OS X El Capitan on Unsupported Macs

Discussion in 'OS X El Capitan (10.11)' started by TMRJIJ, Jun 5, 2015.

Thread Status:
The first post in this thread is a WikiPost, and can be edited by anyone with the appropriate permissions.
  1. jon8214 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2012
    Location:
    Belfast, NI
    #551

    Thanks for the quick reply, yes I was using the relevant boot.efi for 64 or 32 bit, I will try and install El Capitan on an external drive from my MacBook Pro and try 502 again on the 2,1. If I have any problems ill let you know.
     
  2. jon8214, Aug 7, 2016
    Last edited: Aug 7, 2016

    jon8214 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2012
    Location:
    Belfast, NI
    #552
    When trying to do step 10 I keep getting omitting on output from terminal I have tried a few times and still the same, I have ensured sip is disabled and have followed the commands exactly and have had no joy
     
  3. skyfly555, Aug 7, 2016
    Last edited: Aug 7, 2016

    skyfly555 macrumors member

    skyfly555

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2016
    #553
    It's very strange. Do u get the same messages when doing step 11? In theory, you don't need step 10 if step 11 is well-done.

    Are you doing the steps from a computer with El Capitan? Which Macbook Pro are you using? If it says omitting, it's supposed to be, if you are on El Capitan, SIP is enabled, and not disabled.

    Please, be sure SIP is disabled. Go to terminal and type: csrutil status. I have to remind you El Capitan enables SIP "whenever it wants". I want to say, you may do a csrutil disable from your recovery partition on monday and you can have SIP enabled on friday. I don't know why but this has happened to me several times.

    I'm sorry because now I'm not at home, but if you can wait for some days, on thursday-friday I can attach the famous com.apple.kext.caches folder, so you can try with it to see what happens and you can omit step 10 because I will give you the result of that step. My folder can be used by you, because we two have the same machine, a Macbook 2,1.

    I recommend doing this on an external drive, so you can be using your MB 2,1 while doing the process of installing El Capitan, it's a good idea.
    --- Post Merged, Aug 7, 2016 ---
    Have you tried the post 502 tutorial?
     
  4. Dudefoxlive macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2014
    Location:
    NO
    #554
    hey so i am now seeing this post but a while back i installed yosemite on my macbook 2,1 using another guide and now that i see this guide i would like to know. it looks like from above says that it is compatible with a macbook 2,1 and i hope so because i want to beable to install the newest version of mac os x as of 8/7/2016. can el capitan be installed a 2,1 or no?
     
  5. atvusr macrumors 6502

    atvusr

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010
    #555
    Yes - in the manner as described in Post #502.
     
  6. Dudefoxlive macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2014
    Location:
    NO
    #556
    ok well i am going to try and use macpostfactor to see if it will install el capitan. i will let you know the results once i get some.
     
  7. Dudefoxlive macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2014
    Location:
    NO
    #557
    ok problem when i try and install el capitan on my macbook 2,1 using macpostfactor it begins to install then reboots and crash. can anyone help me? i would use the same 8GB usb as the yosemite install but i cant because it is small.
     
  8. jon8214, Aug 8, 2016
    Last edited: Aug 8, 2016

    jon8214 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2012
    Location:
    Belfast, NI
    #558
    Yes I still get omitting when doing step 11 as well.

    Yes I am doing it from a computer with capitan on it it is a 2009 MacBook 5,2 I will try it with my 2,1 with lion on it after I have cloned the drive again, I will disable sip then restart and transfer the drive to my 2,1 to try the steps.

    If this doesn't work I will leave it till you are back home, many thanks for all your help.

    Tried again on my other mac, sip is definitely disabled on the cloned capitan external hdd, but when i do step 10 or 11 I keep getting ......kext is not authentic;omitting. For ever single kept.



    Jon
     
  9. TMRJIJ thread starter macrumors 68020

    TMRJIJ

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2011
    Location:
    South Carolina, United States
    #559
    I am aware of some issues with MacPostFactor 2.0.1 and OS X Extractor 1.34 affecting all four versions of OS X and working on fixes and support.
     
  10. skyfly555 macrumors member

    skyfly555

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2016
    #560
    Hi, Jon. The machine from which you are doing the terminal steps on the tutorial, that is, your MB5,2, is the machine that must have El Capitan installed and running fine, with SIP disabled. You cannot disable SIP on the volume 'Capitann' where you are cloning to because of boot.efi we are using.
    --- Post Merged, Aug 9, 2016 ---
    So it's impossible to have SIP disabled on the cloned HDD although you clone a volume with SIP disabled: it's no so easy. But we don't need SIP disabled because we are tricking it creating kext.caches from a SIP-disabled-machine.
     
