Mac Desktop Extension Software Duet Display Rendered Inoperable in macOS 10.13.4 [Updated]

Discussion in 'Mac Blog Discussion' started by MacRumors, Mar 30, 2018.

  1. MacRumors macrumors bot

    MacRumors

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2001
    #1
    [​IMG]


    Users of popular Mac desktop extension app Duet Display are being advised not to update to macOS 10.13.4, due to "critical bugs" that prevent the software from communicating with connected iOS devices used as extra displays.

    When installed on a Mac and an iPad (or iPhone) and the two devices are connected using a Lightning cable or 30-pin connector, Duet allows users to extend their macOS desktop space on the Retina display of the iOS device. However, unspecified changes in the latest update to macOS High Sierra, released by Apple yesterday, causes the Duet client app to hang, and users are being advised to hold back from upgrading, at least for now.

    [​IMG]

    Duet's developers are recommending that users contact Apple through the company's online bug reporting form to get the issue prioritized. In the meantime, the developers are "actively looking" into workarounds to reinstate Duet's functionality in macOS 10.13.4.

    Duet Display is priced at $19.99 in the App Store, and unlocking the Pro features to turn the iPad Pro into a drawing tablet costs an additional $19.99 per year through an in-app subscription. Duet Display is available from the App Store. [Direct Link]

    Update: Users of other desktop extension apps like Air Display and iDisplay are also reporting incompatibility with macOS 10.13.4. DisplayLink-enabled USB graphics devices are also reportedly affected. There's some speculation that Apple's added eGPU support in 10.13.4 is the underlying cause of the issues. We'll keep readers updated if we hear more.

    Article Link: Mac Desktop Extension Software Duet Display Rendered Inoperable in macOS 10.13.4 [Updated]
     
  2. MartinAppleGuy macrumors 68020

    MartinAppleGuy

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2013
    #2
    And it's on sale. Do I buy it and hope to gets fixed?
     
  3. canadianreader macrumors 6502

    canadianreader

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2014
    #3
    Quality control team still moving into the spaceship also some of them crashed into the glass doors anyways it’s a mess.
     
  4. ouimetnick macrumors 68020

    ouimetnick

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2008
    Location:
    Beverly, Massachusetts
    #4
    Is it really a bug or did Apple intentionally change things that happened to break compatibility? Might not be a bug, and just the outcome of system changes to macOS
     
  5. ortiz3m macrumors newbie

    ortiz3m

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2009
    Location:
    Houston TX
    #5
    Man, I wonder if it just broke with the final version of the software or if Duet wasn't beta testing. That sucks just updated and I was using Duet with the Ekahau site survey and designing floor plans.
     
  6. Baletin macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2012
    #6
    !@$#$^%$^!!!!!!!!

    Duet stopped working! @#$%^^&*() you apple
     
  7. DWillis macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2018
    #7
    Not a bug at all; 10.13.4 only supports displays which are directly connected by a GPU or by AirPlay.
     
  8. thadoggfather macrumors G3

    thadoggfather

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    #8
    Removing the clutter

    Like battery estimates.

    I still modify battery.menu to output battery
    Time predictions on 10.12.6 even tho they scrapped it after .1 or .2 or something

    Apple can’t come up w new features so new features has to be taking away features.
     
  9. Baletin macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2012
    #9
    Could you please explain how to roll back to 10.13.3 without using time machine? PLEASE
     
  10. hegedusa macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2018
    #10
    I've known that Duet doesn't work with MacOS 10.13.4 because I'm in the beta software programme from Apple. Duet have known about this problem for a while too, and they've told me they're actively working on a fix, which should be released shortly. They're pretty good at responding to emails and the message I got was that they are releasing a fix, and although Apple broke it with the latest update, I didn't get the impression that they were waiting for Apple to fix it.
     
  11. rahulda1 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2016
    #11
    Hey Ortiz,

    We do extensive beta testing, this is not our issue. It has been an issue in every beta.
     
