usb 3.0 hub

Discussion in 'iMac' started by Sturgeon boy, Sep 30, 2013.

1. Sturgeon boy macrumors member

Sturgeon boy

I fancy getting a usb 3.0 hub so i don't have to keep reaching round the back of my new imac to plug the sticks in can anyone recommend one that looks good aswell as doing a great job cheers

2. bp1000 macrumors 65816

Also out of curiosity, do USB 3 hubs have a theoretical max speed per port or is speed spread between the 4, 6 or whatever port config you choose?

3. Bear macrumors G3

Remember looks good and functions well don't always go together. Do get one with it's own power supply so you don't run into USB power issues.

One that looks decent is this one. Do check reviews as I have no experience with it.

4. Aameiel macrumors regular

Aameiel

5. CWallace macrumors 603

CWallace

The bandwidth appears to be aggregate across all ports, so each device pulls what it needs per port until you saturate the connection to the computer.

I just took delivery of a 7-port HooToo HT-UH006 unit. Looks nice (for glossy black plastic) has plenty of space between ports (so good for ruggedized USB thumb drives) and has a 3A power supply.

6. Bear macrumors G3

I think that may be USN 2.0. Do check with the manufacturer to see if it's been updated to USB 3.0 And why are the back ports charge only?

7. Macman45 macrumors demi-god

Macman45

I use a powered D-Link USB 3 four port, but they do a larger version ( eight I think ) too. It's rock solid and stops me having to reach around the back of my iMac....All those ports are occupied anyway..:)

Attached Files:

8. Bear, Oct 1, 2013
    Last edited: Oct 1, 2013

Bear macrumors G3

Depending on what your actual connectivity needs are, you might want to consider a Thunderbolt dock as well. Yes, it will cost more, but if it fits your needs it could be worth it.

9. faxao macrumors regular

Just bought this one from Amazon

Attached Files:

10. pastrychef macrumors 601

pastrychef