Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Buy now or wait for the new releases of iMacs

• Buy Now

Votes: 6 23.1%
  • Wait!

Votes: 20 76.9%

• Total voters

kringlelikechris

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Apr 20, 2017
Hey guys.
Should I wait for the release of the new iMacs or just buy now?
I am currently using a Mid 2011 iMac [2.7 GHz Core i5, 12 GB Ram, 1TB HDD]
I BADLY need an upgrade! I'm a designer, videographer, and photographer. So the programs I mainly use are Final Cut Pro X, Lightroom, Illustrator, and Photoshop. EVERYTHING is running so slow and is messing up my workflow. Also, when I do buy, should I get the Fusion or the Flash?

mcnallym

macrumors 65816
Oct 28, 2008
If you need NOW, Buy NOW. Buy FLASH Drive. Could be looking at possibly October or maybe even later until new iMacs are out.

If get a new iMac now then isn't going to suddenly be inadequate when the newer one's eventually launch and in the meanwhile had a good few months of being able to actually do your stuff.

Reactions: kringlelikechris

Sirmausalot

macrumors 65816
Sep 1, 2007
A couple of possibilities

1. Purchase an external SSD for boot and programs. Add a bit more RAM too. That should get your through until October -- which is now the new rumored release date.
2. Purchase a refurb for around $2000 https://www.apple.com/shop/browse/home/specialdeals/mac

You could always sell the refurb unit when the new iMacs are out if there is something you really want. You'd probably take around a $500 hit. Does your computer now have a dGPU?

bodonnell202

macrumors 68020
Jan 5, 2016
Calgary, Alberta, Canada