Mac Pro 2008 - not starting !

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Spacedust, Nov 25, 2009.

  1. Spacedust macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Location:
    Poland
    #1
    I just got myself Mac Pro 2008 2x2.8 GHz, 2 GB RAM, 2600XT.

    The problem is when I connect it to power outlet, only POWER LED is ON, fans are not starting and after 10 seconds POWER LED is going OFF and that's all.

    WTF ? :eek:
     
  2. edesignuk Moderator emeritus

    edesignuk

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Location:
    London, England
    #2
    You just got it...

    Tell whatever twunt sold it to you that you were expecting a working one (presumably you were?).
     
  3. Spacedust thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Location:
    Poland
    #3
    Payment was made via PayPal so I wish I would get my money back.
     
  4. edesignuk Moderator emeritus

    edesignuk

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Location:
    London, England
    #4
    So are you saying you paid full price for what you believed to be a working Mac Pro. You've now taken delivery and it doesn't switch on?

    I wouldn't be trying to fix it, I'd be contacting the seller demanding a refund, escalating if need be.
     
  5. Spacedust thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Location:
    Poland
  6. ildondeigiocchi macrumors 6502a

    ildondeigiocchi

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2007
    Location:
    Montreal
  7. ericluxury macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    #7
    Thi

    This means its dead?
    I was hoping not because I have a similiar problem. Was moving something, and while the computer was on I accidentally unplugged it from the back. Now I am having pretty much the exact same problem. I plug it in and the LED light is always on, but I press the power button and its nothing happens. Was hoping it was not dead or there was some kind of button like a fuse on the motherboard that I would be able to fix it by pressing, but this means it is dead, right?
     
  8. Spacedust thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Location:
    Poland
    #8
    I hope it's not dead too.

    The seller told me to check everything.

    I've tested some components from it in my Mac Pro 2006:

    - Superdrive OK
    - RAM OK
    - Graphics OK

    If CPU's are dead will fans be spinning ?
     
  9. Spacedust thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Location:
    Poland
    #9
    It happens always. No matter the CPU's, RAM, GPU are in.

    When I press DIAG Button it's yellow and it shows STBY.
     
  10. nanofrog macrumors G4

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    #10
    Check all the power cables (remove the optical drive carrier,..., and check those areas), as it's possible one came loose during shipping. Don't look at it and assume it's good, pull it, and reconnect (they can fool you).

    Hopefully it's something that simple.
     
  11. Spacedust thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Location:
    Poland
    #11
    Will check this out :)

    I've tested everything right now. Even rear fan.

    Heatsinks doesn't matter. It's only a temp controller.
     
  12. nanofrog macrumors G4

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    #12
    There's another thread, where this was the cause. So it's proof that it does actually happen to computers, even if they're Mac Pro's. :eek: :p

    I'll keep my fingers crossed, and wish you luck. :)
     
  13. Spacedust thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Location:
    Poland
    #13
    I think this is it !

    Cables are going into power supply and connectors cannot be properly connected to it making Mac not properly powered.

    How to remove whole power supply ?
     
  14. nanofrog macrumors G4

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    #14
    Pull the optical bay unit out, unplug the cables, and remove the screws.

    But you shouldn't need to remove it. :confused: Just make sure all the connectors are firmly seated to make good contact (remove, then reconnect and make sure it snaps properly).
     
  15. Spacedust thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Location:
    Poland
    #15
    Which screws ?

    There are lots of screws under power supply... :/
     
  16. nanofrog macrumors G4

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    #16
    I can't find the copy of the service manual to try and send you.

    Perhaps a pic would help (it's been over a year since I've had access to an '08).
     
  17. Spacedust thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Location:
    Poland
    #17
    I just got service manual for 2008 :)

    and it says:

    Led 2 Standby (Trickle Pwr) Yellow On Yes
    Power supply is providing trickle power

    Any one have the same for Mac Pro 2006 ?
     
  18. nanofrog macrumors G4

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    #18
    I'm under the impression it's the same for those models.
     
  19. Spacedust thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Location:
    Poland
    #19
    I was asking about Mac Pro 2006 service manual :)

    As a owner of both Mac Pro 2006 and 2008 I want to know what's going on ;)
     
  20. chiefroastbeef macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 26, 2008
    Location:
    Dallas, Texas/ Hong Kong
    #20
    Sorry that I can't help, but I'd like to mention that you have a very calm attitude in the midst of this predicament, best of luck to you spacedust! :)
     
  21. nanofrog macrumors G4

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    #21
    I've not found a free one, but there's a few sites you can pay to download it (~$9.00USD).
     
  22. Spacedust thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Location:
    Poland
    #22
    I've removed PSU, checked all connections and still the same !

    Trickle power...

    The only possible way to check if it's PSU i to replace the current PSU with my working one from Mac Pro 2006.

    But I'm scared. I do not want to have two dead Macs.
     
  23. chiefroastbeef macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 26, 2008
    Location:
    Dallas, Texas/ Hong Kong
  24. Spacedust thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Location:
    Poland
    #24
    OK.

    It looks like Mac Pro 2008 is having different power supply than my current Mac Pro 2006.
     
  25. nanofrog macrumors G4

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    #25
    OUCH!

    By chance does the system have any Apple Care remaining?

    I ask, as you're going to need new parts. Either a PSU, logic board, or both. There were some bad PSU's shipped in the '08's BTW, and it's the more likely suspect, though it could also be the board.

    But it might be easier to get a satisfactory result if you can get it covered under warranty than attempting to go through a return process, as there's no certainty if you'll get a refund. I'm presuming that the seller knew it was bad when it was sold, unless the shipper beat the crap out of it (tears, dents, crushed areas, ... to the box you opened up).

    Sorry it wasn't something simple. :(
     

Share This Page