eSIM + Dual SIM Q&A

Discussion in 'iOS 12' started by DeanLubaki, Oct 27, 2018.

Tags:
Thread Status:
The first post in this thread is a WikiPost, and can be edited by anyone with the appropriate permissions.
  1. idgsd macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2018
    Location:
    California
    #601

    Before

    In the past, at the same location, I used two iPhones. One with the AT&T sim and one with the local sim. The one with the AT&T sim used to be off and in the drawer most of the time. I would turn it on every so often to check on missed calls, voicemails, texts, etc. Data roaming was always off (so no roaming charges, and if I needed to reply or access my voicemail I would use Skype). This mode of operation worked well for me and I am trying to emulate it with the dual sim.
     
  2. PLin macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2003
    #602
    Juggling Visual Voicemail in a dual SIM setup is just too tricky, especially if you plan to turn off one of your SIMs but still want access to voicemails. I just keep conditional call forwarding to Google Voice activated all the time, so I always have access to new voicemails even if the SIM is turned off or not even in the phone. I haven’t used Visual Voicemail in years.
     
  3. idgsd macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2018
    Location:
    California
    #603
    I use Google Voice forwarding for my landline. Works really well, as I receive all my voicemails as email attachments. May start doing it for my mobile when abroad.
     
  4. George Knighton macrumors 65816

    George Knighton

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    #604
    I'm using YouMail with my setup. Works fine. :)
     
  5. jpiszcz macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    #605
    Instant Hotspot is now working with the latest release for me now with ATT.
     
  6. ManuCH macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Location:
    Switzerland
    #606
    12.1.3 or 12.2 Beta 1?
     
  7. jessebkr87 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2016
    #607
    Wondering the same.
     
  8. Banglazed macrumors 68020

    Banglazed

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2017
    Location:
    Cupertino, CA
    #608
    Both. it is working better on 12.2 beta 1
     
  9. jpiszcz, Jan 25, 2019
    Last edited: Jan 25, 2019

    jpiszcz macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    #609
    12.1.3

    [​IMG]

    Settings on the phone:

    [​IMG]
     
  10. ManuCH macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Location:
    Switzerland
    #610
    Is the physical SIM on your iPhone on or off? Do you see 1 or 2 sets of signal bars on the top right?
     
  11. jpiszcz macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    #611

    I am using an eSIM only, no physical SIM card is in the slot. I had 1 bar on the phone at the time of the test— so just one set of bars.
     
  12. pacpac2017 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2017
    #612
    On my iPhone XS I have an eSIM from EE in the UK and a physical SIM from SKY in the UK. E-mails (three mail-accounts on Exchange 2016) are not pushed immediately when I have mobile data active through the eSIM, the phone is locked and on battery. When using mobile data on the physical SIM and Wi-Fi, e-mails are pushed through just fine. Any ideas for why not pushed when only using the eSIM?
     
  13. hhzhao macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2018
    Location:
    Northeast Ohio
    #613
    Instant Hot Spot works fine with my XS (12.1.3).
     
  14. arforbes macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2018
    #614
    Anyone else having this bug? My primary data/phone line is on eSIM TMobile and I have a secondary physical SIM Xfinity Mobile. I keep having an issue when I disable the Xfinity line (I never actually need it enabled unless I go to the mountains) I get a bug that tells me to enable iMessage when quick replying. The fix to the bug is either
    1) removing the physical Sim tray and reinserting
    2) enabling the second line and selecting the TMobile as the primary iMessage and FaceTime number and leaving the second line on

    If I leave the second line (Xfinity mobile physical Sim) on for voice/and sms only and keep LTE disabled, will it waste more battery than if I kept it switched off?

    Is there a way to prevent the bug telling me to enable iMessage on the TMobile primary eSIM? It happens at random times after I implement the fixes listed above. Going through the steps just kind of sucks.
     
  15. George Knighton macrumors 65816

    George Knighton

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    #615
    I have the same T-Mobile eSIM / XFinity Mobil SIM setup.

    I experience no deleterious effects leaving the SIM turned on while it is assigned as Secondary for both voice and data.

    Don’t go through all that trouble. It should be fine leaving it on.
     
  16. batman75 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2010
    #616
    When I travel I use my TMobile business line for all calls and data because it has unlimited global roaming included.

    However I like to have my AT&T line active because that way I can receive texts, etc.

    The problem is if I have it active I get charged for roaming on the AT&T line. If I turn the line off then I can use it over WiFi so I lose the line completely.

    Is there a way to have the line on but for it to not use the radio (e.g like in airplane mode). Basically I want to airplane mode the AT&T line (active but only via WIFI) while having the TMObile line fully on with roaming.
     
  17. br403 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2019
    Location:
    Munich, Germany
    #617
    Hi batman, you can only have one data line active, when your T-Mobile line is active for data, you can’t use the AT&T line for data, so no roaming const should apply for data.
     
  18. George Knighton macrumors 65816

    George Knighton

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    #618
    To what the poster above said, I will add to just make sure that the AT&T line does not have data set to voice+data so that you do not cause a VOLTE/HD Voice call on accident.

    As long as you have a signal on both cellular plans, you will not use data on AT&T so long as you do not have data turned on for voice in that plan.

    Of course your “texts” on AT&T will be SMS, not iMessages.

    Perhaps in a future version of iOS we will have the option completely to turn off data for one plan.
     
  19. PLin macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2003
    #619
    There’s no way to do this from the iPhone settings, but before my last trip out of the country, I called the AT&T International Dept. and had them disable international roaming on my line. That way, you can leave the line turned on, but it just shows No Service as soon as you leave the US, and Wi-Fi Calling still works! And since the SIM is still on, iMessages to your AT&T number still work. You would have to be on a Wi-Fi network and be on Wi-Fi calling for SMS to your AT&T number to arrive though.
     
  20. batman75, Feb 2, 2019
    Last edited: Feb 2, 2019

    batman75 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2010
    #620
    That’s brilliant. Exactly what I was looking for. Thanks a lot.

    Update - took an hour on the phone with AT&T. They don’t get it. They thought I want to remove daypass. Spoke to 5 agents before I found one who understood it.
     
  21. michael31986 macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    #621
    So is t mobile ever officially. Releasing this?
     
  22. racostaf macrumors member

    racostaf

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2015
    Location:
    Colombia
    #622
    I do that when I go to USA, but I don't need call to my carrier, because I check in the app than the roaming is disabled ... in the USA I receive SMS from my country for free and, when I connect to WiFi, I get calls and I can do it without cost either.
     
  23. Boardiesboi macrumors 65816

    Boardiesboi

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2013
    Location:
    Sydney Australia
    #623
    I have a XS Max from Australia and I’m heading to HK in June.

    Has anyone successfully activated the 3HK eSIM overseas (ie. not in HK) and used it whilst in HK?
     
Thread Status:
The first post in this thread is a WikiPost, and can be edited by anyone with the appropriate permissions.

Share This Page