Late 2016 MacBook Pro 13" + Thunderbolt 3 eGPU

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by theitsage, Oct 28, 2016.

  1. The Big Guy macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2015
    #126
    I am waiting for someone to try to connect a BizonBox 3 to the new Macbook Pro 15" before I buy it. I found on their website that 40Gbps speed is only supported on active cables no longer than 0.5m. That might be the reason why some of you only see 20Gbps. I know there are cheaper options like the Node but Id rather have a plug and play solution. Plus they also have 2 year warranty. Also note that the Nvidia 10XX (Pascal series) graphics cards are only supported using bootcamp for now.

    https://support.bizon-tech.com/hc/e...ng-different-lengths-of-Thunderbolt-3-cables-
     
  2. theitsage thread starter Suspended

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2005
    #127
    Bison uses the same PCIe & Thunderbolt 3 board as AKiTiO Node.
     
  3. The Big Guy macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2015
    #128
    Yes I am aware of that. But if you use Mac OS with it at least Bizon takes care of the code automatically. It's just a preference. I don't like to mess around with that stuff.
     
  4. theitsage thread starter Suspended

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2005
    #129
    Until Apple officially implements eGPU, it's going to be a workaround regardless of which solution you choose. There are at least two variables which dictate whether an eGPU is functional in macOS.

    - Blessings from Intel and Apple in terms of licensing and macOS updates.
    - GPU drivers.

    Intel has only licensed Thunderbolt eGPU to a select few manufacturers. Bizon is not one of them. It's only a matter of time before Intel sends a cease and desist letter to these guys. Same thing happened to the Wolf kickstarter.

    The codes/patches Bizon provides are the work of the eGPU community.
     
  5. maratus macrumors 6502a

    maratus

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2009
    Location:
    Canada
    #130
    First of all, 40Gbps is supported on passive cables up to 0.5m. Active cables don't have bandwidth limit at all (although there're just no copper active cables longer than 2m)

    And 20Gbps is listed in System Information when no cable or device is connected
     
  6. voxtro macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2014
    #131
    Do you know the companies licensed for Thunderbolt eGPU? I assume the Node is licensed at least to work with Windows eGPU.
     
  7. TheMarkness macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2011
    #132
    Reporting in here. Razer Core + GTX 1080 + MBP 2016 15 w/ Radeon Pro 460 puring along smooth in Windows 10 Bootcamp. Had to apply a DSDT to move some PCIe resources into a higher memory pool (error 12 not enough resources / no free resources).

    So far I've played Battlefield 1, Overwatch, DOOM, various Vive VR games, and various Rift VR games without any issues. Speed / performance feels exactly the same as my Razer Blade 14 2016 w/ the Razer Core + 1080 hooked up.

    If your interested in the DSDT fix, this works across any eGPU and any model Mac having issues. This has been a eGPU issue for some time on device allocating resources a certain way https://www.techinferno.com/index.php?/forums/topic/5874-guide-dsdt-override-to-fix-error-12/.

    Cheers everyone :D!
     
  8. 3587 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2008
    #133
    I'm looking forward to trying the new BizonBox Thunderbolt 3 when it is released... Works on Mac and Windows software?
     
  9. theitsage, Nov 21, 2016
    Last edited: Nov 21, 2016

    theitsage thread starter Suspended

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2005
    #134
    AKiTiO posted an update about the Node and its Thunderbolt 3 device compatibility with Late 2016 MacBook Pro. It's bad news - https://www.akitio.com/blog/articles/akitio-thunderbolt3-devices-macbook-pro
    Akitio-Thunder3-unsupported.png
    Apple built a restriction in macOS to prevent most Thunderbolt 3 devices from working. Kid2010 on netkas forum found a workaround which involves hex edit of IOThunderboltFamily kext controller file. Screen Shot 2016-11-21 at 6.48.24 PM.png
    I was able to make my non-touchbar MBP to work with the AKiTiO Thunder3 which has the same Thunderbolt 3 board as the AKiTiO Node. It's showing progress but things are not running well. Screen Shot 2016-11-21 at 8.15.19 PM.png
     
  10. maratus macrumors 6502a

    maratus

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2009
    Location:
    Canada
    #135
    what do you mean by not running well?
     
  11. theitsage thread starter Suspended

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2005
    #136
    Connecting an external monitor would freeze the laptop. OpenCL apps would run initially then lock up after 10 seconds.
     
  12. jun180 macrumors regular

    jun180

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    #137
    Is this in clamshell mode, or with both the internal display + external display being driven?

    Might be worth trying just clamshell mode.
     
