Apple Removed the Radeon M370X from new 2015 MBP!!!

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by nbritton, Nov 15, 2016.

  1. nbritton, Nov 15, 2016
    Last edited: Nov 15, 2016

    nbritton macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    #1
    I just got my new 2015 MBP 15 inch 2.8GHz 16GB 1TB direct from the factory in China and it's missing the AMD Radeon M370X !!!!!!!!!!

    Part No. Z0RF00004
    Family ID: Z0RF

    **** you Tim. **** you you ****ing *******.

    Screen Shot 2016-11-15 at 7.11.28 PM.png
     
  2. ricky1989 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2009
    #2
    I just realise TC is really good at pricing the products, squeezes out the last penny you have in your pocket. Putting a dGPU an old mac would be a thread for the TB mbp, which they knew it would be the case. Therefore removing it would bump people to pay-up for the fancy SG TB mbp.
     
  3. dk808 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 13, 2015
    #3
    Lmao. So glad I ordered the 2016 model
     
  4. justabirdy macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2016
  5. xmonkey macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2016
    Location:
    CA
  6. andrewbee macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2013
    #6
    Just to clarify: do you mean the assembly line or is this code for 'it fell off a truck'. Going by what you wrote, it could be a unit that failed QC.
     
  7. beansbaxter, Nov 15, 2016
    Last edited: Nov 15, 2016

    beansbaxter macrumors newbie

    beansbaxter

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2015
    Location:
    Seattle
    #7
  8. Qwe9203 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2014
    #8
    They all throttle. Thats why it was removed. They are tired of people complaining and swapping the defective units.
     
  9. justabirdy macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2016
    #9
    Since the 2016 MBPs were announced, the 2015s no longer ship with a dGPU.
     
  10. Balaamsdonkey macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2008
    Location:
    Washington
    #10
    Sounds like OP didn't pay close attention to the specs on the product page.
     
  11. nbritton, Nov 15, 2016
    Last edited by a moderator: Dec 3, 2016

    nbritton thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    #11
    ??? All 2.5 and 2.8 GHz models are suppose to have it.
    --- Post Merged, Nov 15, 2016 ---
    I paid meticulous attention to the specs. The 2015 model has always had the Radeon.
     
  12. therealseebs macrumors 65816

    therealseebs

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    #12
    Wait what?

    They changed the specs on the old models now?
     
  13. nbritton thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    #13
    Yes! Very underhanded!
     
  14. iKrivetko macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    #14
    No, you don't get the radeon for spec bumping the base model.
     
  15. nbritton thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    #15
    That's not what the Wikipedia page for the MacBook Pro says.
     
  16. justabirdy macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2016
    #16
    When the store went back up after the 2016s were announced, the m370x was no longer an option of ANY of the 15" 2015s. This was shown when spec'ing out your machine AND during final order review.
     
  17. kevinkyoo macrumors 6502a

    kevinkyoo

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2016
    #17
    Wait, can you show a screenshot of your receipt? It should show the list of specs. Don't want to comment on this thing further unless we see some proof that you did actually order the model with the M370X
     
  18. nbritton, Nov 15, 2016
    Last edited: Nov 15, 2016

    nbritton thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    #18
    And how would I have know that it was no longer an option (how would I know that it was even optional in the first place?) if I had never ordered one before this one? It was never officially disclosed that it was removed. All the specs I've read online said the 2.8 GHz 16GB 1TB model came by default with the M370X.
     
  19. therealseebs macrumors 65816

    therealseebs

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    #19
    Well this sucks. I'm one of the people who can't type on the new keyboard (RSI problems), and I was thinking to go to the 2015 model... But I actually need the GPU.

    So now what? I can't actually get the 2015 model either, because it got replaced with a stripped-down model?
     
  20. beansbaxter macrumors newbie

    beansbaxter

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2015
    Location:
    Seattle
    #20
    If you goto Apple's website today to purchase a brand new 2015 MBP, regardless of processor selection, your video card will be an Intel Iris Pro Graphics.

    If you goto Apple's website to purchase a refurbished 2015 MBP, certain processor selections have Intel Iris Pro Graphics and AMD Radeon R9 M370X for the video card.

    There is no way to purchase a brand new 2015 MBP from Apple with a Radeon video card.
     
  21. kevinkyoo macrumors 6502a

    kevinkyoo

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2016
    #21
    I can personally comment on this - that GPU was ****. And not even in terms of gaming. I use my laptop and PC for Premiere Pro, and this thing throttled like a *****. I even got the common "Apple's dGPU" syndrome, where the screen would flicker, and the computer would die.

    As someone who's had problems to the point where I had to bring in my 2012 MBP in 7 separate times before getting it replaced with a 2015 one, which I had to bring it in 5 more times, don't buy Macbook Pro's with dedicated cards. If you need it for your work, I really do suggest looking at Windows computers with the GTX 10XX cards.
     
  22. justabirdy macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2016
    #22
    I mean, if a certain component is not on the spec sheet during your order process... it's pretty self explanatory.
     
  23. iKrivetko macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    #23
    ****ing hell, what does wikipedia have to do with it? The apple store page explicitly states

    • 2.2GHz quad-core Intel Core i7 processor
    • Turbo Boost up to 3.4GHz
    • 16GB 1600MHz memory
    • 256GB PCIe-based SSD1
    • Intel Iris Pro Graphics
    • Two Thunderbolt 2 ports
    And if you spec it up it still says

    • 2.8GHz quad-core Intel Core i7 processor, Turbo Boost up to 4.0GHz
    • 16GB 1600MHz memory
    • 1TB PCIe-based SSD
    • Intel Iris Pro Graphics
    • Backlit Keyboard (English) & User's Guide
    • Two Thunderbolt 2 ports
    • Accessory Kit
     
  24. therealseebs macrumors 65816

    therealseebs

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    #24
    Yeah. Unfortunately, I really do want the discrete graphics... AND I want MacOS.

    Looks like this has ceased to be an option.
     
  25. kevinkyoo macrumors 6502a

    kevinkyoo

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2016
    #25
    If you need a desktop, Hackintosh. Not really sure what to say if you're looking for a laptop. I thought Windows was the devil, but after using it for almost a year with my built PC, I don't really mind it since I spend most of my times on that thing with the apps and their individual interfaces.
     

Share This Page