Rich notification support for iOS 10

Discussion in 'iOS 10' started by visberry, Sep 10, 2016.

  1. visberry macrumors regular

    visberry

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2016
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #1
    Hi Everyone,
    I was wondering if the iPhone models without 3D touch (iPhone 5c) will be getting the rich notification support on the Home & Lock Screen, especially interested in the 32-bit devices.
    Thanks,
    Vis
     
  2. Dj64Mk7 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2013
    #2
    You should be able to have Rich Notifications. I do on my iPhone SE without 3D Touch.
     
  3. visberry thread starter macrumors regular

    visberry

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2016
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #3
    OH NO! Just did some research and in typical Apple fashion.
    ''
    • Rich notifications are available on iPhone 5s or later, iPad Pro, iPad Air or later, and iPad mini 2 or later.''
    This is like the main feature of iOS 10 and they take it away from us. :(:(:(
     
  4. lagwagon Suspended

    lagwagon

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2014
    Location:
    Calgary, Alberta, Canada
    #4
    Hard to call something as "taking it away from us" when it wasn't offered in the first place. Also it's very common for bottom of the barrel supported devices to not get some of the features in the latest iOS's. A6 devices don't get any of the machine learning/photo scanning/memories either.

    Same thing happened last year for the 4s iPhones and not receiving every feature.
     
  5. QuarterSwede macrumors G3

    QuarterSwede

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2005
    Location:
    Colorado Springs, CO
    #5
    They've stopped putting time into 32 bit devices for the most part. Doesn't really surprise me.
     
  6. visberry thread starter macrumors regular

    visberry

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2016
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #6
    True that, but really? take away the main feature, at least A6 have got widgets
    --- Post Merged, Sep 10, 2016 ---
    Yes that is true, most of their devices are now 62-bit
     
  7. lagwagon Suspended

    lagwagon

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2014
    Location:
    Calgary, Alberta, Canada
    #7
    Could be worse. Canada and numerous countries still don't have the News app. Which has been a major talked about marquee feature during both WWDC's for both iOS 9 and iOS 10. That not even device/hardware specific.
     
  8. Dj64Mk7 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2013
    #8
    62-bit? I didn't know that was a thing.
     
  9. dcp10 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010
    #9
    Yeah, but that's probably a licensing issue.
     
  10. Abazigal macrumors G3

    Abazigal

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2011
    Location:
    Singapore
    #10
    Yeah. It's ironic that I have the news app widget on my 5s running the public beta, but no news app available anywhere.
     
  11. visberry thread starter macrumors regular

    visberry

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2016
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #11
    --- Post Merged, Sep 25, 2016 ---
    Thanks for that, decided to pick up a iPhone 5s Gold 64GB, want speed and new iOS 10 features, and sick of 8GB on my iPhone 5c.
     

Share This Page