHO its still more of a computer companion if you do more than web, email, and short writing. That's why I think the Pro prices are out of line.

Shorter: if I had to chose between either an iPad or a MacBook (Air) I'm taking the MacBook every time.

3. Praxeus, Mar 23, 2016
    Last edited: Mar 24, 2016

Praxeus macrumors newbie

Praxeus

I agree totally. I've taken several business trips with the iPad Pro and for the most part with MS Office it has been fine. For anything meaty, I still need the functions a laptop/Macbook, especially the ability to work with large blocks of text and numbers.