Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

yww

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Aug 11, 2022
Hi! I am new to mac. o_O

Background:

I am currently a undergraduate in Computer Science major, having an old laptop with Ubuntu and Windows dual system installed. I mainly use Linux Ubuntu (for fun and coding XD) and rarely use Windows (dual system in my laptop) for game or Office365. Actually, I think editor like libreoffice in Ubuntu is too hard to use compared to Office, so sometimes I am just too lazy to switch to Windows and edit online instead. Many other common software (chatting, music) is also harder to use in Ubuntu. So I decide to give macOS a try.

Requirements: 16 GB vs 32 GB

1. In most cases, 16 GB in Ubuntu is enough for me. I can run machine learning on the school's server (no requirement for RAM), but I haven't experienced large software programming so I have no idea if 16 GB is enough.
  2. Expected to use it for 4~5 years. Since it's said that 8GB is enough a couple of years ago, but currently not, I am not sure if 16 GB will fade out in the future like that.
  3. Heard that small RAM swaps a lot and may be harmful to SSD. And upgrading 512GB -> 1024GB is much cheaper than 16GB -> 32GB. (So this is another choice)

Could you guys give me some advice. Many thanks! :rolleyes:

Last edited:

wilberforce

macrumors 68030
Aug 15, 2020
SF Bay Area
If I were an undergraduate with presumably limited finances, I would be inclined to spend less rather than more, and save it for a sooner upgrade in the future. Who knows what your needs will be in several years.
But there will be many in this forum happy to spend your money for you, as they have no skin in the game, or tell you to spend as much as you can afford, as if that is an easily definable amount.