Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.
Ah, @ravenvii, what is our move - and/or action - sequence? And where do we each stand vis.a.vis Warhim and his colleague?

Let me attempt a medical check, - as we have some slight skill in medical intervention - and then, let Ser Bartholomeus do so.

To the goblin in fluent, mellifluous Goblindegook, a challenging, at times, a bloody awful language, to be frank, lacking the nuances to debate philosophical treatises and devoid of even the most basic and crudest attempt at romantic literature: "My honourable and esteemed friend, Chief-Elect, Warhim, it appears that your recollection of recent events is somewhat faulty, but that can be attributed to the stress and strain of battle.

Klarg did not die by your hand alone.

Indeed, I believe that the death of Klarg was brought about by a combined effort. We helped you kill Klarg, and while gratitude may be an emotion that is considered redundant in Goblin Culture, self interest may supply sufficient motivation for us to be able to resolve this matter together to our mutual benefit.

Now. You have seen for yourself that alliance with us can yield dividends. Handsome ones. Perhaps, even profitable ones.

We can work together, or, we can work separately, or - and I would regret this, if our partnership were to dissolve so precipitately - we can work against one another.

Know this: We need to heal, or attend to our friend, who took wounds while assisting you in trying to remove Klarg from office. From life, if truth be told.

We shall not leave until we have examined what lies in what has been described, perhaps in a picaresque way, with a brutal and crude eloquence, as 'loot'. Naturally, we will divide it with you.

But, to leave it without examining it, and - at the very least - retrieving what is rightfully ours - such as that which was looted from our party originally - is not something which we will countenance."

I then rapidly translate what I have just said for the benefit of the rest of our party.
 
Maybe, I needed even more tobacco. Can we take a collection for a more Claus friendly D20 :D ?

Can Portia (@moyany24) and others give it a try ?

No, not Portia, she has no medicinal skills at all..

The remaining three of us with some small knowledge of medicinal skills (albeit not extensive ones) are yourself, myself, and Count Bartholomeus. I recommend that we each try to revive Master Veit.
 
Can Portia (@moyany24) and others give it a try ?
No, not Portia, she has no medicinal skills at all.

The remaining three of us with some small knowledge of medicinal skills (albeit not extensive ones) are yourself, myself, and Count Bartholomeus. I recommend that we each try to revive Master Veit.

yes Portia can and should try as well.
the medicine skill is just a modifier for the check, so +1 means that to get the 10 necessary, we need to to roll a 9 or higher. If the modifier is 0, one needs to roll a 10 or more. minimal difference really.

i'll hold on on doing it since i am currently facing the goblin.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Scepticalscribe
No, not Portia, she has no medicinal skills at all..

The remaining three of us with some small knowledge of medicinal skills (albeit not extensive ones) are yourself, myself, and Count Bartholomeus. I recommend that we each try to revive Master Veit.

Even if Portia has no medical skill bonus, she would still stabilize Veit on a roll of a 10 or more on a D20.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Scepticalscribe
yes Portia can and should try as well.
the medicine skill is just a modifier for the check, so +1 means that to get the 10 necessary, we need to to roll a 9 or higher. If the modifier is 0, one needs to roll a 10 or more. minimal difference really.

i'll hold on on doing it since i am currently facing the goblin.

Fair enough. So, we take it in turn, then, to see what can be done for Master Veit Frostbeard, and swear binding oaths to leave his tobacco exactly where we found it, clutched in his hand in a fetching leather pouch…….

Now, let us next see how Master Chief-Elect Warhim responds - firstly - to your remarks and then - to my remarks, or attempts at Diplomacy in Goblindegook.
[doublepost=1459448826][/doublepost]
Even if Portia has no medical skill bonus, she would still stabilize Veit on a roll of a 10 or more on a D20.

Fair enough, and understood. Let us take every opportunity that comes our way to render medical assistance and come to the aid of Master Frostbeard.
 
ok, let's see first if your stabilization attempt worked, and see how Screech responds to your spiel in Gobblergook.
then portia should go for the stabilization, if necessary.

