Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

tjbrownmusic

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Mar 19, 2018
Hello! So i'm a full-time musician (singer/songwriter/producer)...I work out of Pro-Tools and I make music/videos in my home studio. I've recently also started streaming music/gaming on Twitch. I do play a healthy amount of games (mostly mobile) and gaming helps to take the weight off of having to sing for several hours during a stream. So far i've just been streaming Hearthstone, but in the future I could see myself playing more desktop games like League of Legends, Fortnite, etc.

I love Macs. Been using Mac since 2008 and I love the ecosystem. I don't miss viruses, adware, etc...but i know Macs aren't awesome in the gaming space (a bit frustrating to me really...the industry is expanding so rapidly. Why not do more for gamers?). I have a 2012 MBP with a 23" Apple cinema display that I've been using for the past 6 years, and I'm really due for an upgrade. The laptop has been giving me issues and creating problems during my streams (dropping frames, freezing, etc).

Because of this i've been debating on whether to go PC or Mac for my next computer. I lean Mac, but there doesn't really seem to be any perfect options for me at the moment. The iMac Pro would be ideal, but the 5k starting price isn't really something I can stomach. I'm trying to stay at around the 2k or less mark, and I would rather have an iMac than a laptop. The current iMacs haven't had a major update since like 2012 however, and the basic model doesn't come with a SSD, so I have to pay the Apple premium just to get a SSD. Desk space is also a bit of an issue, and I need a dual-screen setup, so I probably couldn't go for the 27" and would need to get the 21.5" iMac to go along my 23" Apple cinema display (would these look terrible next to each other?).

So...basically I'd like to get you guys' thoughts on: