Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

01kevinpiana

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Oct 25, 2017
Hello, I have a Macbook Pro Mid 2014 A1502 with a left click issue. I am a computer technician so I am familiar with most repairs and have attempted most things already that other people have on similar forums.

So the track pad lets me move the pointer around and I can right click on things, but if I try to left click it wont work. When I try plugging in a external mouse(I tried wireless and Wired) it does the same thing, everything works except left clicking. I do not have any Bluetooth mouses activate and I also have Bluetooth turned off.

I Have tried using using mouse keys(which is enabled by clicking the option key 5 times), using this I was able to use my keyboard to click on things in order to access system prefrences. I went to trackpad settings and tried turning on tap to click. This did not fix the problem, however I noticed that very rarely sometimes this does work when I tap, but this only randomly started working twice for a few seconds within the past 4 hours or trouble shooting.

I have opened up the Macbook pro and adjusted the trackpad screw as well, that didnt fix it either. I also tried checking the setting to deactivate the trackpad when my wired mouse is plugged in, it did deactivate the trackpad, but it still wont left click.

Any idea what else I could try or what the problem is?

hallux

macrumors 68040
Apr 25, 2012
If the problem is apparent with an external mouse then chances are that the issue is not the hardware, it's likely somewhere in the software. Can you boot to Recovery or Internet Recovery and try it there?

deadfoot

macrumors newbie
Jun 11, 2018
If the problem is apparent with an external mouse then chances are that the issue is not the hardware, it's likely somewhere in the software. Can you boot to Recovery or Internet Recovery and try it there?