MP 6,1 Mac Pro 2013 Monitor compatibility

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by mmmacuser, Jul 16, 2019.

  1. mmmacuser macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2019
    #1
    Hey Friends

    I'm looking to upgrade my monitor, I've been using a Asus PA248Q for about 6 years and its been fantastic.

    Im looking to get a 27 inch 4k monitor, my budget is around 550GBP, I've identified the BenQ PD2700U (linked below) However Im concerned about the connectivity and getting the most out of the display, so any advice here is greatly appreciated.

    I will mostly be using it for photoshop and large prints, so colour accuracy is very important. My question is regarding the HDMI 1.4 output the mac pro is capable of and the HDMI 2.0 input of the monitor. What are the implications of connecting the monitor directly via HDMI 1.4?

    Is there a way to use the thunderbolt 2.0 from the mac pro and connect it to monitor via the Display port 1.4



    Any help is greatly appreciated.

    Thanks


    https://www.amazon.co.uk/BenQ-PD3200U-3840x2160-Anti-Glare-Flicker-free/dp/B07GLR6RQF/ref=as_li_ss_tl?ie=UTF8&qid=1550150498&sr=8-1-spons&keywords=BenQ%2BPD3200U&linkCode=sl1&tag=10bes-21&linkId=d7661c95d241f06ebd8aaeedac74a79b&language=en_GB&th=1
     
  2. thefredelement macrumors 65816

    thefredelement

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2012
    Location:
    New York
    #2
    You can (should be able to*) connect it via DP using a thunderbolt 2/mDP to to DP cable.

    I previously used a 31" LG 4k with the same setup, though its HDMI constrained its refresh rate to 30Hz so display port was the only viable option for me.

    Additionally, I love the LG UltraFine 5k screen with the 6,1. They're a great fit, IIRC '3rd party' screens do not display the apple logo on the 6,1. I'm not 100% sure as its been yers since I've used a different screen so it was nice to feel like the 6,1 had a first class citizen screen companion.
     
  3. Selsk macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2017
    #3
    If color accuracy is very important, get an Eizo. I have a CG277 and it works like a dream on the 6,1.
     
  4. aclarubicin macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2018
    #4
    Have you gotten true 5k output to work on the 6,1/5k setup?
     
  5. thefredelement macrumors 65816

    thefredelement

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2012
    Location:
    New York
    #5
    I haven't looked in awhile, I thought it was impossible but system report says it is. I'm not sure I really believe it tbh, I'm also not sure if I'd be able to tell the difference as I've had several MBPs attached to this screen that do push 5k and things seem to look the same.

    That being said I don't have great eye sight.
     

    Attached Files:

Share This Page

4 July 16, 2019