Mac Pro 2010 Problems

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by datboi_gfx, Nov 1, 2018.

  1. datboi_gfx macrumors newbie

    datboi_gfx

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2018
    Location:
    Panama City
    #1
    (Mid 2010) Mac Pro Problems

    Recently my dad’s Mac Pro (mid 2010) started having an issue where it couldn’t turn on at all so we tried fixing this computer as it is a really reliable and strong machine which has never failed him before. *NOTE: We are doing this ourselves as the computer is already vintage and our ASPs (no Apple stores in Panama) won’t fix it*.

    The machine does not make the bong sound as when we press the power button it does absolutely nothing. We tried replacing the PSU and it started working but only for an afternoon until it suddenly shut down while my father was watching YouTube videos to stress it a little bit (no kernel panic, no nothing). After that the problem started again so we gave the Mac to a friend who replaced the logic board battery and we put a new thermal paste but nothing happened. Our friend told us that the LB is not getting any power from the PSU although its new and its perfectly working.

    My dad already ordered a PC from Amazon but we still wan’t to fix this as we don’t want to leave such a good machine in the trash.

    Specs:
    - Mac Pro 5,1
    - Quad Core Xeon
    - 16GB RAM
    - ATI RADEON HD 5770

    ATTEMPTED:
    - THERMAL PASTE CHANGE
    - PSU CHANGE
    - CLEANED
    - LB BATTERY CHANGE

    If anyone knows how to fix this I would really appreciate some help
    BTW: English is not my first language so sorry if I said something wrong.
    This is also my first time posting in this forum.
     
  2. ldfa macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2018
    #2
    Hello

    Try to check the Leds Diag on the logic board after press DIAG LED button.
     
  3. datboi_gfx thread starter macrumors newbie

    datboi_gfx

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2018
    Location:
    Panama City
    #4
    got it ill try it out
    --- Post Merged, Nov 2, 2018 ---
    I would try the AHT as I still have it from when the computer was bought but the thing is that the computer doesn't power put at all aside from the PSU red light when I plug in the cord. Thanks for the suggestion though and I will 100% try it if I get it to boot further!
     
  4. startergo macrumors 6502a

    startergo

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2018
    #5
    Did you consider the Genius bar? It is worth a try... My suspicion is you got PS fried again..
     
  5. datboi_gfx thread starter macrumors newbie

    datboi_gfx

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2018
    Location:
    Panama City
    #6
    I had a theory that the new PSU got fried for the same reason as the old one but I wasn't sure well now I atleast know that I'm not the only one who thinks thats possible.

    About the Genius Bar I might go to ask them what they think although the Mac is vintage. They might help as here in Panama we don't have Apple stores but we do have ASPs like "Mac Power" and "Mac Store".

    I might have to go to Mac Power later on after I try what ldfa suggested.
     
  6. startergo macrumors 6502a

    startergo

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2018
    #7
    If you have to buy again the PS I suggest buying it on eBay. I got used one for 100$ plus square trade 1 year warranty for 18$.
     
  7. datboi_gfx thread starter macrumors newbie

    datboi_gfx

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2018
    Location:
    Panama City
    #8
    I will take it my my ASP (no Apple stores in Panama) to see if they can atl
    Great thank you!
     

Share This Page

7 November 1, 2018