macOS High Sierra (10.13) Unsupported Macs Thread

Discussion in 'macOS High Sierra (10.13)' started by foxlet, Jun 5, 2017.

Thread Status:
The first post in this thread is a WikiPost, and can be edited by anyone with the appropriate permissions.
  1. datanutz macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2015
    #2551
    --- Post Merged, Dec 3, 2017 ---
    Thanks very much Dosdude, I have a MBP 5,1 and high sierra works great. I only have 2 small issues. I had to use labtick because my keyboard dimmer didn't work and my screen brightness is maxed and I can't change it. Every time I use the hot keys, the screen brightness status bar responds to commands, but the back light remains constant. I tried in preferences, but no mater where you adjust it, the bar moves to the right. Do I need to apply the patch a few more times? Other than that, it installed without a hitch. Great work!
     
  2. dosdude1 macrumors 6502a

    dosdude1

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2012
    #2552
    Try applying the backlight control patch in the post-install tool. It is not installed by default on that model, as most don't need it, but it should get brightness control working on yours.
     
  3. datanutz macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2015
    #2553
    --- Post Merged, Dec 3, 2017 ---
    Thanks for the quick reply, but after patching it twice, it didn't change anything. I can live with it, this machine is going to my in-laws. I don't think they would even try to adjust the brightness anyway.
     
  4. sejm macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2014
    #2554
    I don't know at all if this is your issue, but I've found on my MBP 5,2 (which doesn't need the backlight patch) that accidentally installing the patch caused the symptoms you describe. Constant max brightness, keyboard brightness keys that trigger the screen brightness overlay graphic, but don't actually adjust the brightness. I had to reinstall the three kexts that the patch swapped out, update the kernel cache, and remove the patch listing from the list of installed patches.

    The patch installer saved a backup of the 3 original "files" (actually, packages; 2 kexts, and one framework) in a Bklt_Backup folder in your home directory. The kext's go back in /System/Library/Extensions/; the framework goes in /System/Library/PrivateFrameworks/. You can update the kextcache with "sudo touch /System/Library/Extensions && sudo kextcache -u /" (without quotes, of course.) And then, I edited "/Library/Application Support/High Sierra Patcher/installedPatches.plist" to remove the five lines associated with the Backlight Patch, from <key> to </dict>. Finally, a reboot finishes the job.
     
  5. dosdude1 macrumors 6502a

    dosdude1

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2012
    #2555
    Also, I have a script here that will restore original files for you.
     
  6. rkrumwiede macrumors newbie

    rkrumwiede

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2012
    #2556
    Has anyone tried the new Nvidia web driver or is everyone sticking to the OEM Apple driver for GTX 680 andvequivalent cards? @dosdude1 recommendations?

    Thank you
     
  7. dosdude1 macrumors 6502a

    dosdude1

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2012
    #2557
    nVidia web driver works great. A friend of mine who's running HS on his Mac Pro 3,1 has a GTX 1050Ti installed (no boot screen, of course. He keeps a flashed 8800GT around in case he needs to re-run the post-install patch), and has no issues.
     
  8. Blackriton macrumors newbie

    Blackriton

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2016
    Location:
    Paris
    #2558
    I am using a MacPro 3,1 under HS with a GTX 680 Card. I didn't install the Nvidia web drivers and stood on the OEM apple ones. No issues till now. Everything is working well.
     
  9. mumux macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 4, 2015
    #2559
    Thank you gages,
    I tried with version 2.5 instead of the latest 2.5.1 and it worked fine. It seems that 2.5.1 has an issue with MacPro 3,1 because it didn't recognise it as supported machine.

    BTW I have a Radeon R9 280x and I had to patch the AMD drivers to make it work even if the patcher warned me about not having detected a 7xxx card!
     
  10. hvdb, Dec 4, 2017
    Last edited: Dec 5, 2017

    hvdb macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2017
    #2560
    Using @dosdude1's Patcher Tool:
    Main Page/Instructions: macOS High Sierra Patcher Tool for Unsupported Macs
    Download: [Direct Download][/QUOTE]
    --- Post Merged, Dec 4, 2017 ---
    Hi, I've tried this method but I failed. My 2009 Macbook Pro can't see my created usb as a bootable disk, it's not shown when I boot with option key. It does work when I try it on a newer MBP with High Sierra already installed. So I think the created usb should be good. Do I have to change something in my settings? Filevault is disabled.

    Thanks.
     
  11. sumer macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2015
    Location:
    Toronto
    #2561
    Hi,
    Do you need to re-patch after you apply the security update?
    Thanks
     
  12. Guy Clark macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2013
    Location:
    London United Kingdom.
    #2562
    The current configuration on my iMac 24" 8,1 is 4GB RAM, 3.06GHz Core 2 Duo CPU and a 1TB Seagate Hybrid SSHD

    As for the Wifi Card I was fortunate enough to have a spare Late 2009 iMac card available so I swapped it for the existing one. The stock Wifi Card on the iMac 8,1 does not work with High Sierra (at least in my case). Ethernet will work fine.

    See full details of any known issues here
    http://dosdude1.com/highsierra/

    I thoroughly recommend making a Time Machine Backup prior to attempting the hack.

