Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

M38213

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jun 8, 2020
5
0
I just recently acquired a Mac Pro 4,1 and have been trying to flash it to the 5,1 firmware with no success... i have tried it on snow leopard, Yosemite, El Capitan, and a Mojave patch with both an aftermarket SSD and a regular hard drive... i currently am using a nvidia GeForce 8800 gt Mac edition while i wait for a Radeon 4870 to come in the mail, i am not sure if that makes any difference. after doing some research i found out mine has the B08 firmware that sometimes gives some people issues...
my main goal is to upgrade to 1333 ram and a 6 core cpu.... i read somewhere that the b08 firmware will allow that without flashing but wanted to see what others thought... I’m open to try pretty much anything and would appreciate any help that i can get.. thank you
 

KeesMacPro

macrumors 65816
Nov 7, 2019
1,453
595
This thread may help you:

 

MIKX

macrumors 68000
Dec 16, 2004
1,815
691
Japan
All of the relevant files for flashing the Firmware should be on the Desktop.
 

M38213

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jun 8, 2020
5
0
This thread may help you:

I’ve read that one a few times with no luck, thank you though
[automerge]1591713391[/automerge]
All of the relevant files for flashing the Firmware should be on the Desktop.
I’ve done that as well
 

KeesMacPro

macrumors 65816
Nov 7, 2019
1,453
595

Sorry to hear that it didn't work out.
Then I would post your issue in this same thread.
 

tsialex

Contributor
Jun 13, 2016
13,226
13,403
The cross-flash upgrade process devised by MacEFIROM expects that your Mac Pro BootROM version is MP41.0081.B07 and balks when finds B08, no news here.

The workaround is to do a BootROM reconstruction.
 

M38213

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jun 8, 2020
5
0
The cross-flash upgrade process devised by MacEFIROM expects that your Mac Pro BootROM version is MP41.0081.B07 and balks when finds B08, no news here.

The workaround is to do a BootROM reconstruction.
I’m not sure what that is, what do i need to do?
 

h9826790

macrumors P6
Apr 3, 2014
16,628
8,557
Hong Kong
I am quite sure B08 can also use the Netkas tool to flash the 4,1 to 5,1. Not from me, but other users reported that.
 

Ricardo Calixto

macrumors newbie
Aug 13, 2020
8
0
boa noite, comprei um ssd me samsung 970 instalei meu mac pro 4.1 2009, ele reconhece mas não consigo instalar o osx ou seja, inicializar e carregar osx por m2 samsung 970, alguém poderia me ajudar? siga como fotos anexadas no post.
Captura de Tela 2020-08-22 às 20.53.03.png
Captura de Tela 2020-08-22 às 20.52.54.png
 

tsialex

Contributor
Jun 13, 2016
13,226
13,403
boa noite, comprei um ssd me samsung 970 instalei meu mac pro 4.1 2009, ele reconhece mas não consigo instalar o osx ou seja, inicializar e carregar osx por m2 samsung 970, alguém poderia me ajudar? siga como fotos anexadas no post. View attachment 946738 View attachment 946739
This is an English language forum, please use English here. You need to read the sticky thread about PCIe SSDs, it’s not possible to use a NVMe drive with a MP4,1, you need to cross-flash it to MP5,1 and update to the current firmware.

All details on this thread:

 

Ricardo Calixto

macrumors newbie
Aug 13, 2020
8
0
This is an English language forum, please use English here. You need to read the sticky thread about PCIe SSDs, it’s not possible to use a NVMe drive with a MP4,1, you need to cross-flash it to MP5,1 and update to the current firmware.

All details on this thread:

good night, i bought a ssd samsung 970 i installed my mac pro 4.1 2009, it recognizes but i can't install osx ie boot and load osx per m2 samsung 970, could someone help me? follow as photos attached in the post.
 

h9826790

macrumors P6
Apr 3, 2014
16,628
8,557
Hong Kong
good night, i bought a ssd samsung 970 i installed my mac pro 4.1 2009, it recognizes but i can't install osx ie boot and load osx per m2 samsung 970, could someone help me? follow as photos attached in the post.
You can't, until you flash your cMP to 5,1, AND further upgrade the firmware to 140.0.0.0 (or above).
 

tsialex

Contributor
Jun 13, 2016
13,226
13,403
my version is MP41.0081.B07, how do i upgrade to 5.1
Again:

You need to read the sticky thread about PCIe SSDs, it’s not possible to use a NVMe drive with a MP4,1, you need to cross-flash it to MP5,1 and update to the current firmware.

All details on the first post of this thread:

 

Ricardo Calixto

macrumors newbie
Aug 13, 2020
8
0
Friend I can't install the dude patch on my samsung 970 that is connected to a pcie card, how much do you charge me to help configure and install?
 

tsialex

Contributor
Jun 13, 2016
13,226
13,403
Friend I can't install the dude patch on my samsung 970 that is connected to a pcie card, how much do you charge me to help configure and install?
Firmware upgrades are not possible with hacked/patched macOS installs. You will never upgrade your firmware with a hacked system. Start with a complete vanilla install of El Capitan or Sierra.

First cross-flash your 2009 Mac Pro to MP5,1 firmware using netkas forum cross-flash method, after that upgrade to Mojave using the instructions of the first post of this thread:

 

tsialex

Contributor
Jun 13, 2016
13,226
13,403
friend installed the mac os x el capitan as attached photos. And now? View attachment 948381 View attachment 948382
Read and follow the cross-flash procedure showed on this thread:


After that, when you already have installed the MP51 firmware, follow the steps of the first post of this thread:

 

GreppMichaels

macrumors member
Apr 17, 2020
59
11
Los Angeles, CA
Please learn to use the forum search. Nothing about this is new, we are doing this since 2011 and for every problem there is a thread on how to solve it.


Hey tsialex,

I'm flashing my 3rd cMP 4,1 so I'm following all the steps, In this case, I have SIP disabled, follow all steps, when it gets at the screen to begin the process it shows the progress bar for a second and then immediately powers off. Reboots then is back to login. I've tried it several different times and re-downloaded, and same error, including confirming SIP is disabled.

I'm also having some seriously strange ram issues along with huge boot times while only running 2gb of ram. I'm thinking there might be some weird hardware errors with my backpane as I've swapped out various sizes and sticks of ram along with a working CPU tray and still same issues.
 

GreppMichaels

macrumors member
Apr 17, 2020
59
11
Los Angeles, CA
Please learn to use the forum search. Nothing about this is new, we are doing this since 2011 and for every problem there is a thread on how to solve it.


Turns out this 2009 is running a B08 firmware, but it has a ton of issues, it can't accept any ram over 2gb, takes forever to boot, and just is running kinda wacky. How can I downgrade to B07 and then flash to 5,1?
 
Register on MacRumors! This sidebar will go away, and you'll see fewer ads.