  13. theitsage thread starter Suspended

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2005
    #138
    Thunder3 doesn't work in clamshell mode. Sleep mode with an eGPU attached triggers a kernel panic.

    I notice the enclosure provides 15W through the Thunderbolt 3 cable. While it doesn't charge the laptop, it provides just enough power so that the battery isn't used. With my Thunder2 enclosure attached, the MBP's battery drains really quick.
     
  14. maratus macrumors 6502a

    maratus

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2009
    Location:
    Canada
    #139
    Are you using default MBP charger as well? If so, is it connected to the same side as eGPU? I read that MBP can't charge from more than 1 port and will pick up the one with more power available.
     
  15. theitsage thread starter Suspended

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2005
    #140
    I didn't try with MBP charger at the same time. I only had the Thunder3 eGPU plugged into one Thunderbolt 3 port. The other port was empty.

    The charging sound would come on when I insert the cable but the laptop would not charge because of the 15W provided through the eGPU.
     
  16. davidcmc macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    #141
    That's weird what AKiTiO said.

    I've read somewhere that 2016 MBPs are working with eGPU cases like Razer Core in Boot Camp. As for macOS, I've also read it wasn't supported at the moment (although Netkas has published a recent solution from a forum member).

    Have you tested your Thunder3 on Boot Camp?
     
  17. enjoy87 macrumors newbie

    enjoy87

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2016
    #142
    Can you use Macbook Retina display or you must use external display ONLY ?
     
  18. TheMarkness macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2011
    #143
    To be honest not 100% sure, using the internal display on the Razer Blade lost about 15%-20% performance sending the information back to the internal display. On this with the DSDT fix I note that the AMD dGPU is kept enabled and assigned to the internal display (nvidia control panel doesn't have it listed) and the external is set to the Core / eGPU so I'm not 100% sure.
     
  19. maratus, Nov 22, 2016
    Last edited: Nov 22, 2016

    maratus macrumors 6502a

    maratus

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2009
    Location:
    Canada
    #144
    I recall it's possible to use built-in display with eGPU acceleration on iGPU-only models in Windows.

    Proof: https://odd-one-out.serek.eu/windows-10-egpu-setup-optimus/
    I guess there're a few threads on techinferno as well. You need no dGPU and nVidia Optimus support. Don't remember details about ATI cards.
     
  20. enjoy87 macrumors newbie

    enjoy87

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2016
    #145
    I have the mid-2012 Retina with Nvidia GT650M 1GB so i can use the eGPU ONLY via external display, there is no way to use it my internal Retina Display, but why, can i disable the GT650M and use the eGPU?
     
  21. maratus macrumors 6502a

    maratus

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2009
    Location:
    Canada
    #146
    iGPU has to be visible AND operational in Windows in order to activate Optimus and use built-in screen with eGPU, but afaik you still can't do it. The reason is proprietary hardware that's implemented by Apple for hard-switching between iGPU and dGPU.

    I have a similar rMBP and made native UEFI installation of Win 8 on my external SSD three years ago. Windows was able to detect iGPU, but it'd never load after you actually install drivers for it.

    And if you use default bootcamp installation with BIOS emulation, then it'd forever hide both multiplexor and iGPU from Windows and leave dGPU as the only graphics card
     
  22. dilutedq macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    #147
    So you need an external display for this to work? Can you give details as to what you did to get it to work. The previous post with instructions doesn't really make sense.
     
  23. Lou-X macrumors member

    Lou-X

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2016
    #148
    Theitsage thank you for your updates, I'm following you in this.
    I'm taking in consideration the nTB mbp and the node or a future version of eGPU. Do you think the base nTB is good for a setup with a eGPU? possible cpu bottleneck?

    I would love to have this 13' on the go and a setup at home with a good external display (1 or 2 4k maybe?) . Actually I think having it working only in bootcamp would be enough to me.

    What kind of gpu do you think would work best?

    Cheers
     
  24. seawise macrumors newbie

    seawise

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2015
    #149
    Will Pascal (and future) external Thunderbolt 3 cards will be ever supported by macOS (and not booting into Windows on Mac)?

    What's the roadblock for it? macOS itself? NVIDIA drivers? (Macbook Pro) hardware?

    Can anyone explain?
     
  25. SoyCapitanSoyCapitan macrumors 601

    SoyCapitanSoyCapitan

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2015
    Location:
    Paris
    #150
    Even Maxwell isn't properly supported. The device IDs for the cards were 'enabled' in Nvidia's web driver but the Maxwell support itself stayed in beta with no official support listed. As far as Nvidia's driver development is concerned, there has been no real progress since Kepler because Apple isn't buying their chips at the moment for a number of competitive and political reasons.
     

Share This Page