With Lion approaching...CPU Upgrade?

stewartfan123

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Sep 17, 2008
14
0
I have an iMac with a 1.83 Core Duo and I just found out that it's possible to upgrade the CPU in these computers. Now, since Lion is coming, I think it would be nice to be able to upgrade from SL, and not have to find some heinous work-around for it. The CPU upgrade in question would be to a T5750. I believe it will work, but has anyone done an upgrade? I know everyone says it's really difficult, but my iMac doesn't have a screen (Bought it that way) so it's actually really easy to disassemble. The only hard part would be getting the LogicBoard off, and I'm comfortable with attempting that. I have found a T570 for $22 on eBay, so I just want to make sure this will work. Thanks!
 

stewartfan123

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Sep 17, 2008
14
0
Upgrading the CPU won't let you run Lion without the hack as the installer checks your model number.
Yes, but the main reason that Lion is unsupported is because CDs don't support 64-bit like C2Ds do, and upgrading would eliminate a lot of hassle in that respect
 

tersono

macrumors 68000
Jan 18, 2005
1,999
1
UK
Macs hold their value well (provided you don't mess 'em about) so it would probably make more financial sense (not to mention hassle and potential other issues) to sell your existing iMac and buy a new one.
 

iSayuSay

macrumors 68040
Feb 6, 2011
3,254
385
The essence of an iMac is you don't upgrade it (apart from RAM). I don't have idea whether upgrading your iMac's CPU would work or not. Technically it's okay since iMac use regular socket CPU as you'd find in regular desktop. But Apple could just do something with firmware to restrict the replacement. You could've wasted too much money by the time you realized it, maybe even more than if you just sell it and upgrade to newer iMac.

If you don't sit well with the idea of "iMac being non upgradeable machine and you should sell the whole package if you want to upgrade", I think maybe you should stick to MacPro.

I know the consequences of going with iMac as all-in-one. I know the pain when newer CPU/GPU coming and I just can't upgrade my so-called desktop computer. Some people willing to risk their iMac by upgrading SSD, HDD or some light upgrade. But CPU and GPU is another story, it's considered a big surgery. And you wouldn't come to AASP with replaced CPU/GPU when your iMac has problem. It's like bringing a mob with gunshot-wound to hospital :D
 

Hellhammer

Moderator emeritus
Dec 10, 2008
22,166
581
Finland
Yes, but the main reason that Lion is unsupported is because CDs don't support 64-bit like C2Ds do, and upgrading would eliminate a lot of hassle in that respect
No, it wouldn't change anything. You can run Lion in Core Duo Macs by modifying the platform support plist. Upgrading the CPU to Core 2 Duo won't help as the hack is still needed because it checks the model number, not the CPU.
 

philipma1957

macrumors 603
Apr 13, 2010
6,273
192
Howell, New Jersey
so you have the much desired headless iMac! yeah toss the 2.0Ghz c2d in the iMac for 22 bucks the machine will run quicker and worse comes to worse you can keep using sl and not use lion
 

gnasher729

macrumors P6
Nov 25, 2005
16,692
3,382
I have an iMac with a 1.83 Core Duo and I just found out that it's possible to upgrade the CPU in these computers. Now, since Lion is coming, I think it would be nice to be able to upgrade from SL, and not have to find some heinous work-around for it. The CPU upgrade in question would be to a T5750. I believe it will work, but has anyone done an upgrade? I know everyone says it's really difficult, but my iMac doesn't have a screen (Bought it that way) so it's actually really easy to disassemble. The only hard part would be getting the LogicBoard off, and I'm comfortable with attempting that. I have found a T570 for $22 on eBay, so I just want to make sure this will work. Thanks!
How to upgrade the CPU on an iMac:

Step 1: Put the iMac on eBay. Sell it for as much as possible.
Step 2: Choose a new iMac, possibly refurbished, with the CPU that you want.

That's risk free, it works, and you get brand new, much improved iMac with fresh warranty.
 

Bearxor

macrumors 6502a
Jun 7, 2007
641
120
I don't think upgrading your processor is a BAD idea if you really, really want to keep that machine.

But I wouldn't get the 2.0ghz C2DM. It won't make Lion install without hacking it anyways and it's such a negligible processor upgrade it's not worth the $22.

