MP51.0084.B00 Rom Dump Request

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by HaypurTiryading, May 20, 2018.

  1. bookemdano macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    #551
    Well here we go, 10.13.6 was just released. I can't seem to get the Mac App Store to let me download the full installer though--keeps trying to give me the 22.7MB online installer.

    Just noticed the App Store description still shows 10.13.5, so we may need to wait a bit anyway for them to post the full installer.

    This is likely the final release for High Sierra, and after the 87 firmware microcode debacle it will be interesting to find out if there's a new firmware in there or if it includes 85 like the Mojave betas.
     
  2. crjackson2134 macrumors 68040

    crjackson2134

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2013
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    #552
    Same here, waiting for App Store to update so I can download full installer. I did install from the MAS already however.
     
  3. flowrider macrumors 601

    flowrider

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    #553
    ^^^^Yep, I got the Combo Updater. Full Install Package not yet available.

    Lou
     
  4. MIKX macrumors 6502

    MIKX

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2004
    Location:
    Japan
    #554
    Anything new in the combo ? It's a futile dream but it would be so nice if the full installer includes NVMe booting.

    Also, I wonder if the full 10.13.6 installer will have a bootrom update with regard to microcode.
     
  5. Earl Urley macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2014
    #555
    Ran the App Store update, didn't see any changes to BootROM or microcode.
     
  6. bookemdano macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    #556
    Yeah the updates don't include the firmware updates. You need the full installer, which as of now still isn't available.
     
  7. h9826790 macrumors G4

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #557
    The Microcode can be updated at OS level (this is what they are doing in 10.14 beta now), not necessary via firmware update.
     
  8. Earl Urley macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2014
    #558
    Microcode went from 35 to 36 on my rMBP 13-inch 2013 with combo 10.13.6 update so hopefully ill check on my MP 5,1 with the same combo in a few hours..
     
  9. cococheaf, Jul 10, 2018
    Last edited: Jul 11, 2018

    cococheaf macrumors newbie

    cococheaf

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2018
    Location:
    Austria - Lake of Constance
    #559
    Hi, thank you all for your help making apple products last a life longer.
    I have flashed the 85 ROM and I have one last problem, i am experiencing issues with the alt key at boot, where i am stuck at a grey screen. Shutting down and restarting the machine gets me directly into macOS.

    Someone experienced the same issue?

    I have the Lycom Adapters installed, one with a 970 Evo 1TB on it and one with a 950 Pro 256GB on it.
    System specs: MP51, 2012, 85 ROM, 64GB ECC, Dual X5690s, MVC GTX1070

    Will fill my account info later ;)

    EDIT: Have updated to 89 now, and the problem still exists...
     
  10. macguru8 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2013
    #560
    --- Post Merged, Jul 11, 2018 ---
    I have the Lycom Adapters installed, one with a 950 Evo 256GB.
    System specs: MP51, 2010, 85 ROM, 64GB ECC, Dual X5690s, EVGA GTX680
    On boot I used the option key and I get stuck at a grey screen. No drivers are showing.
    I removed the 950 EVO 256GB leaving in the Lycom Adapters installed. The problem left.
    I tried a different 950 Evo 256GB. Same problem with the grey screen stuck at boot.
     
  11. Stratus Fear macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2008
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    #561
    Not to stay off topic, but I own a 24" 7,1 and actually tried this and it was a no go. Bricked my logic board. Wouldn't boot again after reboot, and putting in a 1066MHz FSB Penryn and some 800MHz DDR2 didn't help either. I ended up buying a 8,1 logic board on eBay for $15 to fix the machine and that works just fine. At a quick glance, the 7,1 and 8,1 boards look exactly the same with the exception of the camera and IR connector locations being swapped between the two, but clearly something else is going on beyond just EFI.
     
  12. cococheaf macrumors newbie

    cococheaf

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2018
    Location:
    Austria - Lake of Constance
    #562
    Do you get the greyscreen when you remove the lycom adapter? I have removed the adapter with the 950pro and let only the 970evo installed and it seems okay now... what are we missing? Btw. i updated to 89 ROM
     
  13. macguru8, Jul 12, 2018
    Last edited: Jul 12, 2018

    macguru8 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2013
    #563
    --- Post Merged, Jul 12, 2018 ---
    I left the Lycom Adapter in without the 950 EVO 256GB and it worked perfect. I only had the problem when I had the 950 EVO 256GB installed in the Lycom Adapter. FYI, I tried in 3 Mac Pros, 2 were 2009 4,1 to 5,1 and my 2010 Mac Pro. All 3 Mac Pro's are dual CPUs. FYI, I used the same Lycom Adapter with a Samsung AHCI M.2 with no problems.
    --- Post Merged, Jul 12, 2018 ---
     
  14. cococheaf macrumors newbie

    cococheaf

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2018
    Location:
    Austria - Lake of Constance
    #564
    OKAY! Then we have a confirmed problem with the 950 Pro.
    Thanks.

    Has someone in the meantime tested the usb3 boot possibility?
     
  15. expede, Jul 12, 2018
    Last edited: Jul 12, 2018

    expede macrumors regular

    expede

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2018
    Location:
    Sweden
    #565
    Samsung 960 Pro NVMe M.2 Boot on Firmware MP51.0089.B00

    So I used old Bootrom-tool and Inject-tool to add NVMe to my Firmware;

    1. Shut down the system (running on NVMe and FW 0084´NVMe)
    2. Reinstalled the HS 10.13.5 SSD in bay 1 and my backup graphic card (AMD Radeon 7950)
    3. Rebooted into HS 10.13.5.
    4. Updated the system to 10.13.6 (MP51.0084+NVMe).
    5. Extracted the MP51_0089_00B_LOCKED.fd from the macOSUpdCombo10.13.6 using Pacifist

    [​IMG]
    6. Extract to the "RecoveryHDMeta.dmg" to desktop
    7. Mounted it.

