Universal Clipboard

Discussion in 'iOS 10' started by AbsurdBrian, Jun 22, 2016.

  1. AbsurdBrian macrumors newbie

    AbsurdBrian

    Joined:
    May 22, 2015
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    #1
    For me I cannot get the universal clipboard to work. Is there a setting I need to enable for this? I've even tried turning Handoff on and still nothing. Both devices signed into same Apple ID and everything.
     
  2. lagwagon Suspended

    lagwagon

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2014
    Location:
    Calgary, Alberta, Canada
    #2
    As far as I know it's currently only working one way in beta 1. I forget if it's macOS Sierra to iPhone on iOS 10 or if it was iPhone on iOS 10 to macOS Sierra.

    So it's just not fully implemented yet in beta 1. So it only partially works. (I just forget which direction the working half was)
     
  3. AbsurdBrian thread starter macrumors newbie

    AbsurdBrian

    Joined:
    May 22, 2015
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    #3
    I tried both ways, I just can't seem to figure it out. Even copying from different windows/apps/websites.
     
  4. GreyOS macrumors 68030

    GreyOS

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2012
    #4
    Is the intention for copy/paste between all supported macs, iPhones and iPads?
     
  5. Feenician macrumors 68040

    Feenician

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2016
    #5
    It's Mac to iOS for now but I don't like the way the feature is implemented at all as it's not at all obvious it's going to do anything. Even if you enter multitasking in ios after you copy in macOS it just says "Safari from Mac" (if that's where you copied from) and tapping that will just open the page. I can't see any indication that something has been put on the clipboard so it feels like roulette. Maybe I missed something.
     
  6. AbsurdBrian thread starter macrumors newbie

    AbsurdBrian

    Joined:
    May 22, 2015
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    #6
    Yes, I'm supposed to copy something on my Mac and paste it from my iPhone. Both devices are updated to the betas.
     
  7. lagwagon Suspended

    lagwagon

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2014
    Location:
    Calgary, Alberta, Canada
    #7
    Are you sure you have Bluetooth enabled and all that stuff? Devices are near each other? There have been numerous people over in the macOS Sierra beta sub forum that have gotten it to work. But like I said, it's only one way at the moment.
     
  8. AeroZ macrumors 6502

    AeroZ

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2013
    Location:
    Estonia
    #8
    AFAIK Handoff is pretty unreliable even on iOS9 and 10.11
     
  9. AbsurdBrian thread starter macrumors newbie

    AbsurdBrian

    Joined:
    May 22, 2015
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    #9
    It's over bluetooth? Not an icloud sync?
     
  10. Feenician macrumors 68040

    Feenician

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2016
    #10
    Bluetooth is used for presence checking and ad-hoc wifi for actual data transfer I think. Bluetooth LE is required on both ends too iirc
     
  11. lagwagon Suspended

    lagwagon

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2014
    Location:
    Calgary, Alberta, Canada
    #11
    Correct. Bluetooth does the connection and the transfer is wifi. And LE is like you said required.
     
  12. BasicGreatGuy Contributor

    BasicGreatGuy

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2012
    Location:
    In the middle of several books.
    #12
    It works unilaterally, (iPhone 6 to MBP) albeit it doesn't work every single time.
     
  13. Feenician macrumors 68040

    Feenician

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2016
    #13
    I just tried it iPP to MBP and indeed it worked so it's working both directions for me right now and I could have sworn it was said that it doesn't/wouldn't until a later version of both. Weird.
    --- Post Merged, Jun 22, 2016 ---
    Both tests reminded of what I hate about this feature. It silently stomps my clipboard on all my devices! 99 times out of 100 I do not want copying text on my iPad to overwrite my Mac's clipboard. I'd be ok if there was a "paste from..." feature but otherwise I can see this annoying me a lot in future
    --- Post Merged, Jun 22, 2016 ---
    Well here's an interesting tidbit and perhaps the reason it's said that it only works in one direction. It seems I can copy on Mac and paste anywhere in iPad (I've tried safari address bar, safari text boxes, Word for iOS, Outlook for iOS, Chrome address bar and text boxes and Prompt for a good sample of mixed apps) but the other direction, iPad to macOS is very inconsistent.

