Snow Leopard 10A432 - Application Compatibility Thread

Discussion in 'macOS' started by sammy2066, Aug 18, 2009.

  1. sammy2066 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2007
    #1
    Let's have a list of applications that currently don't work under Snow Leopard 10A432.

    CandyBar 3.1.2 - Unstable, becomes unresponsive after some time. Cannot scroll through installed icons.

    Glims - Installs, but doesn't show up in Safari preferences.

    Inquisitor - Installs, but doesn't show up in Safari preferences.

    DNS-323 NAS Samba access is also broken in Snow Leopard. I can confirm this.

    Let's keep this thread updated for the convenience of other people.
     
  2. uberjason macrumors member

    uberjason

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2007
    Location:
    Woodbury, MN
  3. adr1974 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2007
    #3
    Mail.app w/exchange account (can't move emails between folders)
     
  4. sammy2066 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2007
    #4
    Safari integration for Speed Download is broken.

    Growl notifications for Adium don't work.
     
  5. karn18 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2008
  6. 42gb macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2004
    Location:
    Germantown, MD
  7. Cougarcat macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2003
    #7
    Safari plugins will apparently work if you run Safari in 32-bit mode.
     
  8. Stachelsk macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2008
    #8
    Just a request... has anyone tried VMware Fusion...?

    Mangus recently released a version of CoolBook for SL.
     
  9. adr1974 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2007
    #9
    No problems here with VMWare.

    FYI, tonight's nightly Cyberduck build works okay (though I didn't test it very throughly, it DID load).
     
  10. MarkCooz macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2009
    Location:
    California
    #10
    Apps that works for me...
    iMovie 09
    iPhoto 09
    Garageband 09
    (haven't tried the rest of iLife 09 apps...)
    Final Cut Express 4
    Livetype 2
    Hulu Desktop
    Photoshop CS3
    VLC Media Player
    Adium
     
  11. ayeying macrumors 601

    ayeying

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Location:
    Yay Area, CA
    #11
    VMWare Fusion works. The 2.0.5 works, but only with the 32-bit kernel.

    There is a beta in the works that has 64-bit kernel support, along with Aero ;)

    iStat Menus still don't work.
     
  12. NathanCH macrumors 65816

    NathanCH

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2007
    Location:
    Stockholm, Sweden
    #12
    Basically any FTP program or application with FTP built in such as Coda and Espresso will run for a few minutes before crashing.
     
  13. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
  14. otis123 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 4, 2006
  15. sdragon macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
  16. ayeying macrumors 601

    ayeying

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Location:
    Yay Area, CA
    #16
    Flip4Mac works.
     
  17. LoganT macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2007
    #17
    Is anybody having a problem where when you click on a third party preference pane it says "To use the *insert 3rd Party Preferences* preferences pane, System Preferences must quit and reopen." I do that, and it continually keeps telling me that. The only one that does not do it is Perian.
     
  18. ayeying macrumors 601

    ayeying

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Location:
    Yay Area, CA
    #18
    The 3rd party is running in 32-bit not 64-bit as the System Preferences is built on. Therefore, you need to exit and restart a 32-bit version to make it work.
     
  19. LoganT macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2007
    #19
    And how do I do that?
     
  20. THX1139 macrumors 68000

    THX1139

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    #20
    This thread is going to get messy fast. I hope someone is keeping a running total of the apps so that it can all be compiled into a list and updated. I also think it would have been great if people could have posted their machines and whether they are running in 64bit or not. I mean, doesn't that have to be manually enabled on bootup? I suppose there are a lot of people who don't know that (even though they should if they are truly developers and not pirates).
     
  21. weckart macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2004
    #21
    EyeTV works. At least in 32 bit mode.
     
  22. chowmein macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    #22
    Transmission doesn't work for me. It launches perfectly fine but then locks up when I try to download anything.

    EDIT: Discovered that it only breaks in 64-bit kernel mode. Seems like it has a lot of compatibility issues.
     
  23. benlangdon macrumors 65832

    benlangdon

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2008
    #23
    does perian work?

    looks like even when sl comes out i might be holding off a little.
     
  24. LoganT macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2007
    #24
    Yes it does.
     
  25. WilliamG macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2008
    Location:
    Seattle

Share This Page