Adding second drive to MBP 13" 2015

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by lostinforums, Apr 19, 2016.

  1. lostinforums macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2015
    #1
    Hi,

    Is it possible to add a second hard drive to a 13" macbook pro 2015 model?

    Either a SSD (not pcie) or a HDD would be good for me.

    Thanks
     
  2. JTToft macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Location:
    Aarhus, Denmark
    #2
    No. There's literally no room for it. Or any connectors for that matter.
     
  3. lostinforums thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2015
    #3
    Wow ok that's a deal breaker for me.

    So you can't have 2 hard drives in those MacBook pros?

    Crazy.
     
  4. JTToft macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Location:
    Aarhus, Denmark
    #4
    - No, you can't. You can have 1 super fast PCIe SSD up to 1 TB.
     
  5. zergslayer69 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2009
    #5
    None of the newer macbook pros, or any macbooks allow 2 drives. You'd have to go quite a few generations back and see if you can pull out the disc drive and put a hard drive inside. But yea, if you want 2 bays in a laptop, you best rule out all macbooks from this point. I doubt a refresh possibly coming out this year will change that.
     
  6. lostinforums thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2015
    #6
    Thanks guys. I guess it's the same for a 15" 2015 mbp?
     
  7. JTToft macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Location:
    Aarhus, Denmark
    #7
    - Correct. The newest machines in which you can have two drives are the Mid 2012 13" and 15" MBPs. No Retina models have the ability.
     
  8. lostinforums thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2015
    #8
    As always, you've been fast and brilliant guys.

    A pleasure.
     
  9. gngan macrumors 68000

    gngan

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2009
    Location:
    MacWorld
    #9
  10. duervo macrumors 68000

    duervo

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2011
    #10
    That's probably because that's not a 2015 model. That's a 2012 model that Apple still sells.

    OP explicitly stated "2015 model" which implies the Retina one.

    Not to mention, I would never recommend anybody buy that 2012 13" model. I could, but I wouldn't be able to do it with a straight face.
     
  11. gngan macrumors 68000

    gngan

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2009
    Location:
    MacWorld
    #11
    I would have guessed the same at the beginning but realizing that most people won't know if the MBP is 2012 model. In fact, most people will think it's 2015 or 2016 because Apple is still selling them. OP didn't say rMBP or used the short term MBP so I have a feeling that he is an average consumer which may think the MBP is an 2015 or 2016 model.
     
  12. JTToft macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Location:
    Aarhus, Denmark
    #12
    - He did use the shorthand "MBP" (as the first person in the thread even) and also seemed to know that the 2015 models use PCIe SSDs (or at least what it is). I'd say he knows what he's talking about so far as model years go.
     
  13. duervo macrumors 68000

    duervo

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2011
    #13

    Yeah, that's possible that they may think that the non retina model is actually a 2015. Hell, just yesterday, after that MacBook Air ram change on Apple's site, I saw that the landing page for the Air said, "Latest Intel Processors", and took that to mean they bumped them to Skylake too. Looking at the finer print later, I could see they were still using the older CPUs (certainly not the "latest.") So, Apple's product pages can be rather ambiguous, and most likely that's deliberate.
     

Share This Page