Maybe this will help our Transatlantic Cousins

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by Superman80, Apr 20, 2011.

1. Superman80, Apr 20, 2011
    Last edited: Apr 20, 2011

Superman80 macrumors regular

Hi All,

Newbie here, but have been a long time reader, ive noticed that in the USA you have to pay stupid money to have your Iphone unlocked, well here in the UK some operators offer it free, Im on Orange UK and was told by them that it will cost £20 to have it unlocked by them, i then heard that vodafone UK offer the service free, so i thought i would try my luck using this web form

http://campaigns.vodafone.co.uk/UnlockCodeRequestForm/

and low and behold i just had this back from them!

Dear Customer,

Reference Number: *******
    Mobile Number: ************
    IMEI Number: ***************

The iPhone has now been unlocked – Please replace the SIM (use a SIM which has
    never been used with this iPhone) and connect to iTunes or perform a software
    restore via iTunes.

Yours Sincerely
    Aruna Verma
    NUC Resolutions

Im not saying this will def work but could be worth a try, ive never had any dealings with vodafone and they still unlocked my Iphone 4

Hope it helps someone

EDIT i put my normal mobile number in (orange contract) and the phone choice i picked vodafone phones (towards the bottom of the list)

2. steviem macrumors 68020

steviem

3. Superman80 thread starter macrumors regular

No, not got another sim to try it with yet im waiting for it to be delivered

4. LMD75 macrumors 6502

Thanks for sharing. What did you enter as your mobile number on their form? Did you give them your Orange mobile number or do you have another Vodafone contract or Vodafone PAYG sim?

I am now living overseas but my brother in the UK has just taken out a contract with Vodafone for a Nokia N8. Maybe I can use his mobile number and name but my IMEI - just an idea :)

5. Superman80 thread starter macrumors regular