iPad 2 Screen Likely to Have 2048x1536 resolution

Discussion in 'MacRumors.com News Discussion' started by MacRumors, Jan 15, 2011.

  1. WiiDSmoker macrumors 65816

    WiiDSmoker

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Location:
    Hermitage, TN
    #51
    No that's incorrect. There are displays that can do 4k [4096 x 2304]
     
  2. Full of Win macrumors 68030

    Full of Win

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2007
    Location:
    Ask Apple
    #52
    That has more to do with transmission bandwidth, the the GPU.
     
  3. John Dillinger macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2007
    #53
    Simply because they've got more than 1080p on a 9.7inch screen. Really???
     
  4. Apple... macrumors 68020

    Apple...

    Joined:
    May 6, 2010
    Location:
    The United States
    #54
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPod; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_2_1 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8C148 Safari/6533.18.5)

    Interesting. Definitely something to think about.
     
  5. apttap macrumors member

    apttap

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010
    #55
    I have no idea. The specs for the rumored GPU are 1 billion pixels per second.

    2048 X 1536 = 3,145,728 pixels per frame X 60 fps = 188,743,680 pixels per second...seems like it's within bounds...of course I have no idea.

    **calculated on my iPhone
     
  6. jav6454 macrumors P6

    jav6454

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #56
    You need a multi-core GPU in order to pump enough information to the chip through the proper channels... otherwise there will be a bottleneck somewhere.

    Many cases that bottleneck is the GPU memory. Either having an extra core or expanding the bus is the solution and I don't see any information that the 543 has a higher bus.
     
  7. appleguy123 macrumors 604

    appleguy123

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    Location:
    15 minutes in the future
    #57
    By first do you mean
    This one [​IMG] or [​IMG] This one?
     
  8. Xero910 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2003
    #58
    Developers of Android, Mac, PC all have dealt with varying resolutions. We live in a pampered environment with Apple. Changing the resolution won't lead to fragmentation. It'll just require developers to work a little harder and not expect a specific resolution.

    Having said that, if that were the case you'd think Apple would start warning developers earlier to update their apps. The fact they've been so quiet may add more fuel to it being this 2048x res.
     
  9. Apple... macrumors 68020

    Apple...

    Joined:
    May 6, 2010
    Location:
    The United States
    #59
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPod; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_2_1 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8C148 Safari/6533.18.5)

    In the display spec area, yes.
     
  10. jav6454 macrumors P6

    jav6454

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #60
    The first one is so hot. I hope Apple brings this design back...
     
  11. appleguy123 macrumors 604

    appleguy123

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    Location:
    15 minutes in the future
    #61
    I agree. It was the iPhone's best design. The like the iPhone 4's design almost as much. :)
     
  12. iPlaid macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
  13. TuffLuffJimmy macrumors G3

    TuffLuffJimmy

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #63
    You do realize that basically all GPUs are multicore. They have hundreds of little processing cores. That's what separates them from CPUs.
    Channels?
    yes, that vague "somewhere".

    Which has nothing to do with how many cores the GPU has
    :confused:
    If you don't know what you're talking about keep your keyboard silent.
     
  14. ajhaji macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2006
    #64
    +1

    The iPad 2 probably will have a higher resolution screen--but 2048x1536 is just dreaming. The higher-resolution images in the iBooks app are probably to future-proof the app when Apple does move to higher-resolution screens (iBooks on Apple TV, anyone?).
     
  15. jav6454 macrumors P6

    jav6454

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #65
    Desktop and laptop GPUs, not mobile phone ones as of yet. Exclude Tegra please...
     
  16. Full of Win macrumors 68030

    Full of Win

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2007
    Location:
    Ask Apple
    #66
    Sure it would lead to fragmentation, in that apps would have to run in a picture frame format or be scaled up using interpolation. Either of these are ugly and thus will lead to fragmentation.

    Sure, dev's can push updates. However, iOS is different than other OS's in its closed nature. The dev's would have to first get Apple approval, and given the number of iPad apps out there, this is no easy task. The best solution for users and Apple is to go the 4X pixel route.
     
  17. Xero910 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2003
    #67
    ^ Yea I agree its the best route as far as developers go, but its quite the pricey route for Apple to take just for our benefit. I don't think we'll live in a world where Apple keeps the resolution the same between their devices. Sooner or later we will have to deal with varying resolutions. More than the iPhone/iPad right now. As a web designer too I deal with this regularly. Apps will have to learn to adjust eventually. Besides fragmentation or not, it won't last long. Apple developers and users actively upgrade their stuff unlike Android.

    That I would like. Allow easy transfer of iPad apps to AppleTV apps.
     
  18. thejadedmonkey macrumors 604

    thejadedmonkey

    Joined:
    May 28, 2005
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    #68
    Not true. Windows has supported resolution independence since 3.1 I think it was, but I know for sure it existed in Windows 98... 13 years ago. It's just OS X that has never supported it. It was supposed to get resolution independence for Tiger (10.4) but it never happened, and seemingly Apple forgot about it.
    That's only because TV sets don't go above 1080p. The 360 and PS3 both have the capacity to pump out much higher resolutions via HDMI, but there's not really a plethora of screens to display it on.
     
  19. Apple... macrumors 68020

    Apple...

    Joined:
    May 6, 2010
    Location:
    The United States
    #69
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPod; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_2_1 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8C148 Safari/6533.18.5)

    Would IPS + "Retina" really cost that much?
     
  20. wordoflife macrumors 604

    wordoflife

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2009
  21. asdf542 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2010
    #71
    But it's still impossible to achieve, correct? Just checked the latest NVIDIA and AMD GPU's and they both have a digital limit of 2560x1600 on a single display so a 5120x2880 iMac doesn't sound so likely. lol
     
  22. AppleMactablet macrumors regular

    AppleMactablet

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    #72
    Steve Jobs-"Awe...my plan is working (Stroking his white cat) doubling the resolution would make everyone join the iPad bandwagon...Muhhaaaa...my World domination is complete":D
     
  23. Apple... macrumors 68020

    Apple...

    Joined:
    May 6, 2010
    Location:
    The United States
    #73
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPod; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_2_1 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8C148 Safari/6533.18.5)

    Just don't forget about iOS 5, front/ back cameras, A5 chip and the like. ;)
     
  24. cxny macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2004
    Location:
    New York
    #74
    Tantilizing!

    This is why we love MacRumors! Imagine Netflix...

    Can't really afford a new iPad yet though. Why did I splurge on the 64G? There's hardly any content on the thing....
     
  25. NinjaHERO macrumors 6502a

    NinjaHERO

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2008
    Location:
    U S of A
    #75
    The Ipad already looks pretty good. Doubling the resolution seems like it would make the image awesome.
     

Share This Page