Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Which one?

• MacBook Pro 13”

Votes: 6 30.0%
  • iMac 5K

Votes: 14 70.0%

• Total voters

zigzagzug

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Aug 26, 2018
I was unstable between my 21.5 "iMac and my MacBook Pro. But now I have changed, 27” 5K iMac 3.4 GHz 1 TB Fusion Drive or 2.3 GHz 256 GB SSD 13” 2018 MacBook Pro with touchbar? I will use it for programming and basic indie games. I am a student. I have an iPad for mobility.

theluggage

macrumors 604
Jul 29, 2011
I was unstable between my 21.5 "iMac and my MacBook Pro. But now I have changed, 27” 5K iMac 3.4 GHz 1 TB Fusion Drive or 2.3 GHz 256 GB SSD 13” 2018 MacBook Pro with touchbar?

If you're sure you don't need a laptop, and go for the iMac, splurge another $100 on the iMac to get the 256GB SSD version ($300 for the 512GB would be even better, but you were going to settle for 256GB on the MBP...).

Just say no to "spinning rust".

Reactions: Yvan256

maflynn

macrumors Haswell
May 3, 2009
Wow, talk about two products at the opposite ends of the spectrum.

the MBP is the goto machine if you need mobility, does your iPad fit all of your computer needs on the go as a student? If so then get the iMac.

I also recommend avoiding the Fusion drive like the plague at this point. There's no reason to plunk down so much money on a computer only to have a slow spinning drive.

Reactions: Yvan256

scubachap

macrumors 6502
Aug 30, 2016
UK
If I was a student I'd probably go for the laptop (lectures, coffee shops etc ) as personally I would struggle with the iPad but YMMV.