*to warhim
> Listen, 'king' Screech,
I am really really getting tired of your attitude.
You agreed to a deal.
One-sixth of whatever treasure we find is more than fair.
not to mention the gold i already gave you.

I strongly suggest you listen to the Wizard, -while you still have a chance- take your share and disappear.
You saw what her magic did to Klarg, and there is a lot more where that came from.
If i were you, i would be very careful not to piss her off.

Oh, and there is also the minor of issue of my Greataxe.
did you know it is sharp enough to shave with?
Yep. Only, since you do not have a beard, in your case it might just happen to take your head off instead.
Sometimes I am clumsy that way...​
 
Last edited:
  • Like
Reactions: Scepticalscribe
ok, let's see first if your stabilization attempt worked, and see how Screech responds to your spiel in Gobblergook.
then portia should go for the stabilization, if necessary.

*to warhim
> Listen, 'king' Screech,
I am really really getting tired of your attitude.
You agreed to a deal.
One-sixth of whatever treasure we find is more than fair.
not to mention the gold i already gave you.

I strongly suggest you listen to the Wizard, -while you still have a chance- take your share and disappear.
You saw what her magic did to Klarg, and there is a lot more where that came from.
If i were you, i would be very careful not to don't piss her off.

Oh, and there is also the minor of issue of my Greataxe.
did you know it is sharp enough to shave with?
Yep. Only, since you do not have a beard, in your case it might just happen to take your head off instead.
Sometimes I am clumsy that way...​

Hm, the diplomatic equivalent of - er - 'good wizard bad human', perhaps? Ah, excellent. Nothing wrong with that, in the appropriate setting. Which is here. And now.

Well, sometimes, it must be said, a two-pronged approach is what works best in these circumstances….
 
And, I will repeat my request to @ravenvii to let us know where we each stand re Warhim and the other goblin (and indeed, to Veit).

Low voiced aside: Might we ensure that Master Veit is removed to a place where he is well out of reach of our bloodthirsty former allies just in case things become a little heated?

Let us see how Chief-Elect Warhim responds to Ser Bartholomeus's remarks, and to mine.
 
ok, let's see first if your stabilization attempt worked, and see how Screech responds to your spiel in Gobblergook.
then portia should go for the stabilization, if necessary.

*to warhim
> Listen, 'king' Screech,
I am really really getting tired of your attitude.
You agreed to a deal.
One-sixth of whatever treasure we find is more than fair.
not to mention the gold i already gave you.

I strongly suggest you listen to the Wizard, -while you still have a chance- take your share and disappear.
You saw what her magic did to Klarg, and there is a lot more where that came from.
If i were you, i would be very careful not to piss her off.

Oh, and there is also the minor of issue of my Greataxe.
did you know it is sharp enough to shave with?
Yep. Only, since you do not have a beard, in your case it might just happen to take your head off instead.
Sometimes I am clumsy that way...​

*** CHECK ***
Syllin has +1, so:

Syllin: 4

nope.

Intimidation check! The goblin is delusional with over-confidence so intimidation may be somewhat difficult. AC 15. You have +4, so:

Bartholomeus: 10
*** CHECK ***

"Ha! Wizard use all strength! Useless now! Can't even heal!" the self-declared goblin king cried, laughing. His compatriot somewhat reluctantly joined in. Suddenly, the goblin raises his scimitar. "Leave or die!"

*** INITIATIVE ***

Bartholomeus: 6 - 1 = 5
Veit: 5 - 1 = 4
Portia: 18 + 3 = 21
Syllin: 4 + 2 = 6
Claus: 20 + 3 = 23
Warhim: 18
goblin: 13

So the turn order is: Claus, Portia, Warhim, goblin, Syllin, Bartholomeus and Veit.
*** INITIATIVE ***

>>> @Plutonius what do you do?
 
  • Like
Reactions: Scepticalscribe
Murmurs to self: My wizard studies - alas - neglected to include a lengthy section on medicine, which could have been quite useful, though I doubt such thoughts would have crossed my mind at the time I was immersed in my studies.

