Screen brightness broken (Sierra 10.12.4 beta 3)

aliasad106

macrumors newbie
Jan 25, 2019
1
0
i did some tests
Ok, work fine on 10.14.1 (mac os x mojave) with this kexts:
This does not fix on my MacBook Pro 2014 with Mojave 10.14.2. instead it also removes the slider altogether and does not even change the night mode however original does change that. Also I have tried installing Yosemite and slider works perfectly on that but after updating it back to Mojave it doesn't work.
 

Eithanius

macrumors 65816
Nov 19, 2005
1,430
292
Screen brightness have been repeatedly broken over the courses of betas since Mavericks days... Can't believe Apple still breaks it 6 years on...
 

MatthewNetterville

macrumors newbie
Jun 11, 2019
2
0
I'm having the brightness issue on my 2014 MacBook Pro 13in. I want to do the chip replacement but I'm not sure where that chip is located on the 13in model.
 
Last edited:

asma123

macrumors newbie
Apr 4, 2011
19
0
alright guys I'm going to clear this up to help more people in the future.
I took the chip "464F8440" from E1 version screen https://ibb.co/BZxMXrG
and transferred it to the screen I was having brightness problems. This was on a mid 2014 13" LCD which worked perfectly on 10.11 and when upgraded it brightness control would no longer work.
This is the location of the chip on the 13" LCD
https://ibb.co/XbYS7KJ
 

Molt

macrumors newbie
Sep 2, 2019
2
1
i did some tests
Ok, work fine on 10.14.1 (mac os x mojave) with this kexts:

crazy, I registered just to say thank you!!!! I already had given up on that issue 3-4 years ago and now they keys are working again o_O !!! :)

I'm on 10.14.6 with a MacBook Pro Retina 13" late 2013 and copied directly in recovery mode after disabling csrutil
 
  • Like
Reactions: burangulov

black_tony

macrumors newbie
Sep 10, 2019
1
0
Hi. I have a similar problem.
I try to install screen from Retina 13 A1502 2015 to A1502 2014, all works ok, exept brightness adjustment. But it starts to work after closing the lid, and opening after some seconds.
I tried to change kexts, but there is no effect. Maybe somebody knows the solution?
@dosdude1
 

FarmerBob

macrumors regular
Aug 15, 2004
154
41
From what I am reading, Catalina is stripping everything that we have ever used to function on away. This is suppose to be like os9 to os10. And since it no longer supports 32bit Applications, killed off iTunes and God knows what else . . . Tons of videos on Youtube of what's new, different and missing . . .
 

bazilinskyy

macrumors newbie
Nov 14, 2019
3
0
I have the same issue on Catalina with macbook pro touch bar. Replacing the kext files with the ones in the patch mentioned here does not help. Now neither my keyboard nor screen lightning work. And the options of automatic adjustment are gone from the settings. It started by my keyboard and touch bar becoming unresponsive after almost every wakeup from sleep. Then that issue seems to have gone away after me trying all sorts of things like resetting smc and nvram. Perhaps somebody has experienced the same problems somebody and has a solution?
 

bazilinskyy

macrumors newbie
Nov 14, 2019
3
0
Thanks for the reply. I ran the script and automatic adjustment of brightness and keyboard backlight still do not work. It shows in the system report that the feature is not allowed. I am starting to think that it could be a hardware failure of the sensor. Or you perhaps have some more tips that I could try before giving my laptop away to Apple?

1577233151828.png
 

burangulov

macrumors newbie
Nov 13, 2018
7
1
Thanks for the reply. I ran the script and automatic adjustment of brightness and keyboard backlight still do not work. It shows in the system report that the feature is not allowed. I am starting to think that it could be a hardware failure of the sensor. Or you perhaps have some more tips that I could try before giving my laptop away to Apple?

View attachment 884609
Place files from attached archive to root user folder, extract and then run script
- - Post merged: - -

Thanks for the reply. I ran the script and automatic adjustment of brightness and keyboard backlight still do not work. It shows in the system report that the feature is not allowed. I am starting to think that it could be a hardware failure of the sensor. Or you perhaps have some more tips that I could try before giving my laptop away to Apple?

View attachment 884609
this patch repair broken brightness on MBP 2013 after replace LCD from MBP2014 or some other model
 

Attachments

Last edited:

bazilinskyy

macrumors newbie
Nov 14, 2019
3
0
Place files from attached archive to root user folder, extract and then run script
- - Post merged: - -


this patch repair broken brightness on MBP 2013 after replace LCD from MBP2014 or some other model
Thank you! That's what I did previously and it did not help. I guess I am experiencing another issue.
 

burangulov

macrumors newbie
Nov 13, 2018
7
1
it doesn't work for me,
but can the chip be found online?
ok for retina monitor 2014?
System part should be in write mode (sudo mount -uw /)
- - Post merged: - -

alright guys I'm going to clear this up to help more people in the future.
I took the chip "464F8440" from E1 version screen https://ibb.co/BZxMXrG
and transferred it to the screen I was having brightness problems. This was on a mid 2014 13" LCD which worked perfectly on 10.11 and when upgraded it brightness control would no longer work.
This is the location of the chip on the 13" LCD
https://ibb.co/XbYS7KJ
Thanks a lot for the tip, I did as well. The fee was given free of charge from a damaged display in one of the local service centers. I decided to sell the device and therefore wanted to fix the problem in hardware place. I had a version of EV chip also took with version E1. Thermal skoch in one layer perfectly protects the loop. I removed the iron protection partially with nippers. The chips are identical but have different firmware. Perhaps you can solder the wires for the programmer if you do not have a donor.
The matrix does not need to be peeled off, it is enough to disassemble the bottom of the display.
And yes, sorry for the Google translator)
3F2A45C1-FB36-4FB5-96B0-0313ED84170E.jpeg
789AF426-5442-4DBC-9A6F-5968A96BDEFD.jpeg
 
Last edited:

burangulov

macrumors newbie
Nov 13, 2018
7
1
Yes, you need a soldering station with a hairdryer. All my work took about 30 minutes, along with disassembly. Still need a thermal protective film for the loop and solder flux. You only need to move this one chip. The chip from the display fits exactly .. e1.
- - Post merged: - -

I have the donor from the old monitor.
but do I have to unsolder it?
look
My boards were very similar in appearance and in the name differed in only one letter. You do everything at your own peril and risk ..
 
  • Like
Reactions: richiekotzen

richiekotzen

macrumors newbie
Jun 15, 2018
5
0
with hot air is it possible to spoil the flexible cables?
or do they hold up pretty well?
so the chip is that?
 

burangulov

macrumors newbie
Nov 13, 2018
7
1
with hot air is it possible to spoil the flexible cables?
or do they hold up pretty well?
so the chip is that?
I glued a thermal tape (just in case, I’m almost sure that I could do without it), in my photo it is and covered the matrix itself with a sheet of paper. The temperature is 320 celsius approximately.
the chip "464F8440" from E1 version screen