The "Report your issues with OSX Lion" Thread

Discussion in 'Mac OS X Lion (10.7)' started by iFitzgerald, Jul 20, 2011.

  1. iFitzgerald macrumors regular

    iFitzgerald

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2011
    Location:
    Ponta Delgada, Azores, Portugal
    #1
    Ok, title pretty much says it. I thought it would be good to "collect" info on the issues people have with Lion. I'm NOT talking about have problems installing. So please leave those out, we all know some people are having a few problems.

    Report bugs, and report applications which do NOT work on Lion. Some people, like me for instance, are waiting to see if Lion can run all of the applications they have. This will help others decide to buy Lion now or wait for a future version...

    EDIT - Oh, don't forget to mention the version you're running...
     
  2. gmanist1000 macrumors 68030

    gmanist1000

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2009
    #2
    Using an external cinema display with my iMac is laggy, never had a problem with Snow Leopard but with Lion everything is just sluggish on the external monitor.
     
  3. iFitzgerald thread starter macrumors regular

    iFitzgerald

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2011
    Location:
    Ponta Delgada, Azores, Portugal
    #3
    Nobody has any problems with third party software whatsoever?
    Are there hardly any bugs? Only only problem so far...
     
  4. Necross macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2011
    #4
    No big problems for me at all. I doubt I'll ever use the launch pad, my icons in the dock are just fine as they is and I'm not too lazy to find my applications folder when I want to do something else.

    The only issue I have is with my generic cheapy USB mouse. For some reason the scroll wheel on it is reversed now. If I scroll down on the wheel, the page moves up, and vise versa. pretty weird.

    Everything else is working just fine for me. I'm on a new 2011 Macbook Pro 17" with 8 gigs of ram.
     
  5. JRoDDz macrumors 68000

    JRoDDz

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2009
    Location:
    NJ
  6. GermanyChris macrumors 601

    GermanyChris

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2011
    Location:
    Here
    #6
    My Vodafone websessions no longer works, I'm on the wat to Vodafone this after work to ask if they actually have a driver. I'm glad it's prepay
     
  7. Karaval macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2011
    #7
    Sonos doesn't work in Lion. I can use the app to control it, albeit it is slow, but it isn't able to access my music library.
     
  8. stoplis macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2009
    #8
    Mission Control doesn't show minimized windows.
     
  9. starter15 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    #9
    cant sign into facetime
    vuze downloads dont start
     
  10. paulsalter macrumors 68000

    paulsalter

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #10
    Not a big issue, but a annoyance in safari

    when I have been reading a thread and I swipe back to the thread list, it dosnt show the one i just read as read
     
  11. Stonefly macrumors regular

    Stonefly

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Location:
    Nova Scotia
    #11
    Go to system preferences/mouse and take the check mark out of the "scroll direction: natural" box



    There is an update that should fix that.

    Screen Shot 2011-07-21 at 11.50.10 AM.png
     
  12. rbcp macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2011
    #12
    FWIW, Sonos sent an update today saying that it will be resolved 'soon'...
     
  13. rmwebs macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    #13
    - Launchpad is pointless, just 100% useless...
    - Crossover didn't work (using a beta copy now, which is still pretty unstable)
    - Quicktime fullscreen completely screws it up for you if you've got more than 1 screen as you can no longer still work on the second monitor
    - Keep experiencing very minor graphics glitches with Mission Control and Safari gestures
    - Fullscreen apps are 100% pointless with a dual screen setup, as is Launchpad
     
  14. rmwebs macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    #14
    Thats actually intentional (stupidly). Go into System Preferences -> Mouse and uncheck the box to scroll 'naturally' and It'll go back to how its supposed to be.

    Edit: Oops doublepost!
     
  15. Juddski macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2011
    #15
    Office doesn't work

    Using late 2010 MacBook Pro 15"

    Upgraded to Lion, wish I hadn't.

    Office 2004 for Mac doesn't work. An absolute pain as I'm writing a PhD!!

    Got on the phone to Apple, informed that third-party Power PC software no longer works. So that will apply to much software.

    I am going to downgrade to Snow Leopard. Requires a total wipe of my system and a total reinstall.

    I'd rather lose Lion £20.99 to Apple than shell out for Office 2011.