    That being said following the tutorial below for me the installation went smoothly.

    dosdude1 Install macOS High Sierra on an Unsupported Mac
     
  13. Guy Clark macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2013
    Location:
    London United Kingdom.
    #2563
    Applied the security update to my iMac 8,1 24" Early 2008 without any issues.
    --- Post Merged, Dec 4, 2017 ---
    A list of supported machines using the patch is listed below including issues which may arise
    http://dosdude1.com/highsierra/
     
  14. W1SS macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2013
    #2564
    Confirmed! Happened with me today while reinstalling HS on my 3,1 using v2.5.1 ... Reverted back to using v2.5 and all is well.

    @dosdude1 appreciate if you could squash this bug.
     
  15. dosdude1 macrumors 6502a

    dosdude1

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2012
    #2565
    What exactly is happening? The only change I made in that version was fixing compatibility with OS X 10.6 and 10.7.
     
  16. hvdb macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2017
    #2566
    --- Post Merged, Dec 4, 2017 ---
    Hi, I've tried this method but I failed. My 2009 Macbook Pro can't see my created usb as a bootable disk, it's not shown when I boot with option key. It does work when I try it on a newer MBP with High Sierra already installed. So I think the created usb should be good. Do I have to change something in my settings? Filevault is disabled.

    Thanks.[/QUOTE]

    It seemed to be the usb drive that caused the problem. Tried another one and that did the job. No issues so far after installation, and also got the security update without a problem. Many thanks!!!
     
  17. W1SS macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2013
    #2567
    Never mind. I tried testing again with a USB created with v2.5 and it failed too.. Turned out to be the CMOS battery was on its last stretch as the date was reset to Jan 1 2001 so I installed a new battery, set the current date/time via terminal and voila.. We are back in action.

    Apologies for the false report.
     
  18. nigelbb macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2012
    #2568
    If you have Mac Pro 4,1 systems surely the better route is to upgrade to 5,1 firmware? After that your hardware is officially supported so you can do a regular OS upgrade from the App Store.
    --- Post Merged, Dec 5, 2017 ---
    I have never been able to boot my 3,1 from USB. Previously I have used a Firewire disk instead.
     
  19. W1SS, Dec 6, 2017
    Last edited: Dec 6, 2017

    W1SS macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2013
    #2569
    Has anyone successfully restored from a time machine backup made under the patched HS installation on the same system?

    I have spent the last couple of hours trying to restore from within the recovery partition and I keep getting a message on the tune of 'Time machine backup made on different computer' with 3 options to choose from - Startup, Install macOS, Choose another source...

    The patched HS usb disk does not have restoration options included under the utilities so I am stuck now as migration assistance causes/changes some critical folders' ownership to 'Fetching' and can't be accessed.

    I am starting to dread upgrading to High Sierra.. Help!
     
  20. dosdude1 macrumors 6502a

    dosdude1

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2012
    #2570
    Just install a clean copy of High Sierra using a patched installer drive, then, during the setup when it asks you to "Transfer information from another Mac", use that to select your Time Machine backup.
     
  21. W1SS macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2013
    #2571
    I wish it was that easy.. 10.13.2 beta 6 was installed in the backup and the usb installer uses 10.13.1 for source so a warning is displayed that there could potentially be issues and surely there were. The restoration fails at some point in the process and I am back at the original restoration window :( I tried running the restoration again with the same results.
     
  22. dosdude1 macrumors 6502a

    dosdude1

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2012
    #2572
    In that case, you'll need to install the latest beta update, and then restore. This is one reason why I advise against running beta versions of Mac OS.
     
  23. W1SS, Dec 6, 2017
    Last edited: Dec 6, 2017

    W1SS macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2013
    #2573
    My thoughts exactly... lesson learned. Although the option to update is given in the restoration process, it fails because it's a clean install with no beta updates activated. I am now retrying migration assistant on 10.13.2 beta 6 but with a different user id/name.

    I wonder why the restoration option in the recovery partition, which was created during the installation of macOS, fails with the 'backup was created on a different computer' message when it was clearly made on the same computer.

    This isn't the only issue I have with HS. My windows bootcamp install is no longer bootable even though it is on a dedicated drive attached to a velocity duo x2 pcie card - was working fine under Sierra.

    Anyway, if all fails then I'll rollback to Sierra and carry out a manual restoration which will be a PITA.


    Update: I was able to fix the 'fetching' permissions issue. Just needed to vacate UniqueID 501, which was used by the backed up account, and then ran migration assistant. All data has been restored, phewww.

    Funny thing is I just noticed 10.13.2 combo update is now available in App Store.. arghhhh!! Hate killing time like this.. One thing's for sure, no more beta crap for me.
     
  24. dosdude1 macrumors 6502a

    dosdude1

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2012
    #2574
    Just run "sudo softwareupdate --clear-catalog" in Terminal, that will make the beta updates stop appearing.
     
  25. d4gli macrumors member

    d4gli

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2016
    #2575
    Final 10.13.2 killed working my Safari, Mail & Appstore (seems to be related to all Apple Webkit Apps).
    Running PRam/NVRAM Reset (Shutdown, turn on and press immediately ALT + CMD + P + R) fixed it. CSR has been reactivated; make sure to reboot recovery/usb to disable it again.
     
Thread Status:
The first post in this thread is a WikiPost, and can be edited by anyone with the appropriate permissions.

Share This Page