    [​IMG]
    8. Extracted the "BaseSystem.dmg" and also mounted that.

    [​IMG]
    9. Located the "Installer macOS High Sierra" and right click and show contents.

    [​IMG]
    10. Copied the file to desktop.

    [​IMG]
    11. Located the MBP114_0184_B00.fd file and extracted that to the desktop.
    12. Opened the MBP114_0184_B00.fd with UEFITool and search for "NVMe".

    [​IMG]
    13 Extracted the file "Extract as is" to the desktop and named it NVMe.ffs
    14 Then I located my old "Installer macOS High Sierra.app and right click to te app and located the MP51_0087_00B_LOCKED.fd and replaced it with my new MP51_0089_00B_LOCKED.fd. Change the crc32 by typing crc32 in terminal and space then drag the MP51_0089_00B_LOCKED.fd to the terminal window and droped it. Hit enter. The new number was replaced in the crc32-file.
    15 Shut down my cMP and waited 15 sec.
    16 Booted up and Open the Old change Installer macOS High Sierra.app. The installer prompted me to put in the password and then the installer did a Firmware update from 0084' to 0089'.
    17 Reboot and check:

    [​IMG]
    11. Extracted my newly installed FirmWare with RomTool and saved it to the desktop.
    12. Created a folder on desktop named EFI and dropped the NVMe.ffs, DXEInject and the extracted FirmWare in to it.
    13. Did the inject command in Terminal (./DXEInject ./Firmware_Orginal.bin ./FirmWare_nvme.bin ./NVMe.ffs)
    14. Shut down the computer and waited 15 sec
    15. Reboot in Firmware state (hold the start-button for sometime until the light flash +sound)
    16. Used the ROMTool to inject the new Firmware+NVMe.
    17. Reboot onto the Samsung NVMe 960Pro and updated the system to OSX 10.13.6

    /Per
     
  16. MisterAndrew macrumors 6502a

    MisterAndrew

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2015
    Location:
    Portland, Oregon
    #566
    So the NVMe driver works with the new firmware? Why did you need to extract it from the 10.13.6 installer and put it in the 10.13.5 installer?
     
  17. expede macrumors regular

    expede

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2018
    Location:
    Sweden
    #567
    I didn´t have the OSX 10.13.6 full installer and that was the only way I knew to get the firmware updated.

    /Per

     
  18. MisterAndrew macrumors 6502a

    MisterAndrew

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2015
    Location:
    Portland, Oregon
    #568
    Oh, I see. Interesting. I didn’t know the firmware is included in the combo update.
     
  19. macguru8 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2013
    #569
    High Sierra 10.13.6 is available in the Apple App Store in the USA
     

    Attached Files:

  20. tsialex macrumors 65816

    tsialex

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2016
    #570
    The Recovery update have it, but it's so much more easy an foolproof to run the full installer than manually putting the files on the correct locations/blessing/etc.
     
  21. macguru8 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2013
    #571
    --- Post Merged, Jul 12, 2018 ---
    Expede thanks for your directions. I followed your directions and everything is working find. The only difference I did was pulled the firmware from the complete 10.13.6 down load. I added the NVME to the firmware then flash the firmware to my Mac Pro 4,1 upgrade to 5,1.
    --- Post Merged, Jul 12, 2018 ---
    --- Post Merged, Jul 12, 2018 ---
    --- Post Merged, Jul 12, 2018 ---
    Cococheaf I switched out the Samsung 950 Pro with my Samsung SM951 512GB NVMe MZVPV512HDGL-00000. I did not have the grey screen on boot anymore while holding the option key. It is obvious the 950 pro M.2 NVME is the problem.
     
  22. Earl Urley macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2014
    #572
    Looks like the 10.13.6 full installer needs to be run from an actual internal hard drive in order to flash the firmware to 0089, I tried to run it from a Samsung 840 SSD with 10.12.6 on it, hooked up to a Velocity Solo X2 in slot 3, and it kept locking up whenever I pressed the triangular "Shut Down" button.

    Moved the installer to an actual reformatted OEM Apple drive with 10.13.6 already on it and the flash from 0087 to 0089 went just fine. Xeon W3565 updated from microcode level 0 to 28.

    Also saved the 0089 BootROM, then successfully injected the NVMe DXE driver and reflashed, and was able to boot just fine onto my 970 Pro / Lycom DT-120.
     
  23. crjackson2134 macrumors 68040

    crjackson2134

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2013
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    #573
    Is it possible the issue was the installer didn’t like 10.12.6 rather than the 840?

    I flashed mine and installed from an 840Pro without issue.
     
  24. Earl Urley macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2014
    #574
    Was the 840 in one of the Mac Pro onboard SATA bays? My issue could have something to do with the fact that drives plugged into the Velocity Solo always show up as external drives.. I've run the full 10.13.6 installer on regular Sierra hard drives with no issue.
     
  25. crjackson2134 macrumors 68040

    crjackson2134

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2013
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    #575
    It’s in Bay1 at the moment, but I’ve installed from it while mounted on the Solo X2 with other versions of macOS.
     

Share This Page