OS X keeps crashing on me!(?)

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by sk3pt1c, May 8, 2007.

  1. sk3pt1c macrumors 6502a

    sk3pt1c

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2005
    Location:
    a simulacrum
    #1
    right, i've put my powerbook to sleep having both dreamweaver and fireworks cs3 open, as well as my usual apps like safari itunes and mail.
    when i opened up the lid to wake it and continue my work i got a message saying that i need to restart my computer.
    no key combo worked to get around it and when i did it said that my computer was restarted after OS X quit unexpectedly.
    after it happened the first time i verified and repaired permissions and then ran the hardware test using the OS X dvd and everything was fine.
    my question is:
    WHAT THE FU@K???
     
  2. Chaszmyr macrumors 601

    Chaszmyr

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2002
    #2
    The two most likely problems are a bad RAM module or a glitch in the PRAM. So, first, flash the PRAM. (I can't tell you how to do this cuz you didn't say what type of PowerBook you have, but you should be able to find it in Apple's support index). If the problems persist, remove any third-party RAM modules you have installed.
     
  3. sk3pt1c thread starter macrumors 6502a

    sk3pt1c

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2005
    Location:
    a simulacrum
    #3
    it's the last revision of the Powerbook, the last before the switch to intel.
    the help viewer said to restart and hold command-option-p-r
    am doing it now...
    i haven't installed any extra or third party ram, it is as it was when i bought it, 2x1gb

    ok, done. looks like it works now
    thanks a lot

    right, it just did it again
    i flashed it again but haven't put it to sleep since
    i'm scared
    this time i didn't have DW or FW open
    just the usual simple stuff
    i don't get it
    i haven't tampered with the ram at all, it is as it was when i got it
    flashed the PRAM, ran hardware test, verified and repaired everything
    and still it crashes!

    any ideas?
    i'm actually scared here! :( :confused:
     
  4. Chaszmyr macrumors 601

    Chaszmyr

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2002
    #4
    When you close your lid, are you verifying that it is properly going to sleep? (you can look in the crack between the top and the bottom and make sure theres no light coming from the screen). Check it, but I doubt that's the problem, given the message you're getting.

    Apple's RAM is generally reliable, but I do believe it is possible that one of your RAM modules has gone bad since being installed. I don't suppose you still have AppleCare?
     
  5. superted666 Guest

    superted666

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2005
    #5
    If you can replicate it and have applecare i would take it in to a apple store.
     
  6. sk3pt1c thread starter macrumors 6502a

    sk3pt1c

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2005
    Location:
    a simulacrum
    #6
    well, the thing is i'm in greece and applecare does not apply here, so i didn't buy it when i got the powerbook last year in the uk where i was doing my masters.

    i don't really understand what it could be, since the hardware test went fine.

    any ideas?

    should i try resetting the PMU as well?
     
  7. Spectrum macrumors 6502a

    Spectrum

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    UK
    #7
    I'm no expert here - but if you suspect the RAM, the best thing is to try both removing and reseating it, and/or running with just one stick installed - it's very unlikely that both have gone bad for example. (Try both slots too, if that is possible.)
     
  8. sk3pt1c thread starter macrumors 6502a

    sk3pt1c

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2005
    Location:
    a simulacrum
    #8
    i'll do that and reset the PMU as well just to be on the safe side.
    (i don't know that it's a RAM issue 100%)
    do i just remove the sticks and put them back in?
    maybe swap them around?
     
  9. sk3pt1c thread starter macrumors 6502a

    sk3pt1c

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2005
    Location:
    a simulacrum
    #9
    right, i've swapped the RAM sticks around (OMG it was SO easy!),
    flashed the PRAM
    and i think i've reset the PMU as well.
    i'm putting it to sleep now with nothing but :apple: applications running
    let's see what happens...

    by the way, can you fit a new 2gb ram stick in g4 powerbooks?
    if this persists and does turn out to be a RAM issue, i might as well
    go get two 2gb sticks and swap my old 2x1gb ones out, get a bit of upgrade going as well.
     
  10. Cameront9 macrumors 6502a

    Cameront9

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    #10
    Nope, 2GB is the max for these Powerbooks.
     
  11. SMM macrumors 65816

    SMM

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2006
    Location:
    Tiger Mountain - WA State
    #11
    Computing 101 - Never trust putting ANY computer to sleep. Yes, I know you are suppose to be able to and some do successfully. But, I have never found this to be reliable; Macs, PCs, Sun, they will all let you down at a critical time. I realize this post does not provide you a solution - sorry about that. :rolleyes:
     
  12. Spectrum macrumors 6502a

    Spectrum

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    UK
    #12
    Well, see what happens (simply reseating them may have been enough) - but if you still get the crash after swapping around, then I suggest running with only one installed (try out each slot too), then try with the other RAM stick. This will test both the individual RAM modules and the slots. Just see at which point your system becomes unstable.
    (Hopefully just reseating the sticks will have solved your problem.)
     