    Might be a silver lining, as Apple appear to be offering refunds for schmucks like me that didn't read the really really small print.

    There is nothing on the main pages of their 'Lion' push to indicate that people will be left holding useless software
     
  16. rmwebs macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    #16
    Not sure if this an option for you, but you can now run Snow Leopard (or earlier versions) in VMWare/Parallels/VirtualBox which will be capable of running PowerPC stuff with Rosetta.
     
  17. lazydogmot macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2009
    Location:
    N/E Florida
    #17
    Finder/iDisk

    When Finder is opened, clicking on iDisk brings down a small window that reminds me that MobileMe account is not setup. I can't get farther than that. Pressing "Cancel" removes small window but it will reappear next time iDisk is clicked.
     
  18. iFitzgerald thread starter macrumors regular

    iFitzgerald

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2011
    Location:
    Ponta Delgada, Azores, Portugal
    #18
    Humm and is anyone having issues with Screenflow? And some more basic stuff like Office 2011, Skype, VMWare Fusion...?
     
  19. swedefish macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2008
    #19
    Sometimes when I do a desktop swap swipe, but do not complete the swipe and let it revert back to the desktop I was originally on, all the icons on said desktop disappear. I have to swipe to a new desktop and then swipe back again for the icons to reappear.

    My main gripe, however, is how crappy full screen mode is when using dual monitors. One should be able to run different apps in full screen simultaneously on one's different monitors. It seems like such a basic premise that I can't forgive Apple for it.

    Lunchpad is just an abomination and the quintessence of inelegance. Having an Applications folder alias in the dock is a million times neater. Launchpad doesn't bother me too much though since I know I will never use it.
     
  20. archbran macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2011
    #20
    USB to serial driver

    I cannot get my usb to serial adapter to work. I have downloaded all the new drivers suggested but nothing has worked. I use this to console into my network equipment so with out it LION is dead to me. is there something I'm missing, here is what I have done so fare.

    removed the old driver
    kextunload ProlificUsbSerial.kext
    rm -r ProlificUsbSerial.kext

    then installed the new driver from
    http://www.prolific.com.tw/eng/downloads.asp?id=31
    PL2303_1.4.0.dmg


    any help on this would be a life saver.
     
  21. gmanist1000 macrumors 68030

    gmanist1000

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2009
    #21
    Screenflow tweeted something about people have problems with Lion, check the link.

    https://twitter.com/#!/screenflow/status/93816858108641280
     
  22. rdsii64 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    #22
    toast 11 hangs on lead in

    Once I got lion on my imac and everything up and running I noticed that toast 11 would hang on writing the lead in of a dvd and I couldn't force quite toast and it would never unhang. I had to hard shut down my machine then turn it back on.
     
  23. OldCorpse macrumors 65816

    OldCorpse

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2005
    Location:
    compost heap
    #23
    what version of vuze are you running? According to this:

    App Compatibility Table - Vuze 4.6.0.4 works fine on Lion.
     
  24. glavoie84 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2009
    #24
    Some testing

    - Tried full disk encryption. Seems to work fine so far but I haven't used it for long.
    - With the disk encrypted, the recovery partition had my WiFi network already configured... Lion must have copied the configuration from my main installation since it should not have been able to recover the settings from the encrypted drive. I did not have to enter a password to boot the recovery partition.
    - Trying re-install from the recovery partition:
    -- BUG: Could not unlock my encrypted partition to re-install over it with my user password... I have the password prompt but the password doesn't work.
    -- Erasing the disk/partition doesn't kill the recovery partition. At least there is some protection. :)
    -- I tried to create up-front an encrypted file system but it failed with a strange error message
    -- Re-installing from the recovery partition requires a complete re-download.
    -- Re-downloading Lion from the recovery partition requires the entry of an Apple ID credentials. It must be the account from which Lion was purchased. This can be annoying...
    - I burned a DVD with the .dmg file found in the installer. I'll try next to erase my SSD (secure erase to recover performance) and I'll make a complete clean install.
     
  25. mr1 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2011
    #25
    My trackpad and keyboard are unresponsive for 1-2 seconds after waking from sleep. Nobody else has this issue??
     

Share This Page