    It doesn't seem to matter where I copy from on the iPad (I've again tried a good range of sources) but it won't paste to certain places and that even varies within the same app. I copied the word "deadlines" from safari on iOS and tried to paste in the following places on the Mac. For the "not working" section it pastes nothing at all (its still trashes my clipboard!! :mad:) except for Firefox which I've noted acts strangely: -

    Works:
    Outlook body of new email
    Outlook search field
    iTerm Profiles section
    Safari (anywhere except standard HTML input form. MacRumors comment box works fine) --> Deadlines <-- that was pasted
    MS Word (everywhere)


    Does not work:
    Outlook "To", "CC" and "BCC" fields
    Textwrangler document (indeed anywhere in Textwrangler)
    iTerm session (the actual terminal)
    Firefox anywhere (it pastes some odd control codes in the URL bar and nothing anywhere else)

    I can try more sources but I think the moral is is that iOS -> macOS isn't fully baked yet.
     
  14. DaveOP macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 29, 2011
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #14
    This is working in both directions for me. iPhone 6S to 2015 rMBP, copying from either allows me to paste to the other.
     
  15. Feenician macrumors 68040

    Feenician

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2016
    #15
    Can you perhaps try some of the tests I've noted above? It'd be good to know if it's consistent and indeed why Apple said iOS to macOS isn't complete. Thanks!
     
  16. lagwagon Suspended

    lagwagon

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2014
    Location:
    Calgary, Alberta, Canada
    #16
    I was just going by what I read over in the macOS Sierra sub forum. People who had it work said it was only one way for now. But that's good new if it's working both ways.

    My Macs are too old for handoff and anything that requires Bluetooth LE for me to have tested.
     
  17. DaveOP macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 29, 2011
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #17
    I was able to copy the To, CC, and BCC fields from my Mac on Outlook 2013, and paste them consistently on my iPhone. I don't have Firefox and don't want to install it, so I cant speak for that or the other 3rd party apps you listed.

    I just read the rest of your post - you were having trouble in the opposite direction. I don't want Outlook or Firefox on my iPhone, so can't help you here. Sorry.
     
  18. Feenician macrumors 68040

    Feenician

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2016
    #18
    Outlook 2016 here so not quite like for like. I looked for something 1st party not working on my end and found Spotlight doesn't work. Could you try that?

    Also, in Safari if you go to http://www.w3schools.com/html/html_forms.asp you'll find a First Name and Last Name text boxes. Can you confirm whether those work too?
     
  19. GreyOS macrumors 68030

    GreyOS

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2012
    #19
    Does iOS to iOS work? If not is it a planned feature?
     
  20. Feenician macrumors 68040

    Feenician

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2016
    #20
    Same issue with Terminal. All of the things I've noted as "Don't work" can be pasted into as soon as you put local content into the clipboard but not from continuity.

    Seems to work fine from my limited testing
     
  21. gsmornot macrumors 68030

    gsmornot

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2014
    #21
    I have it working both ways but it took a little work. I have a 2011 Mac mini which does not officially support continuity features. I found a tool that will turn this on (Continuity Activation Tool) since the 2011 is Bluetooth 4.0. I tried to add my phone to my Mac via bluetooth but the connection fails. Still the copy back and forth works fine. So, it will go both ways for me. The connection thing might have to do with how I'm making this work then again before I tried to pair the two I could copy one way only. It would go from the Mac to the phone but not the other way. Perhaps the people having the issue should try to pair the phone to their Mac and try again.
     
  22. Feenician macrumors 68040

    Feenician

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2016
    #22

    Could you try copying something on iOS and pasting into Spotlight or Terminal? Curious to know if it's just me having the odd inconsistencies.
     
  23. ZEEN0j macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2014
    #23
    What you are seeing in the app switcher has nothing to do with universal clipboard. That's handoff. You can open a link for example in Safari on your Mac. And if you want to continue reading it on your iPhone you drag the little icon in the iPhone lock screen or the window in the app switcher.

    As far as I understand universal clipboard there is no indicator that it's been passed on. You just copy on one device and paste with the other no thinking required. It's suppose to just work but doesn't on beta 1.
     
  24. Feenician macrumors 68040

    Feenician

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2016
    #24
    Yep, you're right and like I said, the last thing I want to do is trash my clipboard on the Mac every time I copy text on phone or iPad. Even worse that there's no indication that it happened. I really hope there is "paste from" option at some point.
     
  25. GreyOS macrumors 68030

    GreyOS

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2012
    #25
    Regarding it trashing clipboards, I read it only lasts 2 minutes, wonder if the original clipboard returns after that time?
     

Share This Page