MacBook Pro 16GB RAM 1600Mhz

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by ThomasLentati, Jun 24, 2012.

  1. ThomasLentati macrumors member

    ThomasLentati

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2012
    Location:
    United Kingdom/France
    #1
    Hi, I have a 2,4GHz i5 and I have bought 16GB RAM @1600Mhz.
    I was wonderring if the 1600MHz RAM would work because I've seen people with it working just fine. Now I'm asking this because if I just spend 150 bucks for nothing I'll be pissed!

    Thanks,

    Thomas
     
  2. SandboxGeneral Moderator

    SandboxGeneral

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Location:
    Orbiting a G-type Main Sequence Star
    #2
    It should work, and work at the bus speed of your logic board. But next time, you should check into these things before you buy.
     
  3. ThomasLentati thread starter macrumors member

    ThomasLentati

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2012
    Location:
    United Kingdom/France
    #3
    Thanks for replying. I forgot to mension my MBP is a 13" and not a 15".
     
  4. ThomasLentati thread starter macrumors member

    ThomasLentati

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2012
    Location:
    United Kingdom/France
    #4
    I have a 13". Does it matter if it's a 13" and not a 15"?
     
  5. boomhower macrumors 68000

    boomhower

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2011
    #5
    Nope. Same chipset.
     
  6. ThomasLentati thread starter macrumors member

    ThomasLentati

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2012
    Location:
    United Kingdom/France
    #6
    thanks!! :d
     
  7. ThomasLentati thread starter macrumors member

    ThomasLentati

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2012
    Location:
    United Kingdom/France
    #7
    God Apple support Communities are piss•ng me off, because they are all telling me it won't work. But on MR and another tech forum they say it will! :)
     
  8. Exana, Jun 24, 2012
    Last edited: Jun 24, 2012

    Exana macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2011
    #8
    It's not a chipset question since the memory controller is cpu build-in. Sandy Bridge Core i5 CPU (MacBook Pro 13" 2011) did not handle DDR3-1600. It will run at 1333. Only Sandy Bridge Core i7 Quand handle DDR3-1600 at full speed. All Ivy bridge can run DDR3-1600.
     
  9. ThomasLentati thread starter macrumors member

    ThomasLentati

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2012
    Location:
    United Kingdom/France
    #9
    Are you serious? So there is no chance my MBP can have 1600MHz RAM? Some people say with the late 2011 i5's the RAM @1600Mhz will clock down to 1333MHz. I hope it will work, I don't care if it clocks down, I just want it to work. Because otherwise I've wasted $150.
     
  10. Exana macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2011
  11. irock101 macrumors 6502

    irock101

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2011
    #11
    Using GEIL ram at 1600mhz without a problem.

    [​IMG][/IMG]

    Sorry just noticed your having an i5 and i am having an i7. Not sure that makes the difference.
     
  12. Exana macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2011
    #12
    You are showing Intel Core i7 2,0 GHz Quad Core witch can handle DDR3-1600. :rolleyes:
     
  13. ThomasLentati thread starter macrumors member

    ThomasLentati

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2012
    Location:
    United Kingdom/France
    #13
  14. G-Mo macrumors 6502

    G-Mo

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2010
    Location:
    Auckland, NZ
    #14
    You should be pissed even if it does work. $150 for 16GB is at least $51 too much!

    I've go 1600MHz at work, I'll test it tomorrow in my 13" i5.
     
  15. ThomasLentati thread starter macrumors member

    ThomasLentati

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2012
    Location:
    United Kingdom/France
    #15
    Yeah I will be pissed, but is there a possibility that it works, even if the ram Clocks Down I don't car just want it to work. :eek:

    ----------

    Thank you so much!
     
  16. Exana macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2011
    #16
    It will work (at 1333) with lower CAS (perhaps 9 or at best 8). So not completly useless but overpriced for such a small improvement.
     
  17. ThomasLentati thread starter macrumors member

    ThomasLentati

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2012
    Location:
    United Kingdom/France
    #17
    True. Thanks for replying! :)
     
  18. boomhower macrumors 68000

    boomhower

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2011
    #18
    I misread the post. I read 2.5Ghz which is an Ivy Bridge CPU hence my post. My bad.
     
  19. whdigital macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2011
    #19
    Any problems with the other way around? I've got a 2012 15" cMBP and 16GB of Crucial RAM that I had just purchased for a 2011 and had not put in yet. It's rated at 1333 and not 1600. Any problems known or appreciable performance hit??
     
  20. ThomasLentati thread starter macrumors member

    ThomasLentati

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2012
    Location:
    United Kingdom/France
    #20
    Should work, put you MBP 15" is a 2012 so it has the Ivy bridge, and that runs @1600. It will work but you will get a bit less better performance on 3D stuff.
     
  21. Exana macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2011
    #21
    If you have buy DDR3-1333 from Crucial (witch was the most common last year), it will run at 1333 MHz even with MacBook Pro 2012.
     
  22. whdigital macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2011
    #22
    Yeah, that's a given. Just wasn't sure if it caused issues.

    Now, if I could only figure out the difference between Corsair Vengence and OWC RAM each with different CAS Latency and voltage... :confused:
     
  23. ThomasLentati thread starter macrumors member

    ThomasLentati

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2012
    Location:
    United Kingdom/France
    #23
    Good point, i'm not sure but if I remember the new 2012 mbp use 1.35 V and the Vengeance by Corsair is 1.5 (like on the old MBP) and the timmings are 9-9-9-24. Those are the mac timmings.
     
  24. Exana macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2011
    #24
    Apple use DDR3-1600 CL11 regular 1.5v. I wait for 16GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3-1600 CL10. Unfortunately, Corsair did not offer 16GB DDR3-1600 CL9 (only for 8GB).
    I will post geekbench before and after.
    [​IMG]
     
  25. Exana macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2011
    #25

Share This Page