  11. jon8214 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2012
    Location:
    Belfast, NI
    #561
    sip has been disabled on the donor and also on the clone, same problem keeps happening
     
  12. s4keru macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2016
    #562
    As I understand at this mome we are able to install El Cap on MacBook 2.1 but on MacBook 3.1 no, right? (because of different boot.efi?)
     
  13. That-Guy macrumors 6502a

    That-Guy

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2012
    Location:
    UK
    #563
    So I have an Early 2008 MacBook 4,1

    I have upgraded the Hard Drive to a 120gb SSD and upgraded the RAM to 4gb.

    Anyone have this MacBook up and running with El Capitan?

    Is it usable for Internet and Word Processing?

    Is there a specific guide for this model or should the first post be fine?

    Thanks in advance :)
     
  14. skyfly555, Aug 11, 2016
    Last edited: Aug 11, 2016

    skyfly555 macrumors member

    skyfly555

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2016
    #564
    Hi, Jon.

    Here you have prelinked and kext.caches (the link to download: https://www.dropbox.com/s/cwoc92ymb1q1tte/capitan-mb21-kext-cache-prelinked.zip?dl=1 ). Copy just the file "prelinked", not the folder where it is. Copy the folder com.apple.kext.caches.

    prelinkedkernel goes to /Volumes/Capitann/System/Library/PrelinkedKernels/
    kext.caches goes to /Volumes/Capitann/System/Library/Caches/

    After you copy them to its place, you must open a terminal and modify the owner:
    cd /Volumes/Capitann/System/Library/PrelinkedKernels/
    sudo chown root:wheel prelinkedkernel
    cd /Volumes/Capitann/System/Library/Caches/
    sudo chown -R root:wheel *.*


    After doing this, it should boot.
    --- Post Merged, Aug 11, 2016 ---
    Hello.

    If you have Os X Hackers Yosemite on your MB 3,1, it's very likely it can work, changing boot.efi from post #502 for your own boot.efi (the one that lets you boot yosemite on your mb 3,1).

    But it's theory, I've never checked it.
    If you have time and a free external HDD, you can check it and tell us what has happened :)
    You are supposed to have a GMA X3100, the drivers for GMA X3100 from OS X Hackers works great on El Capitan (they have already been modified for Capitan, the GMA950 drivers will be modified soon by TRMJIJ).
    If you try to do this following the guide from post #502, you should change GMA950 drivers for your GMA X3100 ones.
     
  15. jon8214 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2012
    Location:
    Belfast, NI
    #565
    Thanks, am i right in thinking that i do all the steps in 502 then copy the above files and do the terminal commands?

    Thanks Again
    Jon
     
  16. skyfly555 macrumors member

    skyfly555

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2016
    #566
    If you have done 502 steps, you just need to copy the folder kext.caches to its place, and the same with prelinked kernel, then run the terminal commands, and check if it boots. So, you shouldn't need to do all the 502 steps again.
     
  17. skyfly555 macrumors member

    skyfly555

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2016
    #567
    HOW TO INSTALL EL CAPITAN ON AN UNSUPPORTED MACBOOKPRO 2,2

    INTRO
    Hi, I've got an old MBP 2,2 ATI X1600 128MB. I've taken my "Capitann" external HDD, installed OS X Hackers ATI drivers and so on, and it has worked!
    Basically, you have to follow the procedure as described in Post #502, but adding one step between 7 and 8:

    THE 7,1 STEP
    You have to download and install to your "Capitann" drive the OS X Hackers ATI drivers.

    Download from here: http://dl.osxhackers.net/Kexts/ATI Kext Installer.pkg

    When doing steps 10 and 11 you will see on your terminal these lines, added to the other ones:
    kext-dev-mode allowing invalid signature -67061 0xFFFFFFFFFFFEFA0B for kext ATIRadeonX1000.kext
    kext-dev-mode allowing invalid signature -67061 0xFFFFFFFFFFFEFA0B for kext ATIFramebuffer.kext
    kext-dev-mode allowing invalid signature -67061 0xFFFFFFFFFFFEFA0B for kext ATI1900Controller.kext
    kext-dev-mode allowing invalid signature -67061 0xFFFFFFFFFFFEFA0B for kext ATI1600Controller.kext
    kext-dev-mode allowing invalid signature -67061 0xFFFFFFFFFFFEFA0B for kext ATI1300Controller.kext


    ISSUES
    The issues with MBP2,2 are the same that with MB2,1, but maybe related to graphics issues are worse, because the MBP screen is detected as an external one, this was what happened with MB2,1 before installing GMA950 kexts in compatibility mode. Besides, I cannot open Preview (I don't know if it's a coincidence or a consequence of this issue).

    It seems these OS X Hackers are ready for Yosemite, but the El Capitan version has not released yet, as it happens with GMA950.

    So, here we are, waiting for the next graphical kexts release :)

    Thanks a lot to TRMJIJ and the rest of OS X Hackers.

