MacBook Pro (with Touch Bar) freezes desktop

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by talwarsirav, Dec 27, 2016.

  1. talwarsirav macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2016
    #1
    Every 10 to 15 minutes, the desktop of my new MBP freezes. I cannot click anything, nor can I open any new app. The only solution is to force shut down the MacBook and restart it to make it work again. Any solutions or similar experiences?
     
  2. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #2
    That's not normal, try a clean install of the OS and failing that, call Apple as something is defective.​
     
  3. Dante256 macrumors newbie

    Dante256

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2016
    #3

    I'm having exactly the same problem. It is infuriating
     
  4. talwarsirav thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2016
    #4
    I emailed Mr. Tim Cook regarding this as well, I am yet to receive a reply after 3 days.
    --- Post Merged, Dec 29, 2016 ---
    #4
    I emailed Mr. Tim Cook regarding this as well, I am yet to receive a reply after 3 days.
     
  5. mrex macrumors 68020

    mrex

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2014
    Location:
    europe
    #5
    How about installing the os rather than waiting an email? And if that doesnt work, send the laptop back or replace it.
     
  6. idark77 macrumors 6502

    idark77

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2014
    #6
    Clean install macOS, after that if the issue appears again I suggest to exchange immediately.
     
  7. BrianBaughn macrumors 601

    BrianBaughn

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011
    Location:
    Baltimore, Maryland
    #7
    Are these issues in User Accounts that were migrated from an older model Mac?

    In any case, try a new, test User Account to see if the issue exists. It won't take more than 10 or 15 minutes to find out if what you're saying is accurate.
     
  8. kwandrews macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2012
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    #8
    Agree....clean install is always the way to use a new device IMO. I had this too until the clean install.
     
  9. Dante256 macrumors newbie

    Dante256

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2016
    #9
    Two new is installs and still problematic. Freezing touch pad, and crashing Mac.

    Replaced the unit yesterday at the Apple shop. and froze again today
     
  10. philosopherdog macrumors 6502a

    philosopherdog

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    #10
    It's most likely a software issue. Are you trying this with a totally clean install? I would take it back if so. It shouldn't be doing this.
     
  11. diskotekblackbox macrumors newbie

    diskotekblackbox

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2016
    #11
    My 13" Touch MacBook Pro does the same, clean install, it begins with some of the icons being blank, and then I can't start new programs, but the ones that are open still functions

    only way is to hold down the power button and reboot it
     
  12. talwarsirav thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2016
    #12
    Whats the use of spending $2,000+ on a machine that needs to be rebooted frequently?
    --- Post Merged, Jan 3, 2017 ---
    I did, to no avail.
    --- Post Merged, Jan 3, 2017 ---
    At least you were able to exchange it. Apple has a discriminatory policy of offering no exchange or returns in India.
    --- Post Merged, Jan 3, 2017 ---
    Apple doesn't allow exchange in India, so much for diversity!!!
    --- Post Merged, Jan 3, 2017 ---
    I did some troubleshooting as per Mr. Federighi, who was kind enough to reply to my email. That did not solve the issue.
    Soon after, I was assigned a technical expert and then a relations expert.

    Like all relations expert, he sugarcoated "a no return policy" to me and asked me to adjust to this garbage they call MacBook Pro.
     
  13. Playmbl macrumors newbie

    Playmbl

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2017
    #13
    Unfortunately, it's common. Not hardware related, software issues. Here you have more info about users reporting this behavior and some solutions, till Apple fix the bug in coming macOS updates:

    http://forums.macrumors.com/threads...uch-bar-freezing-ui-randomly-you-too.2025208/

    https://discussions.apple.com/message/31138961?start=20&tstart=0

    Introducing this commands in Terminal, to clean Finder's cache and doing maintenance tasks with Onyx afterwards, solved it permanently for me:

    rm -fR ~/Library/Saved\ Application\ State/com.apple.finder.savedState ~/Library/Caches/com.apple.finder; killall Finder

    mv ~/Library/Preferences/com.apple.finder{,.backup}.plist; killall Finder

    Other people just type the command "killall dock" to kill the dock when the problem appears. But they report the bug reproduces some time later. So, it's surprising to have to say this in such a expensive machine but... good luck with it! :)
     
  14. arthurvi macrumors newbie

    arthurvi

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2017
    #14
    Having the same issue, about once a day. First the Downloads stack in the dock freezes, later the entire UI freezes (often after opening Mission control). The weird thing is that it is only the UI, the processes in the background continue to run.

    Tried these commands, I hope it all goes well now!
     
  15. talwarsirav thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2016
    #15
    Thanks I have done that. Lets hope the problem doesn't repeat again.
     
  16. nathanindc macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2017
    #16
    have a loaded tb macbook pro purchased new from georgetown apple store in jan 2017. freezes up. usually when i am up against a deadline. no solution other than hard re boot even after 40 min call to apple support so expensive and so disappointing. going to return it in 6 hours
     
  17. bartvk macrumors 6502

    bartvk

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2016
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #17
    I don't see why you make such a fuss about it. Just bring in the machine for repair. Done.

    You've paid good money to get service for such things.
     
  18. agaskew macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    #18
    If you can be bothered, look through the Console (Applications > Utilities) and you may see some entries in there that can help pinpoint of this is hardware, software or maybe driver-related. (This was how I proved to Apple that my 2012 rMBP had consistent Intel GPU failures, and I got it swapped). If Apple truly offers no exchange or returns in India, well that really sucks :(
     

Share This Page