  12. thadoggfather macrumors G3

    thadoggfather

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    #12
    Maybe Apple broke it because they’ll have their own native duet soon? And they wanna pave the way for getting people off of it now?
     
  13. hegedusa macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2018
    #13
    That's very microsoftian but I suppose it's a possibility.
     
  14. deanlute macrumors newbie

    deanlute

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2018
    Location:
    Johannesburg, South Africa
    #14
    It's breaking my heart! I hope the Duet guys are bright enough to sort it out and that the Apple guys don't put stumbling blocks in their way out of spite!
     
  15. SimeoneSergio macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2012
    Location:
    London UK
    #15
    Fantastic news then... Not sure how many others are in my situation but i bought an iPad to use it as second screen and I already have some problems with Intuos pro drivers...

    I technically understand their choice though, it wouldn’t be bad to think about a solution that gives users possibility to do what the software allows us...

    Let’s see what happens next :|
     
  16. rahulda1 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2016
    #16
    Hey,

    Our update is more of a very extensive workaround. We would still prefer a fix from Apple.
     
  17. Yakibomb macrumors 6502

    Yakibomb

    Joined:
    May 13, 2014
    Location:
    Cape Town
    #17
    Does your workaround have any adverse affect on the end user, such as increasing latency, ect?
     
  18. Bryan Bowler macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2008
    #18
    I’ve been saying this for a year now and it still holds true: if you rely on your Mac for work, you can no longer trust Apple.

    I have lost all faith in Apple’s ability to release software updates that do not break critical functions. There has not been a single major dot release in the last two years that has not broken something critical to my workflow. Not a single one.

    After High Sierra is stable, I will not update my Macs for nearly a year until the next OS has stabilized. It never used to be this way with Apple, but unfortunately, this is what they’ve become.
     
  19. KPOM macrumors G5

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010
    #19
    This was an issue all throughout the beta period. I let the developer know early on.
    --- Post Merged, Mar 30, 2018 ---
    To be fair, Duet Display is essentially a hack. It isn’t as if Apple intended the iPad to be used as an extended display for a Mac. If they did, they’d have built it in themselves.
     
  20. HowieIsaacks, Mar 30, 2018
    Last edited by a moderator: Mar 30, 2018

    HowieIsaacks macrumors regular

    HowieIsaacks

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2013
    Location:
    Addison, TX
    #20
    The maker of Duet obviously wasn't doing testing, or they just didn't move fast enough to fix their software. I used to use Duet, but when Continuity and Handoff debuted, I no longer need it. I can transfer what I'm doing to my iPad when I need more screen space.
     
  21. Bryan Bowler macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2008
    #21
    I’m not sure I understand your logic. Are you suggesting that any software not produced by Apple does not matter?
     
  22. JosephAW macrumors 68000

    JosephAW

    Joined:
    May 14, 2012
    #22
    Another reason to backup before point updates. Or at clone your drive every now and then.
     
  23. Rudy69 macrumors 6502a

    Rudy69

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2009
    #23
    Let's be fair, Duet is buggy on a good day. A couple years ago it completely killed any AirPlay support on one of my macs. I tried everything and nothing would bring it back until I did a reinstall of the OS later
     
  24. expiredyogurt macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2016
    Location:
    not america
    #24
    didnt know about this, i so happened to picked up the new ipad already and would like to use it as a second display. maybe i should look into it but the fact that it is not working with the latest software version makes me hesitant to purchase it....
     
  25. TheMacDaddy1 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    Location:
    Merica!
    #25
    Hmmm....I use one every day for work (network engineer) and I would not have it any other way.

    My only real complaint is when I have to use my USB to serial adapter to console into piece of equipment on site. USB-C to USB-A dongle, Keyspan USB-A to serial dongle, null modem cable to device or serial to ethernet to device. It is quite the frankestein setup in those cases....but it works every time.

    I live in Omnigraffle Pro, Safari, Terminal, Secure CRT, mail, Excel, Word, etc.
     

Share This Page