Passcode must be changed in 60 mins counting?

Discussion in 'iOS 10' started by Cutiekitty92, Jul 16, 2016.

  1. Cutiekitty92 macrumors 68000

    Cutiekitty92

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2015
    Location:
    UK
    #1
    Has anyone else got this? I've never had to change my passcode before... this is strange and making me do it in the time limit.
     
  2. ZEEN0j macrumors 65816

    ZEEN0j

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2014
    #2
    I've heard of this before and actually got it myself for the first time a couple of days ago. Didn't wait for the timer to end but I changed my passcode and then changed it back again.
     
  3. Cutiekitty92 thread starter macrumors 68000

    Cutiekitty92

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2015
    Location:
    UK
    #3
    Luckily after dismissing it a few times it soon just went away and I didn't have to change it
     
  4. willmtaylor macrumors G3

    willmtaylor

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Location:
    A Natural State
    #4
    These types of requests are generally from enterprise profiles being installed on a device.
     
  5. Cutiekitty92 thread starter macrumors 68000

    Cutiekitty92

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2015
    Location:
    UK
    #5
    What does that mean? the only profile I have is the iOS 10 beta
     
  6. willmtaylor macrumors G3

    willmtaylor

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Location:
    A Natural State
    #6
    Generally the passcode change request is a result of someone using a phone given to them by work or having a profile installed for work software. This profile enables one's employer to request password changes.
     
  7. Cutiekitty92 thread starter macrumors 68000

    Cutiekitty92

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2015
    Location:
    UK
    #7
    Oh right I see, no this is not the case for me at all its a personal phone I purchased myself from Apple
     
  8. QuarterSwede macrumors G3

    QuarterSwede

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2005
    Location:
    Colorado Springs, CO
    #8
    I had the same thing a few days ago. I also don't have any enterprise profiles installed and I'm on iOS 10 beta 2.
     
  9. ZEEN0j macrumors 65816

    ZEEN0j

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2014
    #9
    No profiles on my phone either. Except for the beta profile that is.
     
  10. alexmarchuk macrumors 6502a

    alexmarchuk

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2007
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #11
    I'm interested in what happens if you let the clock run out. Lol
     
  11. alexmarchuk macrumors 6502a

    alexmarchuk

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2007
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #12
    Just had this happen to me, my passcode is 20 characters long, upper case, lowercase, symbols and numbers. It has me revert to a 6 digit passcode? What a dumb bug.

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
  12. lagwagon Suspended

    lagwagon

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2014
    Location:
    Calgary, Alberta, Canada
    #13
    The issue isn't specific to iOS 10. This pop up happened for many in iOS 9 as well. (Perhaps even earlier, but I've only ever seen people mention it since iOS 9)
     
  13. alexmarchuk macrumors 6502a

    alexmarchuk

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2007
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #14
    What's strange is why it would ask me to change my password from a VERY secure one to a 6 digit numerical one, that's a step backward. Seems like a bug to me.
     
  14. Mcmeowmers macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2015
    #15
    I had it on iOS 8 or 9. I also had a bug where my Touch ID entries were deleted
     
  15. ZEEN0j macrumors 65816

    ZEEN0j

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2014
    #16
    It wanted me to go from a 6 digit to 4. :S
     
  16. Nimoy macrumors regular

    Nimoy

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010
    #17
    I got this message a few months ago. Apple Support blamed it on an Exchange account that I previously had on my phone. Just be careful when you set a new passcode. I mistyped my new passcode and then was unable to unlock my phone, so I had to wipe it.
    Screen Shot 2016-07-23 at 9.54.04 AM.png
     
  17. alexmarchuk macrumors 6502a

    alexmarchuk

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2007
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #18
    It's a bug. A real bad one at that.
     
  18. C DM macrumors Sandy Bridge

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    #19
    You mistyped it twice in a row?
     

Share This Page