Next gen MacBook Pro wishlist:

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by RianFlynn, Dec 9, 2017.

1. RianFlynn macrumors regular

RianFlynn

Hey friends, I’m a graphic artist and mainly use a pc for my high intensity work, but I absolutely love osx and wish Apple would make a laptop powerful enough for me to dump the windows machine.

Wish list:
    6-core cpu
    32gb memory
    gpu with at least 4 teraflops performance
    Oled display.

A boy can dream can’t he? :)

2. twelvebore macrumors newbie

I'd settle for:

- a keyboard that doesn't suck
    - return of a MagSafe-style power connector

To be honest I think you're more likely to get your wishes than I am mine :(

3. MBX macrumors 68000

Why is everybody bitching about the keyboard. I think it's great except for the loud noise.

4. groove-agent macrumors 6502a

groove-agent

... don't forget the relatively high failure rate. That was a deal breaker for me.

5. Royksöpp macrumors 6502a

Royksöpp

6. Sterkenburg macrumors 6502

Because there is increasing evidence that the failure rate is alarming to say the least (how high we'll never know, but enough that Apple techs often admit the issue when directly questioned), and the out-of-warranty repair price is staggering. A deal breaker, indeed, on an otherwise really good machine.

As for the wishlist:

6 cores --> Quite likely on the next top-end 15"
    32 GB RAM --> When LPDDR4 support comes, i.e. late 2018 or early 2019 with Cannon Lake
    GPU --> I wouldn't bet on anything close to 4 Tflops, since it is basically twice of what the 560 is capable of (iirc), but AMD Vega cards should give a substantial boost (whether they'll be in the next refresh is another question)
    Screen --> Display usually stays the same for a few years following a redesign, I might be wrong but I don't think Apple is going to upgrade it soon.

7. maflynn Moderator

maflynn

Staff Member