iBook G4 Stuck on Loading Bar

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by PowerMac G5, Sep 19, 2016.

  1. PowerMac G5 macrumors newbie

    PowerMac G5

    Joined:
    May 30, 2016
    Location:
    Australia
    #1
    Recently purchased an iBook G4, everything was working, however was really bugged by how dirty the keyboard was. So I took apart the iBook, took out the keyboard, airport card and ram. Cleaned the keyboard well, put everything back together and turned it on. It chimed, the grey apple screen came up then went to the loading bar (see photo) but the bar didn't move, and no words are under the bar show up. The mouse still moves around and if I press the power button the beach ball shows up but doesn't turn off.

    Photo: http://origin.arstechnica.com/journals/apple.media/thumb/200/200/starting_macosx.jpg

    Tried resetting the Pram, same thing.
    Tried fsck, same thing.

    Any suggestions?
     
  2. Gamer9430 macrumors 68020

    Gamer9430

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2014
    Location:
    Central New Jersey, USA
    #2
    I'd try getting a new RAM stick for it, or reseating it. Also, try taking out the stick and see if it boots since the iBook has built in RAM as well
     
  3. eyoungren macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #3
    Boot up in Verbose Mode and report what the last few messages say before it hangs.

    Verbose Mode - turn Mac off. Turn back on. Immediately hold down CMD+V once the Mac chimes.

    May want to get a pic of the screen when it hangs.
     
  4. AmazingHenry macrumors 65816

    AmazingHenry

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2015
    Location:
    Central Michigan
    #4
    Try taking out the AirPort card and RAM and then putting them back in. If is still doesn't boot, try removing the RAM and AirPort card and then try to boot. Let us know what happens.
     
  5. PowerMac G5 thread starter macrumors newbie

    PowerMac G5

    Joined:
    May 30, 2016
    Location:
    Australia
    #5
    Reseated the ram, still stuck
    Took the ram out and powered on, same thing

    Took a photo of what it said before it went to blue.

    (Other pic shows where it is getting stuck)
     

    Attached Files:

  6. eyoungren macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #6
    It's hanging trying to launch the login window (the dialogue box where you put in your name and password).

    Let's eliminate the keyboard if it's not that.

    Do you have a spare external USB (preferably Apple) keyboard lying around?

    Try booting again with it and a USB mouse plugged in.

    If that does not work then let's try a Safe Boot. Hold down SHIFT until you see the login window. If that does not work we'll have to see we can for an FSCK on the drive. Right now the log says it's skipping that.
     
  7. PowerMac G5 thread starter macrumors newbie

    PowerMac G5

    Joined:
    May 30, 2016
    Location:
    Australia
    #7
    Plugged in both an Apple Mouse and Apple Keyboard, Still stuck

    Held shift, took a really long time to load but still stuck on the same load screen

    Ran an fsck and said that everything was okay, did a reboot and still stuck

    Starting to think that I might just need to reinstall OS X
     
  8. eyoungren macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #8
    Hmmm…

    Before that try booting from an install disk and seeing if you can repair the drive.

    I would, if you can find a copy of DiskWarrior, also try that. DW can fix a lot of things Disk Utility doesn't even see.

    EDIT: Last thought. When you opened the iBook up and cleaned things you didn't damage the HD cable at all did you?

    I have a friend who gave me an iBook G4 and it keep freezing every time I tried to install Leopard. Turns out the actual socket for the HD connecter had partially been torn from the logicboard. Once disk activity really started the unit froze.
     
  9. PowerMac G5 thread starter macrumors newbie

    PowerMac G5

    Joined:
    May 30, 2016
    Location:
    Australia
    #9
    I put in a restoration disk, open disk utility, first aid, then clicked repair disk, it repaired 1 HFS Volume however 1 volume could not be repaired, this was an "invalid leaf record count". Could this be causing it?
    --- Post Merged, Sep 19, 2016 ---
    After everything else didn't work I ran through and did fsck -fy 3 or 4 times, rebooted and it worked, Thanks for all your help.
     

Share This Page