I assume from our DM's - @ravenvii - text that Warhim has decided to completely ignore what both Bartholomeus (Don't panic) and I have addressed to the goblin?

Aloud: It appears that our recent comrade-in-arms has come to the conclusion that our recent alliance or partnership has dissolved. Equally, it appears that gratitude has no place in his world, - not least when naked greed contends with it.
 
Murmurs to self: My wizard studies - alas - neglected to include a lengthy section on medicine, which could have been quite useful, though I doubt such thoughts would have crossed my mind at the time I was immersed in my studies.

I assume from our DM's - @ravenvii - text that Warhim has decided to completely ignore what both Bartholomeus (Don't panic) and I have addressed to the goblin?

Aloud: It appears that our recent comrade-in-arms has come to the conclusion that our recent alliance or partnership has dissolved. Equally, it appears that gratitude has no place in his world, - not least when naked greed contends with it.
>>> no he didn't -- hence the intimidation check. He just wasn't intimidated.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Scepticalscribe
>>> no he didn't -- hence the intimidation check. He just wasn't intimidated.

Well, it seems that I was labouring under the delusion that we were inviting him to partake in a meaningful discussion about our mutual future, but it appears that he viewed it through the ruby red misted lens of his culture and prior life experience as an inept attempt at intimidation.

I think - despite my fluency in their ghastly tongue - you can put this down to a bit of a culture clash.
 
*** CHECK ***
Syllin has +1, so:

Syllin: 4

nope.

Intimidation check! The goblin is delusional with over-confidence so intimidation may be somewhat difficult. AC 15. You have +4, so:

Bartholomeus: 10
*** CHECK ***

"Ha! Wizard use all strength! Useless now! Can't even heal!" the self-declared goblin king cried, laughing. His compatriot somewhat reluctantly joined in. Suddenly, the goblin raises his scimitar. "Leave or die!"

*** INITIATIVE ***

Bartholomeus: 6 - 1 = 5
Veit: 5 - 1 = 4
Portia: 18 + 3 = 21
Syllin: 4 + 2 = 6
Claus: 20 + 3 = 23
Warhim: 18
goblin: 13

So the turn order is: Claus, Portia, Warhim, goblin, Syllin, Bartholomeus and Veit.
*** INITIATIVE ***

>>> @Plutonius what do you do?
@ravenvii, shouldn't the hostile act of raising the scimitar trigger my reaction as per post #1587?

to clarifiy the relative positions (ravenvii, please correct if necessary)

warhim is in the center on top of the body of Klarg, waiving the scimitar (but without the shield, since he didn't don it)
I am in his face with the Greataxe (and if the reaction triggered, I am attacking him). in any case i am within 5 ft of him.
Veit is unconscious behind me
Syllin and Claus are behind me, next to Veit, having just attempted at stabilizing Veit
Portia is at the entrance, bow at the ready
the other goblin is ate the left end of the cave, armed with his bow.

since i am more or less engaged to Warhim, it would be good if someone takes care of the other goblin asap.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Scepticalscribe
@ravenvii, shouldn't the hostile act of raising the scimitar trigger my reaction as per post #1587?

to clarifiy the relative positions (ravenvii, please correct if necessary)

warhim is in the center on top of the body of Klarg, waiving the scimitar (but without the shield, since he didn't don it)
I am in his face with the Greataxe (and if the reaction triggered, I am attacking him). in any case i am within 5 ft of him.
Veit is unconscious behind me
Syllin and Claus are behind me, next to Veit, having just attempted at stabilizing Veit
Portia is at the entrance, bow at the ready
the other goblin is ate the left end of the cave, armed with his bow.

since i am more or less engaged to Warhim, it would be good if someone takes care of the other goblin asap.

@Don't panic, if you are engaged with Warhim, I would most certainly attack the other goblin with my sword. The last @ravenvii post indicated that you had terrible initiative ?
[doublepost=1459465816][/doublepost]
*to warhim
> Listen, 'king' Screech,
I am really really getting tired of your attitude.
You agreed to a deal.
One-sixth of whatever treasure we find is more than fair.
not to mention the gold i already gave you.
 
