New Mac Pro - Coming August

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by -SD-, Jul 27, 2010.

  1. -SD- macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2009
    Location:
    Peterborough, UK
    #1
    http://www.apple.com/macpro/

    The Store isn't back up yet, but the new 12 core beasty has been revealed... Radeon HD 5770s / 5870s, Huzzah.

    :apple:
     
  2. Umbongo macrumors 601

    Umbongo

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    Location:
    England
    #2
    Pretty much as expected and what I've been saying for a while. Processor wise they will just update to the ones that have replaced what they were using.

    So:
    2.8x4
    3.2x4
    3.33x6

    2.4x8
    2.66x12
    2.93x12

    Still only 4/8 memory slots, but at least they will support 1333MHz now.
     
  3. keewe macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
  4. Chuck Fadanoid macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2008
    Location:
    Munich, Germany
    #5
    Pricing:

    Do I not like that. :eek:
     
  5. Cindori macrumors 68040

    Cindori

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Location:
    Sweden
    #6
    wow, apple slipping details of upcoming update? and stopping sale of current model? that is very un-apple-like!



    anyway, 6core cpu, 5870, no case design,no usb 3.0

    just me or kinda lame?
     
  6. Umbongo macrumors 601

    Umbongo

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    Location:
    England
    #7
    Built in airport extreme and the option for an expensive SSD from Apple too! Surely it's like Christmas? :rolleyes:
     
  7. Inconsequential macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2007
    #8
    Wow, amazing I was right.

    New CPUs, New GPUs and a SSD option.

    Hey maybe next time people will listen to me? :rolleyes:

    Prices are pretty much the same, so unless people are looking to get the 6 cores then nothings changed :cool:
     
  8. Hrududu macrumors 68020

    Hrududu

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    Location:
    Central US
    #9
    What about the current case needs to be changed? Aside from being a little big, what is it you're wanting changed?
     
  9. Major Reeves macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2009
    Location:
    EUSSR
    #10
    Only the 5870 seems lame specially when the 6000 series are coming out in the next 2 months.
     
  10. Vylen macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    #11
    I sorta expected them to make the Apple logo black...

    Although, I'm glad they didnt.
     
  11. apolloa macrumors G3

    apolloa

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    Location:
    Time, because it rules EVERYTHING!
    #12
    PHEW, THANK GOD FOR THAT!!! I was SERIOUSLY thinking they hadn't updated it!! Still, same crappy old case I see :D
    Hmm, 12 X 2.93, and the 5870 ATI card :D. Are you all happy now??
     
  12. Grimace macrumors 68040

    Grimace

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2003
    Location:
    with Hamburglar.
    #13
    Comes with a daunting price too...
     

    Attached Files:

  13. DualShock macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2008
    #14
    That 5870 better be 2008 Mac Pro compatible.

    Specs show PCI Express 2.0, so it *should* work. Unless Apple requires EFI128 or something ridiculous like that.

    5770 could be a good option too.
     
  14. ArcaneDevice macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2003
    Location:
    outside the crazy house, NC
    #15
    All the excitement of a spec bump.

    Maybe next year they'll actually make an effort.

    Or not.
     
  15. Foggy macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2006
    Location:
    London, UK
    #16
    I dread to think what the is going to be in the UK
     
  16. Major Reeves macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2009
    Location:
    EUSSR
    #17
    Given how awesomely ati cards perform in open cl, no, I'm not happy.
    Without mentioning there's no cuda support.
     
  17. sporadic macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    Location:
    Southampton, UK.
    #18
    So the 5870 will be available as an upgrade card for the rest of us at the same time?
     
  18. -SD- thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2009
    Location:
    Peterborough, UK
    #19
    The new 27" ACD is up too, but once again it looks like the triple-connector cable is going to be pathetically short.

    I reckon they'll release this in August along with the updated Pros.

    :apple:
     
  19. ryanbutterworth macrumors newbie

    ryanbutterworth

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    #20
    I've been lurking over the past three months waiting to order! I'm looking at the 6-core vs the 8-core. Am I understanding this correctly? A single 6-core processor vs two 4-core processors? Would I notice that much of a difference? I'd be doing a lot of Cinema 4D / CS5. I'm on a 2008 8-core with 10GB ram currently at work so that's what I'm used to. Is it worth it to upgrade to the 8-core?

    Thanks!
     
  20. keewe macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    #21
    and still only 4 RAM slots for each CPU. pathetic -.-
     
  21. Foggy macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2006
    Location:
    London, UK
    #22
    What stops me buying a single processor machine is the restriction to 4 ram slots. Makes it very expensive to fit a load of ram in there.
     
  22. G4DP macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    #23
    £1999 for the base. 2799 for the 8 core. Going by Apple's price ratio of 125% we'll be looking at £6,000 plus for a 12 core machine.
     
  23. smacman macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2006
    #24
    Not that I am shopping for a new MP, but I can't help but to feel a bit underwhelmed. Same high price, slightly faster chips. Also no display option for the non-glossy types (I'm assuming this will relegate the 30" ACD obsolete).

    Maybe now that SSDs are becoming a standard option across the board, TRIM will support will be forthcoming..
     
  24. DualShock macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2008
    #25
    Hopefully. And hopefully they will work for the older machines.

    Anyone know if the PC 5870 requires a 6 pin and an 8 pin power cables? That could be a problem for us older Mac Pro users if that's the case (not counting hacked together power cables).
     

Share This Page