    I'm attaching two screen captures to see the difference between kexts and yose/capitan.

    mbp22-capitan.jpg

    mbp22-yose.jpg
     
  18. Dudefoxlive macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2014
    Location:
    NO
    #568
    hey so i need help. i have been trying to install el capitan on my macbook 2,1 using macpostfactor and for what ever reason it boots i select the drive that i want to install it on and it begins to install but reboots and then shows a crash screen. has anyone else had that problem or is it just me? if so and you figured out how to get it to install please let me know as i really would like to know how to get el capitan installed on my 2,1 macbook.
     
  19. jon8214 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2012
    Location:
    Belfast, NI
    #569
    Hi, finally got it installed lol, I also somehow managed to get it installed on a MacBook 3,1 using the Yosemite boot.efi and graphics Kexts. I've only one problem at the minute and that is that the 2,1 doesn't see the graphics kexts I've checked sip and it has become enabled, I was thinking would it be possible to remove the hdd and put it in a caddy, connect it to my 5,2 disable sip and repair the permissions again for the kexts and kext caches.

    Would that work?

    Thanks again for all your help.
     
  20. jon8214 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2012
    Location:
    Belfast, NI
    #570
    My idea worked and the GMA is now recognised by my 2,1.

    Thanks for all your help

    Jon
     
  21. skyfly555, Aug 15, 2016
    Last edited: Aug 15, 2016

    skyfly555 macrumors member

    skyfly555

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2016
    #572
    Sorry, John, some days out and far from the computer :)

    Very nice you got it, congratulations, I'm happy you have done that, in fact, you understood all the process and your ideas to solve GMA issues were perfect, same way I solved them in its day.

    Now you have El Capitan, you see, Yosemite works much faster because of the kexts issues, but what's important is that now we all know El Capitan can be installed on these machines.

    So, OS X Hackers are working to have MCPF working and I'm sure they will know how to create a new boot.efi to disable SIP, and I'm sure they will update the kexts, and then, MCPF El Capitan will work as good as MCPF Yosemite :)

    In this very moment, I have Yosemite on the internal HDD, and I use it; El Capitan is on the external HDD, in "stand-by", waiting for OS X Hackers modifications.

    What about your MB3,1? GMA X3100 from OS X Hackers are modified and ready for El Capitan. Have you used them? What boot.efi? The attached in post #502 or another one?
    --- Post Merged, Aug 15, 2016 ---
    You can, in the manner as described in Post #567(http://forums.macrumors.com/threads...nsupported-macs.1889851/page-23#post-23231300).

    The kexts you need for your 7,1 step are here: http://dl.osxhackers.net/Kexts/GMA X3100 Kext Installer.pkg
     
  22. jon8214, Aug 15, 2016
    Last edited: Aug 15, 2016

    jon8214 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2012
    Location:
    Belfast, NI
    #573
    I used the boot.efi from my Yosemite in stall and also used the graphics from my Yosemite install, I'll download the kexts you have linked and repair permissions etc and let you know how I get on.

    How do I get the kexts from the pkg? I've tried using pack editor to extract them but I can't find them in there? Or can I just run the pkg file? I didn't think I could because of sip

    My 2,1 has lion, mountain lion and el cap on the internal drive and my 3,1 has lion, ml, mav, Yosemite and el cap all on the internal drive, I mainly use these as project machines just for seeing how far I can get out of them as my main machine is a 2013 rMbp.

    It's good to see we can get as far as we can at the minute with these old machines, if we could only get the graphics acceleration working then I dare say they would be perfectly usable machines with all the features like maps etc working. Hopefully we may get there some day but unfortunately I haven't really got any real coding knowledge to help or else I would.

    It's a pity about sierra not working on these old macs because of the cpu architecture but running el cap on a 10 yr old machine is still good
     
  23. skyfly555 macrumors member

    skyfly555

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2016
    #574
    What I do is connecting the "capitann"HDD to my El-Capitan-supported-with-SIP-disabled-Mac. Then I install the kexts and they are copied to S/L/Extensions folder by the installer. Then I do steps 10 and 11 and so I'm sure they are correctly installed into the HDD. Put then the "capitann" HDD to your non-El-Capitan-supported-Mac.

    Once done, it's a good idea to have a backup of kext.caches folder, so, if something fails in the future, I don't need to take HDD out and into the other computer to rebuild the kext.caches, I just need to replace kext.caches folder and reboot.
     
  24. jon8214 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2012
    Location:
    Belfast, NI
    #575
    Thanks will try and let you know how I get on.

    I've been having a mess with the recovery partition and have deleted the platform support.plist and replaced the boot.efi but although it will try to start I can't get it to start fully. Have you any ideas?
     
Thread Status:
The first post in this thread is a WikiPost, and can be edited by anyone with the appropriate permissions.

Share This Page