If it were me, I would go for nothing less than the T7800, a 2.6ghz C2DM. If I'm right about your iMac (late-2006 model?) it should have a Intel 945 chipset in it and should have no problem supporting the 800mhz FSB of the T7800. It also has the same thermal rating as your current chip. They run about $100 on ebay.

If you don't decide to go for the highest-end you can get, then I wouldn't bother.
 

B.A.T

macrumors 6502a
Oct 16, 2009
656
401
Idaho
1) buy a new iMac if you can afford it.

2) if you can't afford it I've got a 2009 iMac with 2.66ghz and 8gbs ram that I'll sell you with just over a year of Apple Care and some extra software (pm me)

3) if you like tinkering with computers it might be fun to replace the cpu but I think down the line you will want a more current iMac.
 

CWallace

macrumors 604
Aug 17, 2007
6,926
2,834
Seattle, WA
Step 1: Put the iMac on eBay. Sell it for as much as possible.
As it evidently does not have a screen (per the OP), I would expect "as much as possible" won't be very much. ;)

So upgrading the CPU (to improve performance) and applying the hack (to get past the Model Number check) sounds the most prudent and cost-effective option for the OP.
 

wordoflife

macrumors 604
Jul 6, 2009
7,563
33
Actually, I think I remember reading on the forums that you can run Lion on a CD. You'll need the mods either way
 

Maschil

macrumors 6502a
Jun 19, 2011
566
61
Mississippi
slightly of subject but don't want to annoy people by making a new thread somewhere else..... any official date on lion being released? im waiting to buy my mac book pro then... thanks
 

stewartfan123

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Sep 17, 2008
14
0
As it evidently does not have a screen (per the OP), I would expect "as much as possible" won't be very much. ;)

So upgrading the CPU (to improve performance) and applying the hack (to get past the Model Number check) sounds the most prudent and cost-effective option for the OP.
Yes, thank you. I went this way because, being a sixteen year old (Albeit with a great job for my age), I really can't see spending $500+ on a computer right now when I have 2 other PCs that are powerful enough to run Photoshop CS5 with ease, and I enjoy the Mac experience, so I bought an iMac for a little more than $100 on eBay and hooked up my existing 20" monitor to it, and now I have the cheapest working Intel Mac money could buy! It's definitely an upgrade from my old 1GHz PBG4!

I don't think upgrading your processor is a BAD idea if you really, really want to keep that machine.

But I wouldn't get the 2.0ghz C2DM. It won't make Lion install without hacking it anyways and it's such a negligible processor upgrade it's not worth the $22.

If it were me, I would go for nothing less than the T7800, a 2.6ghz C2DM. If I'm right about your iMac (late-2006 model?) it should have a Intel 945 chipset in it and should have no problem supporting the 800mhz FSB of the T7800. It also has the same thermal rating as your current chip. They run about $100 on ebay.

If you don't decide to go for the highest-end you can get, then I wouldn't bother.
It's actually the early 2006 model, and I just don't see throwing THAT much money on a machine like this. The 2.0C2D for $22 is an improvement that I believe I will see in daily computing, but it's really not that much money.

How to upgrade the CPU on an iMac:

Step 1: Put the iMac on eBay. Sell it for as much as possible.
Step 2: Choose a new iMac, possibly refurbished, with the CPU that you want.

That's risk free, it works, and you get brand new, much improved iMac with fresh warranty.
there's no way that I'm willing to spend more than I did on my iMac ($140, not including AirPort card and 2GB RAM upgrade), to get a Mac when I have a PC laptop that I got for $500 last year with an illuminated keyboard and a slot-load drive that will smoke any Mac in my price range while still being more portable. Thanks for the advice though.

so you have the much desired headless iMac! yeah toss the 2.0Ghz c2d in the iMac for 22 bucks the machine will run quicker and worse comes to worse you can keep using sl and not use lion
Ohh yeah, haha it's actually not too bad, minus the lack of value. Screens are outrageously expensive on these things though! But thanks, that's exactly my point of view.
 

stewartfan123

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Sep 17, 2008
14
0
slightly of subject but don't want to annoy people by making a new thread somewhere else..... any official date on lion being released? im waiting to buy my mac book pro then... thanks
This month, according to Apple. Even then, it's only a $30 upgrade.
 

flopticalcube

macrumors G4
I don't think upgrading your processor is a BAD idea if you really, really want to keep that machine.

