cMP {classicMacPro}{4,1 & 5,1} - Upgrade Guide Sticky Discussion

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by n8ballz, Jan 4, 2018.

Thread Status:
The first post in this thread is a WikiPost, and can be edited by anyone with the appropriate permissions.
  1. kschendel macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2014
    #76
    The Mac Pro CPU Compatibility thread front post will have any info on steppings etc. For the X5680/90 I don't see anything noted. The CPU model (X5680 etc) implies the "type" that you are concerned about, i.e. X5680 *is* a Dual Xeon.

    I don't know about the RAM, but I will say that unless you are running CPU / memory bandwidth limited applications, which are pretty rare IMO, you'll never see the difference. I'd say don't worry about it, boot it up with pram/smc resets after you put the CPU's in, and see what speed the memory is running at. If it's still 1066 you can upgrade the RAM at your leisure but I wouldn't make it a priority by any means.
     
  2. h9826790 macrumors G4

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #77
  3. ActionableMango macrumors G3

    ActionableMango

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    #78
    A genuine 5,1 came stock with 1333 RAM. When paired with a 1333 CPU it will run at 1333.

    The 4,1 came stock with 1066 RAM. So if you buy a non-genuine 5,1 (4,1 flashed to 5,1 and seller does not disclose this), then the stock RAM is 1066 and will stay that way even with a 1333 CPU.
     
  4. XNorth macrumors regular

    XNorth

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2018
    Location:
    United States
    #79
    Since the Mojave era is upon us, would be great if this sticky guide was updated with recommendations for Mac EFI and Metal supported cards.
     
  5. orph, Jul 19, 2018
    Last edited: Jul 19, 2018

    orph macrumors 65816

    orph

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2005
    Location:
    UK
    #80
    worth adding windows install instructions, it's a fairly common question both bootcamp and on to a second drive.
    ie bootcamp install on same drive use bootcamp
    for install on independent drive pull all hard drives and pci cards (just have one GPU installed) then boot to the windows installer usb/DVD, install windows drivers ect then shut down and reinstall all drives and pci cards.

    h9826790@ GPU power explorations, they helped me relax about my gtx 770

    native nvidia driver gpu's 620/650/660/670/680/770
    require nvidia driver 750ti/780/970/980/1070/1080

    think the 970/1070 work ok from memory & maybe the 650TI or 750TI had problems in osx at one point dont know if they where fixed

    was it only revision A GTX 780's (or was it the TI) work with native drivers rev B have problems, only way to check is to look at the chip ie remove heat sink and look at text on the GPU core

    from memory all cards that use native driver work with few problems but think the lower gtx9xx/10xx cards can be more buggy/don't work with the native or nvidia drivers

    got to say relay cool topic, good work :D

    edit
    ill come back later and clean that up if anyone thinks it's helpful

    Turn a "new" Sapphire RX580 PULSE into the "Mac Edition" card-
    https://forums.macrumors.com/thread...x580-pulse-into-the-mac-edition-card.2101909/

    good topic to add to the ATI section if it's still relevant info
     
  6. h9826790 macrumors G4

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #81
    The link to install Windows without boot screen is actually included, but the title was about how to switch between Windows and macOS. Now I corrected the title to make it clear.

    I am not sure if there is any good post about how to use Bootcamp to install Windows on a partition (share use the same drive with macOS). Most members doesn't do that, and I've heard that Bootcamp in High Sierra doesn't work well with cMP. If you have any good link, please post it here, I can put that into the sticky thread.

    For Nvidia cards' supportability already included in another sticky thread.

    AFAIK, that Rev A / B issue was fixed some time ago, now all 780 should be natively supported (assume running the latest macOS).

    That RX580 ROM mod thread is included already, the 3rd link under the AMD section. It's hidden inside the RX4xx / RX5xx section. May be a bit hard to fine, but since this mod is not required anymore the current OS, may be this is good enough.
     
  7. orph macrumors 65816

    orph

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2005
    Location:
    UK
    #82
    ah >.< im to slow then still relay cool sticky, already using the links in posts
     
  8. alphaod macrumors Core

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #83
    This is the first ever processor I delidded last night. I already sanded off all the solder, buffed the core to a shiny mirror, and installed this into my Mac Pro (along with the other processor that I delidded) and ran some tests. Seems to be working just fine.

    However I want to get a replacement online… or am I fine?

    The bottom capacity is a bit chipped.

    IMG_3227.JPG
     
  9. orph, Aug 1, 2018
    Last edited: Aug 1, 2018

    orph macrumors 65816

    orph

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2005
    Location:
    UK
    #84
  10. h9826790 macrumors G4

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #85
    Thanks for the suggestion, I actually re-read that whole thread again. May I know if your case is on a 3,1 or 4,1/5,1?
     
  11. orph macrumors 65816

    orph

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2005
    Location:
    UK
    #86
    on my 5.1 osx 12.6 gtx 770, looked at the post and noticed that i had no g-sync panel so ran the command line to install the driver and it worked (with SIP disabled).
    last time i had tried to install the nvidia driver SIP was enabled (using normal web installer).

    my 3.1 ruining osx 11 gtx660 also dose not have the g-sync panel so tonight ill check to see if it will update the same too.

    in the past iv had lots of crashes when using the nvidia drivers so at the mo ruining them to see if i still hit the same problems, so far from light tests i see no speed change but atmonitor is correctly displaying GPU use for the first time since osx10.9? i think (used to display 50% use of gpu when it was at 100% use, now displays 100% odd bug?)
     
