Carrier T-Mobile users - How is band 12 LTE?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by cchs2014, Sep 25, 2015.

  1. cchs2014 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2014
    #1
    I'm dying to know!
    Has anyone gotten band 12 on their 6s' yet? If so, how does it perform?!
     
  2. CEmajr macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    #2
    Got it but no Band 12 in my state unfortunately.
     
  3. Billymac19, Sep 25, 2015
    Last edited: Sep 25, 2015

    Billymac19 macrumors regular

    Billymac19

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2011
    Location:
    Phila, PA
    #3
    in philly, in my house...looks the same signal bar wise..hmmmm


    i swapped sim card from 6 plus into new 6s plus dont know or think that could have any effect or not
     
  4. KUguardgrl13 macrumors 68020

    KUguardgrl13

    Joined:
    May 16, 2013
    Location:
    Kansas, USA
    #4
    Following! My boyfriend's iPhone 5 is paid off, and he's considering the 6s if it gets better signal than his 5 which can sometimes drop to HSPA or Edge. Anyone know if Kansas City has Band 12?

    Of course it sort of depends on what his monthly payments would be. He got the 5 for $10 a month by trading in an AT&T unlocked 4S and putting some money down.
     
  5. tworth23 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010
    #5
    Hello everyone. Here is a link to T-Mobiles website showing where they have 700 MHz coverage. Aka (Band 12)

    https://spectrum-gateway.appspot.com/t-mobile-700-mhz-spectrum.html
     
  6. JPIndustrie macrumors 6502a

    JPIndustrie

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2008
    Location:
    Queens, NY
    #6
    FYI if someone can, please run field test to see which band you are on (hopefully you are within coverage):

    For LTE - (Make sure you're on LTE)

    1) Dial *3001#12345#* and hit “Call”
    2) Click serving cell info....download and upload bandwidth will tell you if you are on 5x5 or 10x10.
    3) Freq Band Indicator will tel you the band (17 if youre on lte). You may need to wait a while for it to appear (try have someone sending you an imessage during this, so it triggers the data)
     
  7. KUguardgrl13 macrumors 68020

    KUguardgrl13

    Joined:
    May 16, 2013
    Location:
    Kansas, USA
    #7
  8. tworth23 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010
    #8
    Yes red area = band 12
     
  9. ijoelpod macrumors member

    ijoelpod

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2014
    #9
    I was told at the apple store that there is a new special sim card for the iPhone 6s through T-mobile that takes advantage of new band capabilities, is this true? I just popped my sim from my 6plus into the 6S and everything seems to be working fine.
     
  10. The19th macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2014
    Location:
    NorCal
    #10
    Used my old SIM card, then checked using the field code test above and I'm on Band 12
     
  11. fulton macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2010
    #11
    Anyone in the suburbs of Los Angeles show any improvement in signal quality with 6s? Thanks!
     
  12. E3BK macrumors 68020

    E3BK

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #12
    In NYC, on a new SIM in new 6S as I activated at the Apple store.

    I have 1 dot better service in the middle of my apartment (worst spot), giving me 2 dots. And by the windows, I have 3 dots. I only had 1 dot before in my garden apartment. For those outside of NYC, that means it is half below street level on the front side of the apartment. My street is all old brownstones so lots and lots of brick.

    I am very happy with it.
     
  13. E3BK macrumors 68020

    E3BK

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #13
    It went from 4 to 12 to that weird 1477... number.

    IMG_0020.PNG IMG_0021.PNG
     
  14. Captain America macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2011
    Location:
    Philly
    #14
    Oh nice, I didn't know this kind of technology was even a thing. I live in DelCo, and thinking about signing up with T-Mobile. What kind of speeds do you get via the SpeedTest app?


    EDIT: Evidently Apple didn't include support for band 12 on these phones. Wtf.
     
  15. E3BK macrumors 68020

    E3BK

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #15
    Yes they do. http://www.apple.com/iphone/LTE/

    This is from the field test on my 6S.

    IMG_0020-1.PNG
     
  16. Captain America macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2011
    Location:
    Philly
    #16
  17. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #17
    Oh boy, that's like 6 locations in the whole US that shows band12 spectrum available.
    Damn, hate to say it but Tmobile coverage is a joke compared to the big 2.
     
  18. lordofthereef macrumors G4

    lordofthereef

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #18
    I honestly don't even know if it's live in my area. I will say I get a single bar of lte in my home where I was normally getting 4g or nothing (but had been on T-Mobile wifi). Is there a way to tell what band you're currently on?
     
  19. E3BK, Sep 25, 2015
    Last edited: Sep 26, 2015

    E3BK macrumors 68020

    E3BK

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #19
    But it works great for those who are covered! It's not for everyone. People should get what works for them best. I haven't had any issues. It's better than my AT&T service for sure. I travel to mostly major cities + international travel.
     
  20. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #20
    That Tmobile band 12 coverage is very miserable though. Are you in one of those 6-7 locations in the US?
    Then you're lucky but millions of others probably are not covered well.
    I guess you just gotta see what works best in your local area and places you frequent the most.
     
  21. E3BK macrumors 68020

    E3BK

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #21
    In NYC so yes. Band 12 is new, it's growing. 2 years ago I couldn't switch. My service has only gotten better since I switched last year.
     
  22. supermanfan macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2008
    #22
    I am in a suburb of Denver.

    At my house, on my iPhone6, I would get 1 bar of 4G and data basically didn't work.

    Moved SIM over to new 6s and I occasionally get 2 bars of LTE. During that time field test mode indicates band 12.

    The weird/frustrating thing is, it comes and goes. It will revert back to 4G and no data most of the time. How can the phone prefer a worse 4G signal over band 12?
     
  23. Tubamajuba macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2011
    #23
    I'm on band 12 and I'm only getting 3 mbps down and 2 mbps up. It's alternating between three and four dots of signal (indoors! on T-Mobile! :eek:), so at least it's consistent.
     
  24. supermanfan macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2008
    #24
    Yep - I see similar speeds when I am on band 12. That would be fine with me. I just want some kind of usable service in the house. I want to have LTE service if I have a power outage - so no WiFi, no Cellspot LTE repeater during power outage. 1 bar of 4G does not work.
     
  25. Tubamajuba macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2011
    #25
    I see your point, but I don't understand why the speeds are so low. A few months ago, a speed test in the same location would show double digits for both download and upload. Is there a characteristic of band 12 that causes a regression in speed, or is there no relation?
     

Share This Page