Worth waiting for the 7 plus?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by finy, Nov 6, 2015.

1. finy macrumors member

I'm new to Apple products (had an iPad for 6 months), but I heard it's always worth skipping a generation because they only add major updates every second model.

Should I buy a 6s, or should I wait until next September for the 7.

I'm basing this on the fact I'd like whatever I buy to still be good enough to last 2 years without the software becoming too slow.

Thank you

2. Matthew.H macrumors 6502

Matthew.H

The 6S and 6S Plus have 2GB of RAM. They won't slow down within 2 years.

3. Eileen89 macrumors 65816

You didn't say what phone you are using now. That said, with 2GB of RAM the current 6S and 6S Plus aren't going to slow down anytime soon.

4. HEK, Nov 6, 2015
    Last edited: Nov 6, 2015

HEK macrumors 68030

HEK

The 6s or 7 will be good for at least 2 to 3 years use. You are asking the perpetual question, buy now or wait till next release. At this point my opinion is you are so early in the 6s release you will get full benefit of getting 6s or 6s Plus now. If we were In June of 2016 I would probably wait for the 7. You could pick up the 6s now on Apple's 12 month program and get the 7 in November next year if you like the new release. That would give you chance to see how new 7 performs before deciding.

With that said, it really depends on what you are using now, how is your battery, is your current phone dated, slow, defective in some way. These are probably more important questions you need to answer for yourself. I think you will be happy with either choice. Your larger dilemma may be choosing between the regular and Plus size. So many have bounced back and forth on this issue.

I have been totally happy with the 6 Plus and my upgrade to the 6s Plus turned out to be a good one as the speed increase and 2 GB ram are phenomenal. Either way I think you will be happy trying out the iPhone. A lot of people have recently switched.