Japanese Kana Keyboard Layout - Where is the key?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Ochire, Apr 7, 2010.

  1. Ochire macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2008
    #1
    I've been using the direct kana Japanese input and I can't find the ろ key. Does anyone know which key is used to input ろ?

    I have a unibody 13" mbp

    Thanks

    ---

    edit: PMB helped me out.. it's shift + '
     
  2. highscheme macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2009
    #2
    I'm not sure where the keys are located but you can probably access the keyboard layout under the "international" pane in system preferences.

    May I ask why you don't use romaji input method instead?
     
  3. Ochire, Apr 7, 2010
    Last edited: Nov 30, 2010

    Ochire thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2008
    #3
    I've looked at the virtual keyboard and the ろ key isn't on it. This is incredible.. the § and ` keys aren't even being used.

    Do you think it'd be possible to remap one of those keys?
     
  4. A.W.E.S.O.M.-0 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    #4
    It's supposed to be in place of the > symbol!
     
  5. Ochire thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2008
  6. highscheme macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2009
    #6

    Yeah you can remap your keyboard.

    I know you said you don't wish to learn romaji, but seeing as you are an english speaker it would take you no time at all. I am not sure how familiar you are to Japanese computer input, but using romaji is the standard even in Japan.


    Anyway search help for how to remap your keyboard...if its not there check apple support website
     
  7. A.W.E.S.O.M.-0 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    #7
    I'm sorry, then I guess my friend is using a different keyboard after all. Have you tried the shift + control/alt options?
     
  8. puma1552 macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2008
    #8
    Indeed, romaji input is the standard here...nobody, and I mean nobody uses the kana keys.

    The only thing you really change by going to a Japanese keyboard is just a different punctuation layout that takes getting used to and a small space bar. Seems a bit silly to try and undo X years of typing just to use the kana keys when you could just use your natural typing under romaji input and type nearly as fast as you would in English. If you know the sounds, you know the romaji.

    EDIT: I can't answer your question as I refuse to buy a laptop with a Japanese keyboard for the above reason, but just type "ro"
     
  9. highscheme macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2009
    #9
    Exactly. And seeing as how you have to memorize a kana keyboard layout you might as well just memorize romaji.

    Romaji is important to learn in and of itself anyway.
     
  10. Ochire, Apr 7, 2010
    Last edited: Nov 30, 2010

    Ochire thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2008
    #10
    I know, my Japanese friends use the romaji method. I don't understand why.
     
  11. puma1552 macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2008
    #11
    I definitely understand where you're coming from trying not to use romaji as a crutch just like Japanese kids shouldn't rely on katakana English (oh god shoot me), but, when in Rome...

    If you limit romaji use to just typing you'll be better off in the long run and likely more productive than messing with the useless kana keyboard. The apparent omission of such a key hiragana is likely part of the reason nobody uses the kana keyboard.

    Go with the flow bro :)
     
  12. Ochire thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2008
    #12
    I have a british keyboard and I know where the kana keys are. However, I cannot find the ろ key. It's really as simple as that.

    If someone could advise how to get ろ out there using kana, or how to remap one of the spare keys, that would be really helpful.
     
  13. hajime macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2007
    #13
    There is no such key on the keyboard. Just hit the "かな" button on the right of the space key. Then, type ro
     
  14. Ochire thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2008
  15. iketeru macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2007
    #15
    if I'm understanding correctly, you're using a UK keyboard for direct Japanese input, right?

    check out the two images:

    Japanese
    [​IMG]

    UK
    [​IMG]

    it looks like the Japanese keyboard has an additional key for ろ near the right shift button... you might be stuck with romaji as the only option for that, on a non-Japanese mac keyboard.
     
  16. hajime macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2007
    #16
    I apologize for my incorrect information. iketeru is right. Now, I see the ろ
    key next to the shift key located on the right. I have never used this key though.
     
  17. Ochire thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2008
    #17
    Thanks guys. As I expected, the key is literally missing from my keyboard and Apple haven't bothered to remap it.

    Does anyone know any way of mapping ろ to, for instance, the ` key next to shift on the left hand-side?
     
  18. sushi Moderator emeritus

    sushi

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2002
    Location:
    キャンプスワ&#
    #18
    It's on my Japanese keyboards -- by the right shift key.

    Maybe Apple changed the layout.

    My keyboards are older PowerMac and PB models.
     
  19. peepboon macrumors 6502

    peepboon

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2008
    #19
    I think its kinda sad that you refuse to learn romanji...

    I study Japanese and find the romanji very easy. So if you say ろ then it is 'RO', all you have to do is type RO... it isn't really that difficult :rolleyes:

    so if you were to type the word for funny: 面白い (おもしろい), you will type omoshiroi
     
  20. Sulwyn macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2010
    #20
    I think it's kinda sad how people here are trying to convince the OP to learn romaji. Yes it's not that hard but ultimately, that's the OP's decision and you guys need to learn to respect that. The OP has stated his reasons for preferring to use Kana rather than romaji already and that issue should've been left with that. The OP wasn't asking for a opinion about whether to type in romaji or Kana. :/
     
  21. iketeru macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2007
    #21
    agreed. it would be cool to learn how to touch type on a Japanese keyboard if I had one, but for now I'm stuck with romaji. maybe if I ever buy a パソコン in Japan :p

    we should start a Japanese-speaking :apple:-users' club, haha. it's nice to see you guys coming out of the woodwork!
     
  22. Ochire, Apr 7, 2010
    Last edited: Nov 30, 2010

    Ochire thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2008
    #22
    Thanks for understanding you two.

    Also, at no point did I claim that the latin alphabet is my first alphabet

    Anyway, I just need to map ろ to a spare key and then i'll be on my way.

    Any advice? I'm hoping I can just edit the Japanese keyboard layout.. I mean, it should be simple but I just can't figure it out.
     
  23. PacMookBro macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2007
    #23
    What I can say is that Romaji should be learned if you want to learn Japanese thoroughly. Romaji is not just for inputting japanese on keyboard. It is a way of expressing Japanese characters, not necessarily correct pronunciation, using alphabets. That's the way it is in Japan so learn Romaji without hesitation. When in Rome do as Romans do.

    Actually, speed of typing is the same for kana-input and romaji-input as one study showed a decade ago. So there is no obligation to input by romaji.
     
  24. Ochire, Apr 7, 2010
    Last edited: Nov 30, 2010

    Ochire thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2008
    #24
    That's funny. When I want to express something in Japanese, I do so in Japanese.
     
  25. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #25
    Honestly, the only keyboard mapping program I know of for OS X is DoubleCommand, and it really only allows for some relatively limited mapping of command keys. I don't think it would let you do this.

    I might have missed it earlier, but did you actually try pulling up the keyboard viewer (you can get to it from the IME menulet -- the place where you go on the menubar to change the keyboard language)? Pull that up and take a look at the keyboard, perhaps also trying the keyboard with the option / shift keys, and make sure it's not on there. (I'm not in front of a Mac, and you still haven't said, as far as I can see, what keyboard you have, so it's probably easiest for you to test it yourself).
     

Share This Page