But I wouldn't get the 2.0ghz C2DM. It won't make Lion install without hacking it anyways and it's such a negligible processor upgrade it's not worth the $22.

If it were me, I would go for nothing less than the T7800, a 2.6ghz C2DM. If I'm right about your iMac (late-2006 model?) it should have a Intel 945 chipset in it and should have no problem supporting the 800mhz FSB of the T7800. It also has the same thermal rating as your current chip. They run about $100 on ebay.

If you don't decide to go for the highest-end you can get, then I wouldn't bother.
T7800 is socket P and meant for the 965 chipset. 2006 iMacs are socket M. Best CPU is T7600 2.33GHz. While upgrading to a T7200 is cheap, it's a lot of hassle for only a modest gain (probably about 25% overall). As mentioned, it still requires a hack and might break in an update.
 

stewartfan123

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Sep 17, 2008
14
0
T7800 is socket P and meant for the 965 chipset. 2006 iMacs are socket M. Best CPU is T7600 2.33GHz. While upgrading to a T7200 is cheap, it's a lot of hassle for only a modest gain (probably about 25% overall). As mentioned, it still requires a hack and might break in an update.
But it's really not that big of a hassle, as the screen is already missing, which means I really only have to take out the mobo and replace the CPU.
 

philipma1957

macrumors 603
Apr 13, 2010
6,273
192
Howell, New Jersey
As it evidently does not have a screen (per the OP), I would expect "as much as possible" won't be very much. ;)

So upgrading the CPU (to improve performance) and applying the hack (to get past the Model Number check) sounds the most prudent and cost-effective option for the OP.
thank you at least some else read what I read.
 

klover

macrumors 6502a
Jun 7, 2009
775
46
Sorry to jack this partially jack this thread but I, too, am wondering about the Lion upgrade and older iMacs.

I just bought a mint 20", Core 2 Duo (2.16) at a garage sale for $100 and was wondering if it will support Lion. Is the issue 64-bit compatibility?

Is the C2D compatible?
 

Paulywauly

macrumors 6502a
Sep 26, 2009
766
0
Durham, UK
Sorry to jack this partially jack this thread but I, too, am wondering about the Lion upgrade and older iMacs.

I just bought a mint 20", Core 2 Duo (2.16) at a garage sale for $100 and was wondering if it will support Lion. Is the issue 64-bit compatibility?

Is the C2D compatible?
In short, yes and yes! Sounds like a bargain!
 

Tucom

macrumors 65816
Jul 29, 2006
1,192
261
Woah, so the Lion installer checks the model number of ALL machines meaning if I were to upgrade an older Mac Mini Core 1 Duo to a C2D to obtain the the 64bit instruction set, Lion still wouldn't install?? :eek:


Seems like Apple really, REALLY, wants to rule out older, still realistically useuable and upgradeable Macs :rolleyes:

I'd hope for this reason Apple has they're reasons besides just monetary gain :rolleyes:
 

klover

macrumors 6502a
Jun 7, 2009
775
46
In short, yes and yes! Sounds like a bargain!
At first, I didn't know if it was a good deal since I had no idea what they are worth (or, more importantly, if it worked as well as she said it did).

It came with a box of stuff that I opened when I got home and found a couple wireless keyboards, sealed copies of software, etc. I've already sold some of them locally and made a couple hundred bucks.

I really like the screen, great contrast!



Sorry for the off-topic post.
 
Last edited by a moderator:

Hellhammer

Moderator emeritus
Dec 10, 2008
22,166
581
Finland
Woah, so the Lion installer checks the model number of ALL machines meaning if I were to upgrade an older Mac Mini Core 1 Duo to a C2D to obtain the the 64bit instruction set, Lion still wouldn't install?? :eek:


Seems like Apple really, REALLY, wants to rule out older, still realistically useuable and upgradeable Macs :rolleyes:

I'd hope for this reason Apple has they're reasons besides just monetary gain :rolleyes:
Yes, that is the case. Lion works in Core Duo Macs with the minor hack though.
 

Similar threads

  • jlabenberg
8
Replies
8
Views
264
  • e46pphkg
3
Replies
3
Views
238
  • gts250gamer101
0
Replies
0
Views
275
Register on MacRumors! This sidebar will go away, and you'll see fewer ads.