New MacBook Pro 15" - >1 TB?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Galfridus, Mar 2, 2016.

  1. Galfridus macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2006
    #1
    My 2010 MacBook Pro is starting to show its age, and I'm thinking about a new one. Unfortunately, it seems like it's hard to get >1 TB disk capacity. I replaced the DVD drive with a 2TB drive in my existing laptop, so I am spoiled with 3 TB right now. Is there any way to approach that on the new MacBooks?
     
  2. Clix Pix macrumors demi-goddess

    Clix Pix

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2005
    Location:
    8 miles from the Apple Store at Tysons (VA)
    #2
    Shortly after I bought my 512 GB rMBP I purchased an external SSD, Samsung's T1 in the 1 TB capacity, and it works very nicely to stash everything that I don't need on a daily basis but still need to access from time to time: photos, documents, non-iTunes movies, etc., etc. I plug in the external SSD when I need something and it is very fast and responsive. When I'm done, I simply unplug and put away the device, although of course it is possible to keep it plugged in all the time as well, and some people do just that. Now Samsung has just newly released a 2 TB SSD, the T3, and at some point I'll probably be purchasing one of those as well to use either as an additional supplementary drive or as a backup drive. I also use other (non-SSD) external drives specifically for backup, too, of course.
     
  3. Samuelsan2001 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2013
    #3
    No way at all.

    You may want to wait for the new ones to come out they might offer bigger capacities but I wouldn't bet on it.
     
  4. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #4
    You're stuck with what apple provides for storage, and I think 1TB is it. The other option is to go the external drive route.
     
  5. Freyqq macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2004
    #5
    You can also go the NAS route and put a few TB of storage on your network. With 802.11ac, the speed would be decent.
     

Share This Page