iPhone 4S only has 512MB of RAM

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by chrmjenkins, Oct 5, 2011.

  1. ap3604 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2011
    #2
    Spec geeks are idiots. I trust Apple to bring me a faster experience while not compromising battery life :)
     
  2. appleguy123 macrumors 603

    appleguy123

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    Location:
    15 minutes in the future
    #3
    If spec geeks are idiots, I assume you see no value in the iPhone 4S?
     
  3. kevintech macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2010
    #4
    cough fanboy cough
     
  4. PhoneI macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2008
  5. drenline macrumors 6502a

    drenline

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010
    #6
    Not surprising to hear, bet they just stuck parts from the ipad 2 into the 4S and called it a day.
     
  6. ap3604 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2011
    #7
    I see no value in gushing about #'s.

    "ZOMG there is 1gb of RAM!" :rolleyes:

    As long as the phone is a really fast, great experience then I'm not gonna get caught up in the #'s game...
     
  7. Peace macrumors Core

    Peace

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2005
    Location:
    Space--The ONLY Frontier
    #8
    Speaking of fanboys. All those android phones NEED 1gb because the OS is so crappy.
     
  8. wwe2008 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2008
    #9
    remove that hideous man from your avatar
     
  9. drb1992 macrumors 6502

    drb1992

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2011
    #10
    True that :D
     
  10. chrmjenkins thread starter macrumors 603

    chrmjenkins

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Location:
    CA
    #11
    No, it's the same amount of RAM, though it's likely faster LPDDR2 as opposed to LPDDR1.
     
  11. Captain America macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2011
    Location:
    Philly
    #12
    Not surprising it is (/yoda) but still disappointing. I knew of these similarities to the iPad, but I was pretty happy to hear that it was most likely going to have a gig of RAM. That's just another reason for me to wait for the Nexus.
     
  12. appleguy123 macrumors 603

    appleguy123

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    Location:
    15 minutes in the future
    #13
  13. PhoneI macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2008
    #14
    Ok then, I will change it. Sweet, its the same amount of RAM as my already awesome iPhone 4.
     
  14. dehory macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2008
    #15
    That'd be a shame if it were true. The occasional slowdowns on my iPhone 4 seem to be more related to memory shortage than CPU/GPU speed.

    Much like This is my next, you should add a question mark on the end of that thread heading, though. Still speculation at this point.
     
  15. 314631 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    Location:
    iDeaded myself
    #16
    Agreed 100%. That's why iPhone 4S is for idiots. The 4S is all about minor improvements in specs and nothing else.
     
  16. pgiguere1, Oct 7, 2011
    Last edited: Oct 7, 2011

    pgiguere1 macrumors 68020

    pgiguere1

    Joined:
    May 28, 2009
    Location:
    Montreal, Canada
    #17
    iPhone 4S has 512MB RAM

    Apple usually doesn't disclose RAM amount in their keynotes or marketing material, so we usually have to wait until the release for a teardown of internals.

    However, I came across this interview on Eurogamer with Donald Mustard, creative director of Chair Entertainment, the branch of Epic Games developing Infinity Blade 2 for the iPhone 4S.

    What are your thoughts on that?

    I personally am a bit disappointed, given that the iPhone 3GS doubled the RAM of the iPhone 3G.

    Some may say 512MB is enough, but I do experience problems with the current 512MB in the iPhone 4, including:

    - Page refreshes on Safari every time I switch tabs when I have lots of them open.

    - Long music tracks (~30min+, like mixtapes and live shows) often stop playing automatically when I use another app, then I have to hit Play again and it restarts the track from the beginning

    - Maps often has to reload the area of the map that you're in that already loaded minutes ago. When you have a slow connection it's painful to watch Maps load.

    - Issues loading pages with a large amount of pictures, at some point they will just stop loading and only the text will be displayed. Pages full of gifs never load.

    - Music downloaded from Safari playing in background (Quicktime playing an mp3) will often stop loading or lose connection if I use another app.
     
  17. navindralr macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    #18
    that is a little disappointing. I expected something a little more. 1GB was what I had figured Apple would incorporate. Oh well... Hopefully it performs well...
     
  18. Goldinboy17 macrumors 65816

    Goldinboy17

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    Location:
    San Francisco, Ca
    #19
    I'm slightly disappointed as well. Don't get me wrong, 512's enough to run somewhat smoothly, especially when compared to the 512MB's my Android phones run off of. Still I often find myself with 20-30MB's of free RAM and an extremely sluggish phone; too many tabs on Safari often cause this. Even 768MB's would have done a whole lot for me.
     
  19. jav6454 macrumors P6

    jav6454

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #20
    Well, given that the fab process hasn't shrunk, I seriously doubted we would have seen 1GB right now. Remember, the iPhone is never first when it comes to RAM amounts.

    When the 3GS got 256MB, many competitors had already 256MB at minimum. When the iPhone 4 got its 512 MB of RAM many other phone already boosts 512MB, 768MB or 1GB....

    However, none of those phones have the software optimize like Apple's. Apple does more with less, and that is always crucial.
     
  20. Spectrum Abuser macrumors 65816

    Spectrum Abuser

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2011
    #21
    I can't understand why anyone thought the 4S would receive 1GB of RAM when the iPad 2 did not. Would of made little sense considering Apple would then have to produce two variants of the A5 for two different devices.
     
  21. DeathChill macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2005
    #22
    They did it with the A4. I agree that it is kind of silly to make two variants but it must make financial sense if Apple did it.
     
  22. pgiguere1 macrumors 68020

    pgiguere1

    Joined:
    May 28, 2009
    Location:
    Montreal, Canada
    #23
    Maybe not if you're talking about Android competition, but it usually has more than the iPad. The iPad had 256MB RAM while the iPhone 4 had 512MB. Only 9 months later the iPad 2 came with a matching 512MB.

    I'm already hearing rumors of the Galaxy SIII having 2GB RAM. :(
     
  23. Amnesia87 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010
    #24
    The only reason for this was that people were speculating that Siri required more ram... despite the fact that the old Siri app had no issues...

    What is curious is that they haven't made any mention of if the iPad 2 will get Siri, you would think the hardware would be compatible...
     
  24. jav6454 macrumors P6

    jav6454

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #25
    Like I said, look at post-iPad tablets out there with Android. Many of those had more than 256MB RAM (many at 512MB or 1GB). Even then, Apple didn't go with the flow and kept it at 512MB.

    The Galaxy S II may have 2GB, but it doesn't really matter because the software isn't taking real advantage of the hardware. So basically, you are just paying from bragging rights.
     

Share This Page