  13. sk3pt1c thread starter macrumors 6502a

    sk3pt1c

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2005
    Location:
    a simulacrum
    #13
    it looks ok now, but i put it to sleep with no apps running other than the finder and dashboard of course.

    is it possible that an app caused this?

    itunes and mail are standard, but i've installed some extentions into safari, any chance they might have f*ed things up?

    i will try it just with safari open and see what happens...

    i understand that sleep may not always work fine, but it's worked like a charm for me for the past year and a half...
     
  14. sk3pt1c thread starter macrumors 6502a

    sk3pt1c

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2005
    Location:
    a simulacrum
    #14
    i still don't get why this happened
    the hardware test went fine and that's supposed to check the rams as well,right?
    in the end, if all it takes is just reseating the sticks and/or flashing the pram,
    that kind of adds to the hassle free problem solution that we know apple for.

    time will tell though, i hope that'll be the last of it
     
  15. kiang macrumors regular

    kiang

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2007
    #15
    I'm putting my windows-PC to sleep all the time, in factI rarely shut it down :D
    And I NEVER, and I repeat NEVER, had any problems with that, even though it's windows:p
     
  16. sk3pt1c thread starter macrumors 6502a

    sk3pt1c

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2005
    Location:
    a simulacrum
    #16
    i think sleep on a mac and hibernate on a pc work differently :rolleyes:
     
  17. IJ Reilly macrumors P6

    IJ Reilly

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2002
    Location:
    Palookaville
    #17
    Even RAM that's been working for years can suddenly go bad. It just happens. The Hardware Test is worth running but it doesn't catch everything, or even very much really.
     
  18. a456 macrumors 6502a

    a456

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2005
    #18
    Do you have a USB modem? This is the thing that most often makes mine crash as you describe. Pulling out the modem at the wrong time or closing the lid when it is online sometimes.
     
  19. sk3pt1c thread starter macrumors 6502a

    sk3pt1c

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2005
    Location:
    a simulacrum
    #19
    nah, i connect via airport
    it just happened again though
    i tried it with different apps open (incrementally) and now that
    i had my usual ones open it crashed like the last time...

    is it possible for an app to cause this?
    if so, i'm leaning towards Adium...
    ****...

    any ideas?

    should i just do that hack thingy that makes it go to safe sleep everytime
    just to make sure everything's fine?
     
  20. sk3pt1c thread starter macrumors 6502a

    sk3pt1c

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2005
    Location:
    a simulacrum
    #20
    have made it go into safe(or deep) sleep whenever i close the lid and it seems to have worked thus far...
    you think i shouldn't have?
     
  21. sk3pt1c thread starter macrumors 6502a

    sk3pt1c

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2005
    Location:
    a simulacrum
    #21
    and yet again, after a temporary fix, the problem re-surfaces... :mad: :(
    i've taken one ram stick out, to see if one of them is causing the problem or it's another issue all together, in which case i'll have to take to our local apple store and pay hopefully not a whole heap of money to have it repaired...

    anyone here more tech savvy got any suggestions?
     
  22. IJ Reilly macrumors P6

    IJ Reilly

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2002
    Location:
    Palookaville
    #22
    Did you remove the RAM? That was one of the first tech savvy suggestions you've received.
     
  23. sk3pt1c thread starter macrumors 6502a

    sk3pt1c

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2005
    Location:
    a simulacrum
    #23
    i've now removed one of the two RAM sticks and am gonna wait a few days and see if the problem creeps up again...
    then i'm gonna put the other one in and see what happens...
    and then switch positions in case the slot has problems..
    is that the best i can do?
     
  24. IJ Reilly macrumors P6

    IJ Reilly

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2002
    Location:
    Palookaville
    #24
    Yup, pretty much. You can also run RAM testing software, such as memtest.
     
  25. sk3pt1c thread starter macrumors 6502a

    sk3pt1c

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2005
    Location:
    a simulacrum
    #25
    right, just finished running memtest with both sticks in.
    i did it in single user mode, restarted and held :apple: - S
    did three passes and came up with no problems
    i'm gonna run rember now from within the OS to see what happens...
    if these two report no problems, i'm guessing it's not the RAM or what?
    can it just be a fluke and not happen ever again?
    or something else that causes these kernel panics?
     

Share This Page