Last edited:
i rolled terrible initiative, but i was already within arm reach (between him and veit, veit was close to klarg, Warhim climbed klarg's corpse), so as soon as the talking part ended and the combat phase started, i would become immediately engaged, meaning that if i move away without disengaging first, i give up an attack of opportunity (same for him)

also, if my ready action was in fact triggered by his action, i would get a swing at him first
 
  • Like
Reactions: Scepticalscribe
>>> do reaction actions execute even if you're not in battle (i.e. no initiative was rolled yet)? I didn't think so, so I ignored that. Correct me if I'm wrong, though.

mmh. well, that is how I have been playing so far, but i just reread the rule and while i will still play like this, i can see it people applying it only during combat, as there is some overlap with surprise

in our gaming group we use it mostly as an sort of 'anticipated reaction':
if X happens, i do Y (reaction).
this is out of the regular turn sequence and it occurs immediately. it can be done during Role playing (ie non-combat) or combat sections. if there is initiative once the trigger goes off, it overrides initiative, as it occurs immediately after the trigger (with the provision that for that round, the reaction part of the turn is used up, for example, on that same round you cannot use opportunity attacks or any other reactions).
a reaction is different from an action, so the normal action can be used on the proper moment of the turn. however, once the combat has begun, a ready action uses up the regular action.
the major limit to overpower it is that the trigger has to be very specific.

the Ready Action is described in the Combat section (p72 of basic PHB), but so is Search, or Hide and other actions you can do when out of combat, so that doesn't mean much.
the rule says
Ready
"Sometimes you want to get the jump on a foe or wait for a particular circumstance before you act. To do so, you can take the Ready action on your turn, which lets you act using your reaction before the start of your next turn.

First, you decide what perceivable circumstance will trigger your reaction. Then, you choose the action you will take in response to that trigger, or you choose to move up to your speed in response to it. Examples include “If the cultist steps on the trapdoor, I’ll pull the lever that opens it,” and “If the goblin steps next to me, I move away.”

When the trigger occurs, you can either take your reaction right after the trigger finishes or ignore the trigger.
Remember that you can take only one reaction per round."

Reactions
Certain special abilities, spells, and situations allow you to take a special action called a reaction. A reaction is an instant response to a trigger of some kind and can occur on your turn or on someone else’s. The opportunity attack, described later in this chapter, is the most common type of reaction. You can take only one reaction per round.
When you take a reaction, you can’t take another one until the start of your next turn. If the reaction interrupts another creature’s turn, that creature can continue its turn right after the reaction.

i tried to look on line for clarifications and it seems that it is a gray area.

TL;DR: can work either way, up to you.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Scepticalscribe
mmh. well, that is how I have been playing so far, but i just reread the rule and while i will still play like this, i can see it people applying it only during combat, as there is some overlap with surprise.

I'm new to D&D 5e but I'm in agreement with @ravenvii for the most part although I can see both sides.

If the Count is engaged with the goblin leader, attack the other goblin using my sword. Otherwise, attack the goblin leader with my sword.

If I miss, Portia (@Moyank24) should be able to sneak attack the same goblin with her bow.
 
I'm new to D&D 5e but I'm in agreement with @ravenvii for the most part although I can see both sides.

If the Count is engaged with the goblin leader, attack the other goblin using my sword. Otherwise, attack the goblin leader with my sword.

If I miss, Portia (@Moyank24) should be able to sneak attack the same goblin with her bow.

yes, i agree it can be done either way.
however, even with my ready-action not valid, I am in any case just next to Warhim, so we are technically engaged in battle with each other, even if i didn't strike him, because we are hostiles and within reach.

if you were to attack the other goblin, Portia would be able to sneak attack either, because they would be both within 5 feet of an ally of her
 
  • Like
Reactions: Scepticalscribe
Register on MacRumors! This sidebar will go away, and you'll see fewer ads.