I damaged my MacBook's headphone jack!

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by artkngs, Aug 10, 2016.

  1. artkngs macrumors newbie

    artkngs

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2016
    #1
    Hey guys,

    Yesterday I was trying to fix my Logitech's speaker system while it was connected to my MBPr 15". I know, I'm an idiot. I was playing with the system's cables to find out which was the stereo audio ones and suddenly the right audio channel of the Macbook's headphone jack stopped working, it now has only a noise that keeps changing intensity. The left channel still works fine.

    As screwing up my laptop wasn't enough, I tried to test the speakers with my iPhone (thinking the problem was in the speaker's cables) and boom, same thing happened.

    Now I have two devices with only one-channel audio output. I'm feeling the dumbest person in this world to have accomplished that.

    Anyway, I wonder if replacing the mac's headphone jack and the iPhone's dock would solve this issue, or if the logic board might have been damaged as well (my worst nightmare). Help me, please!
     
  2. Patcell macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2016
    Location:
    Bergen County, NJ
    #2
    Have you tried other speakers/ headphones on your Mac or iPhone? Are you certain it's not the speakers after all?
     
  3. artkngs thread starter macrumors newbie

    artkngs

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2016
    #3
    Yes, I've tried with two different headphone sets and the same thing happens. I'm sure the problem is in the Mac and iPhone :(
     
  4. keysofanxiety macrumors 604

    keysofanxiety

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2011
    #4
    Try resetting PRAM/SMC?
     
  5. Patcell macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2016
    Location:
    Bergen County, NJ
    #5
  6. artkngs thread starter macrumors newbie

    artkngs

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2016
    #6
    I've already tried it too, though I haven't tried resetting PRAM yet. I'll give it a try right now.
    --- Post Merged, Aug 10, 2016 ---
    Yep, just as I thought. Nothing changed after resetting the PRAM and SMC. Do you think the problem may be in the headphone jack itself or something in the logic board?
     
  7. xb2003 macrumors 6502

    xb2003

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2016
    Location:
    MO
    #7
    Thats the symptom of dead short on an amplifier, which is what it sounds like you did. I'm surprised there isn't a protection circuit, though. The odds of both your headphone jacks on your Mac and iPhone going bad like that is pretty slim, so I'm leaning more towards logic board.

    You did try different cables, and not just different speakers, right?
     
  8. artkngs thread starter macrumors newbie

    artkngs

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2016
    #8
    Yes, I tried different headphones...
    --- Post Merged, Aug 10, 2016 ---
    If the problem is in the mac's logic board, is there a way to fix it without replacing the whole thing? Also, I already bought an iPhone dock replacement (the bottom part which contains the lightining port, headphone jack, speakers etc.) Do you think that replacing that part would solve the problem? Thank you
     
  9. xb2003 macrumors 6502

    xb2003

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2016
    Location:
    MO
    #9
    My guess, based on the fact that even the ram is soldered on the logic board, is that you are going to have to get a new logic board. But I would make a Genius Bar appointment and see what they say.
     
  10. rshrugged macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2015
    #10
    Sorry to mention the obvious but you didn't mention it in the OP -- you did check in sound preferences to see if the balance was moved, right?

    I don't know anything about this specific product but an associate told be their jack had blown and they got joy by using an USB adapter. Something similar to this -- https://www.amazon.com/Sabrent-Alum...nt+aluminum+usb+external+stereo+sound+adapter

    There must be others around.
     
  11. xb2003 macrumors 6502

    xb2003

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2016
    Location:
    MO
    #11
    That's uh... A really good point. Haha good thinking.
     
  12. Tenashus1 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2011
    #12
    Get an Audioquest Dragonfly black or red, and go through your USB port. Much better sound choice anyway. I got mine and love it.
     
  13. artkngs thread starter macrumors newbie

    artkngs

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2016
    #13
    Yep, I've checked the sound balance haha. I'm currently using a cheap USB adapter temporarily but the sound isn't so good. I'll try to replace the headphone jack on the mac, and hopefully it'll fix the problem, if not, I'll stick with an USB one, can't afford a logic board replacement right now.
     
  14. jerryk macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2011
    Location:
    SF Bay Area
    #14
    Get a USB DAC. The sound will be much better than the sound from your Mac's audio jack every will be.
     
  15. artkngs thread starter macrumors newbie

    artkngs

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2016
    #15
    I found this Behringer UCA-202, it's more affordable and seems to have good quality audio. Would you recommend it?
     
  16. rshrugged macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2015
    #16
    Thanks for posting your research. I might be able to use this in the future. Found a lengthy review of it which includes analysis and measurements here -- http://nwavguy.blogspot.com/2011/02/behringer-uca202-review.html
     
  17. MacInTO macrumors 65816

    MacInTO

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2005
    Location:
    Canada, eh!
    #17
    Have you tried a digital (optical) cable in the headphone jack? That might still work.
     
  18. artkngs thread starter macrumors newbie

    artkngs

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2016
    #18
    That probably still works indeed. But I haven't tried it yet since I don't have any device with optical input. I wonder if there is any adapter for 3.5mm jack out there...
     
  19. MacInTO, Aug 12, 2016
    Last edited: Aug 12, 2016

    MacInTO macrumors 65816

    MacInTO

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2005
    Location:
    Canada, eh!
    #19
    There definitely is but they are all powered so you'd have a second wire to a power adapter. Still doesn't take up a USB port. Maybe Airplay or bluetooth is the way to go! :)

    ps. I've been thinking maybe you could put a toothpick in the port to see if it glows red (means optical works). But seeing your luck so far, maybe not. :p
     

Share This Page