New 13" MBP 2.4GHz and Bootcamp

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by fuzzielitlpanda, Apr 14, 2010.

  1. fuzzielitlpanda macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2008
    #1
    UPDATE 2: I thought the problem was my Intel X25-V not being compatible, so I went out and got an Intel X25-M 80GB G2 that has been confirmed working by others in this thread. Set up everything as normal and the same exact problem occurred; bootcamp partition successfully configured in OSX, but once you get into the Windows 7 installer, no drives are detected. At this point, I think there is a problem with 3rd party SSDs and the new 13" MBP. If anyone can confirm this for me, that would really help.

    UPDATE 1: Swapped the stock HDD back in and bootcamp install seems to work fine. Partitions were immediately recognized by my windows 7 ultimate 64-bit. Could Apple have blocked support for 3rd party SSDs somehow with these 2010 MBPs?

    All those who have a 2010 MBP and a 3rd party SSD, please try setting up bootcamp and let us know if it works.

    Has anyone successfully setup bootcamp on any of the new macbook pros? When I use boot camp assistant, I am able to set up the partitions. However, once I enter the windows 7 install, it doesn't detect any partitions at all (not even my mac partition).

    I've tried both 32 and 64 bit versions of Windows 7 (home, prof, and ultimate). The SSD is an Intel X25-V 40GB

    Confirmed working:

    17" MBP with OCZ Vertex 256 GB SSD
    17" MBP with Corsair 256GB SSD
    15" MBP with Intel X-25M G2 160GB
     
  2. ssn637 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2009
    Location:
    Switzerland
    #2
    MacBook Pro 13" 2010 NVidia 320M

    Congratulations on your new MacBook Pro 13"!
    Ordered mine today...ETA 4 May in Switzerland! None of the store have any in stock...
     
  3. gadgetfreaky macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    #3
    weird. i am getting a ssd today to plop in. let us know if you figure this out.
     
  4. air- macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2007
    #4
    Did the x25 work normally within Snow Leopard? Or did you yet have time to test that?
     
  5. dusk007 macrumors 68040

    dusk007

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    #5
    I'd like to know what battery life looks like when you run windows in boot camp.
    and running it in a Virtual Machine and the effect on battery life would also be interesting.
     
  6. gadgetfreaky macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    #6
    This guy asks a good question....anyone have any luck doing boot camp partitions with mbp and a SSD? lots of folks are saying this might be blocked
     
  7. laela macrumors regular

    laela

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    #7
    Who else is saying this is blocked?
     
  8. gadgetfreaky macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    #8
    On the corsair forums one of the tech reps was saying there might be problems with bootcamp partition on a SSD. I'm trying to find that out as I will simply not open mine.
     
  9. fuzzielitlpanda thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2008
    #9
    Yes, it did work normally. The problem only occurs once you get into the windows install.
     
  10. roxygal9 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010
    Location:
    Orlando
    #10
    Good info, but a few questions...

    Anyone have a stock SSD on new MBP will it be faster?

    Also I am torn between the 2.4 or 2.66, anyone have some benchmarks on the 2.66 model with ssd? :confused:

    Oh and is osx on new mbp 32 or 64 bit? Will it run 64 bit win7 in parallels? sorry im very new to macs...
     
  11. gadgetfreaky macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    #11
    Have you gotten it to work? Intel SSDs are gonna be pretty common on Macbook Pros. If they are all of a sudden not working--that's gonne be a problem. Can you still return the Intel SSD?
     
  12. lily69 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2010
    #12
    I will get my MBP and 160G intel SSD today, will let you guys know tonight if I can bootcamp it...
     
  13. breathesrain macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    #13
    Thanks for being the guinea pig!
     
  14. fuzzielitlpanda thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2008
    #14
    No I didn't get it to work. Tried to repartition the drive several times, tried different versions of windows 7, no luck detecting the Intel SSD during the windows install. Once I popped the stock HDD back in, boot camp worked just fine and the HDD was recognized immediately =X.
     
  15. gadgetfreaky macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    #15
    amazing apple can't answer this. if they are blocking 3rd party drives now -- that is really extreme. Tons of people use those intel SSDs. Did you try intel support?
     
  16. laela macrumors regular

    laela

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    #16
    Are you able to install just Windows 7, without Mac OS X on it? Or Windows 7 never recognizes the existence of the drive? Have you tried booting Knoppix and seeing if it recognizes the drive?
     
  17. fuzzielitlpanda thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2008
    #17
    No I haven't. I just didn't want to waste my time on it any more and wanted to see if it was just me or if other people experience the same problem.

    Yes, I've used this X25-V on other machines and Windows 7 installs just fine. No, I've never heard nor used Knoppix
     
  18. Danielclark macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2009
    #18
    Gaming and Battery

    Have you tried to run any games on it yet?
    How is the battery performing?
     
  19. gadgetfreaky macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    #19
    he can't get it to work...I'm not sure what you are asking.
     
  20. Danielclark macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2009
    #20
    Ohh thought he said he got it to work in the update in the first post. My bad.
     
  21. kayloh20 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    #21
    Typing this post on the new MacBook Pro 17" in Boot Camp with Windows 7 Pro.

    I just followed the same steps like my old MacBook Pro.

    OCZ Vertex 256 GB SSD.
     
  22. gadgetfreaky macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    #22
    that's a samsung. bodes well. fingers crossed.

    Hopefully the corsair 256 will also work.
     
  23. fuzzielitlpanda thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2008
    #23
    I got it working using the stock HDD, but not the Intel SSD
     
  24. kayloh20 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    #24
    Oh no, I swapped out the default hard drive (500 GB 5400rpm) for my OCZ one.
     
  25. jajohns8 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2008
    #25
    I am interested in hearing about SSD bootcamp issues (or successes) in the new Macbook Pros also.
     

Share This Page