  12. orph macrumors 65816

    orph

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2005
    Location:
    UK
    #87
    yep with SIP enabled i was not able to install the web driver on my 3.1 osx 10.11 GTX 660 (G-sync panel missing ect)
     
  13. bsbeamer macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2012
    #88
    Was Gatekeeper also disabled?

    With 10.13.6 and NVIDIA Web Drivers on authentic 5,1, the G-SYNC panel is available (but not active) with the GTX 1080 FE (not flashed) installed. Both SIP & Gatekeeper enabled.
     
  14. orph macrumors 65816

    orph

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2005
    Location:
    UK
    #89
    hum now im not sure, there may not be a G-sync panel on osx10.11 or it's not installing even with sip and gatekeeper disabled.
    Screen Shot 2018-09-06 at 21.01.39.jpg

    as a plus with hardware monitor and fake SMC installed i can see all the info from my GTX660 temp, fan speed and core clock
    Screen Shot 2018-09-06 at 21.04.03.png
     
  15. orph, Oct 6, 2018
    Last edited: Oct 6, 2018

    orph macrumors 65816

    orph

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2005
    Location:
    UK
    #90
  16. msh macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Location:
    SoCal
    #91
    I would like to try the firmware upgrade most immediately for Mac OS upgrade beyond El Cap, a little later for the hex CPU. I am a little wary but it seems to be tried and true by now. So give me a sanity check on what I might expect on my current system:

    '09 single 2.66 cpu
    firmware B07
    32 GB 1066 ram (2 x 16 GB)
    Boot drive on PCIe card with Samsung SSD
    Boot clones on two separate SSDs attached via sata in internal optical bay
    ZFS storage array in the 4 3.5" internal bays.
    Radeon HD5770 Mac version

    Can I install the firmware upgrade from the PCI boot drive under current El Cap?
    I assume after successful installation that I can boot from the other drives normally?
     
  17. h9826790 macrumors G4

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #92
    You can
     
  18. msh macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Location:
    SoCal
    #93
    Thanks H. Where are the detailed instructions? I have downloaded the installer from NETKAS but no instructions. I know i have to disable SIP and do a hard reboot holding down the power on button 'til it flashes, right? What else?
     
  19. h9826790 macrumors G4

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #94
    You better read though that post in Netkas. It's all there.

    e.g. Apart from SIP disabled. You still need to download the 5,1 firmware from Apple website, and mount it on the desktop, etc.

    And NO, you don't NEED a "hard reboot". Normal SHUTDOWN, then press + hold power button is good enough. All you should avoid is "warm RESTART".
     
  20. msh macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Location:
    SoCal
    #95
    Installed successfully first time under Yosemite. Thanks.

    I see that the app store doesn't automatically offer an upgrade to mac os Sierra, so I am downloading it manually from Apple. I assume I have to install Sierra first before proceeding to High Sierra, right?
     
  21. kohlson macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    #96
    You should be able to go straight to HS.
    This is a good time to see if you have lots of "helper" apps and rationalize accordingly. Check SysPrefs - Users & Groups and check the Login Items tab. Download Etrecheck after upgrading and see if there are any issues with apps or utilities that may conflict with HS.
     
  22. msh macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Location:
    SoCal
    #97
    I am wary of APFS in High Sierra. Does it really add anything? Less file corruption? Better performance?
     
  23. bsbeamer macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2012
    #98
    I ran into issues with APFS in High Sierra during one of the point updates (10.13.2 or 10.13.3) and basically went back to HFS+ via cloning to an HFS+ formatted drive with Carbon Copy Cloner.

    If you are not using an Apple issued SSD, there COULD be issues with APFS. Some people report no issues. Other report several issues. It was not consistent enough at that time to have a report of which SSDs (or which connections) cause issues vs. ones that do not.

    Personally still on 10.13.6 with HFS+ on authentic 5,1 and not using APFS on any of my SSDs. Currently have 7 installed via SATA & PCI adapter. All are Samsung EVO 840, 850 and 860's.
     
  24. msh, Oct 8, 2018
    Last edited: Oct 9, 2018

    msh macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Location:
    SoCal
    #99
    So there is an option to install without APFS?

    I have been using OpenZFS for data on the four internal HDDs for several years and it has worked very well. From what I understand APFS is not nearly as robust as ZFS. On the other hand, I can't boot from a ZFS pool so APFS might offer some protection for the boot drive. This is a real concern as I just had my boot drive corrupted by a sudden crash from a bad logic board. Will APFS prevent that?
     
  25. bax2003 macrumors 6502a

    bax2003

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2011
    Location:
    Serbia
    #100
    This is my current Mac Pro configuration:

    Mac Pro (8c) 4.1 -> 5.1
    CPU: 2x 3.46GHz
    RAM: 128GB DDR3 ECC (8x 16GB Micron MT36KSF2G72PZ-1G6P1KF)
    GPU: Sapphire Radeon RX 580 Pulse 8GB
    Boot Drive: 2x Samsung EVO 860 250GB in RAID0 (saving PCIe slots)


    PCIe Cards: (tested)
    Areca ARC-1882ix-12 (EFI Bootable)
    Chelsio N320E 10GbE connected via Direct Attach Twinax Cable to NAS
    Marvell 88SE9230 4-port AHCI controller (EFI Bootable)
    ASM1142 USB-C card
    Fresco Logic FL1100 4-port USB 3.0 card

    *Replaced plastic chipset rivets with screws
    About.png
    PCIe Cards.png
    20181008_165019.jpg

    20181008_202706.jpg
    20181010_111520.jpg
    20181009_215220.jpg
     
Thread Status:
The first post in this thread is a WikiPost, and can be edited by anyone with the appropriate permissions.

Share This Page