Using a ATI FireGL X3 in a MDD...

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by MatthewLTL, Jul 15, 2015.

  1. MatthewLTL macrumors 68000

    MatthewLTL

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2015
    Location:
    Rochester, MN
    #1
    My eMac I think, is getting to the point in it's life where it will not beable to be up to par to be continued to be used as a Daily Driver PPC. I will be getting a FireGL (pre-flashed and pre-taped) for my MDD. So here is the point in this thread:

    What to do? Since it's pre-flashed and pre-tapped it's just drop in and boot up (after connecting it to the pSU of course) right?

    How does this thing preform in Tiger and Leopard?
    Can i watch 720p Video?
    How well will this preform over all?
     
  2. Dronecatcher macrumors 68000

    Dronecatcher

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2014
    Location:
    Lincolnshire, UK
    #2
  3. LightBulbFun macrumors 6502a

    LightBulbFun

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2013
    Location:
    London UK
    #3
    you also Need to install the ATI Video drivers since your fireGL will most likely have a reduced rom with out an NDRV which the ATI drivers add
     
  4. MatthewLTL thread starter macrumors 68000

    MatthewLTL

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2015
    Location:
    Rochester, MN
    #4
    when going to the ATI website, it say all drivers are already part of OS X.....
     
  5. LightBulbFun macrumors 6502a

    LightBulbFun

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2013
    Location:
    London UK
  6. bunnspecial macrumors 603

    bunnspecial

    Joined:
    May 3, 2014
    Location:
    Kentucky
    #6
    You definitely need drivers-I've run into that more times than I care to count with my flashed version of this particular card. It will come up with a wonky grayscale screen if you don't.

    The FW800 MDD has an extra socket at the back of the AGP slot. Working from memory, you may need to remove the retention tab at the back of the card to get it to fit. Test it first, though-leaving the retention tab is always a good idea if you can.

    These are superb cards in the MDD...I just wish that I could get one to work a QS or DA.
     
  7. MatthewLTL, Jul 16, 2015
    Last edited: Jul 16, 2015

    MatthewLTL thread starter macrumors 68000

    MatthewLTL

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2015
    Location:
    Rochester, MN
    #7
    Thanks! so will this driver work on both Tiger and Leopard?
    Thanks Bunns! I have ordered the card and it should be here between saturday and wednesday. I will probably install the driver tomorrow after work as I have no time today. I believe that, based on the pictures:
    [​IMG] [​IMG]
    That the card should fit right in. The retension tab shouldn't have to be snapped off. This was the 1st upgrade because the failed DVI on the GeForce 4MX makes using the Mac a pain in the ass. Next, I will probably invest in one or two Sonnet Tempo SATA cards.

    and here is the auction:
    Apple Power Mac G4 G5 ATI FireGL X3 256mb AGP Card Already Comes Taped for G4

    Mods: This is not my auction. I bought this item and this is simply a link to the item.
     
  8. jbarley macrumors 68030

    jbarley

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2006
    Location:
    Vancouver Island
    #8
    Could the lack of this driver possibly be the reason a flashed and taped FireGL X3 card just boots to a blank-black screen on my MDD?
    second question...
    This link (http://www2.ati.com/drivers/macosx-ati-displays-4-5-7.dmg) leads me to an AMD website, and try as I may I cannot locate the aforementioned ATI Video drivers.
     
  9. LightBulbFun macrumors 6502a

    LightBulbFun

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2013
    Location:
    London UK
    #9
    sorry my bad for not checking the link http://support.amd.com/en-us/download/archive/macosx10-4x-3x-radeon this one should work (choose the 4.5.7 version one) the black screen do you get an open firmware boot screen? if not then I doubt the drivers will help since these drivers take effect Just as the OS loads the window sever... if you have a boot screen then the screen goes blank then these drivers might help
     
  10. desantii macrumors 6502

    desantii

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2006
    Location:
    Aurora, IL
    #10
    Hi there MatthewLTL.....Nice video card! remember the dual CPU card for the MDD I sent....I thought you had no money and that is why you are pushing me month after month
     
  11. jbarley macrumors 68030

    jbarley

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2006
    Location:
    Vancouver Island
    #11
    I feel your pain, you have my condolences..
     
  12. Dronecatcher macrumors 68000

    Dronecatcher

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2014
    Location:
    Lincolnshire, UK
    #12
    I'd love to say, 'you always reap what you sow' - unfortunately, thus far, I've found that most people who behave despicably and selfishly seem to get along fine and prosper...
     
  13. jbarley macrumors 68030

    jbarley

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2006
    Location:
    Vancouver Island
    #13
    Maybe these types should be sent to Coventry!
     
  14. mikiotty macrumors 6502

    mikiotty

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2014
    Location:
    Rome, Italy
    #14
    The card will fit as-is in the MDD. No cutting needed. :)
     
  15. MatthewLTL thread starter macrumors 68000

    MatthewLTL

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2015
    Location:
    Rochester, MN
    #15
    I get a runtime error trying to download this........
    I paid you back MONTHS ago, Sent you several messages asking for a confirmation you got it, never heard back. A friend gave me the money for this card as a gift, hence, it wasn't my money I used.
     
  16. MatthewLTL thread starter macrumors 68000

    MatthewLTL

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2015
    Location:
    Rochester, MN
    #16
    Got the card today!
    FILE0085.JPG FILE0086.JPG FILE0087.JPG Can anyone tell me what this center port is? never seen anything like this before.
    FILE0088.JPG FILE0090.JPG FILE0094.JPG
     
  17. iModFrenzy macrumors 6502a

    iModFrenzy

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2015
    Location:
    501st Legion
    #17
    That port looks like an S-Video port.

    Nice card!:eek:
     
  18. bunnspecial macrumors 603

    bunnspecial

    Joined:
    May 3, 2014
    Location:
    Kentucky
    #18
    It actually looks to me like the port on the old Appletalk boxes for "daisy chaining" computers together. S Video has four wires.

    Not really sure what it is-it may be some form of S-video without sound, although I don't know why it would use the non-standard(for this application) port.

    Mine has the same port, but I've never paid attention to it. I don't think it works in the common reduced Macintosh ROMs floating around out there anyway.
     
  19. MatthewLTL thread starter macrumors 68000

    MatthewLTL

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2015
    Location:
    Rochester, MN
  20. Gamer9430, Jul 18, 2015
    Last edited: Jul 18, 2015

    Gamer9430 macrumors 68020

    Gamer9430

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2014
    Location:
    Central New Jersey, USA
    #20
    Is it orange?

    EDIT; ok I guess that's not part of the expression. One of my HS teachers always said, "Everyone who is talking will be sent to Coventry, Coventry is orange,". I figured that was the Coventry expression, but upon further googling, it appears my teacher made up his own :D .
     
  21. Gamer9430 macrumors 68020

    Gamer9430

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2014
    Location:
    Central New Jersey, USA
    #21
    Oh boy, here we go again...
     
  22. jruschme macrumors 6502

    jruschme

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2011
    Location:
    Brick, NJ
    #22
    Definitely not S-Video. Composite (with adapter?)?
     
  23. LightBulbFun macrumors 6502a

    LightBulbFun

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2013
    Location:
    London UK
    #23
    that S video looking port is a Stereo 3D glasses Port IRC
     
  24. MagicBoy macrumors 68040

    MagicBoy

    Joined:
    May 28, 2006
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    #24
    Inb4 the thread lock.
     
  25. bunnspecial macrumors 603

    bunnspecial

    Joined:
    May 3, 2014
    Location:
    Kentucky
    #25

Share This Page