Poll: Do you have Graphic Card Issue on New 2016 15" ?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Reflexiste, Nov 21, 2016.

?

Do you have Graphic Card Issue on New 2016 15" ?

  1. Yes i have Radeon Pro 450

    9.5%
  2. Yes i have Radeon Pro 455

    4.8%
  3. Yes i have Radeon Pro 460

    23.8%
  4. No i have Radeon Pro 450

    11.6%
  5. No i have Radeon Pro 455

    10.2%
  6. No i have Radeon Pro 460

    40.1%
  1. Reflexiste macrumors member

    Reflexiste

    Joined:
    May 21, 2015
    Location:
    Belgium
    #1
    Thank you for sharing your opinion on your MBP 15" to identify the issue of the Graphic Card 2016.
     
  2. killawat macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2014
  3. deadworlds macrumors 6502a

    deadworlds

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2007
    Location:
    Citrus Heights,CA
    #3
    Radeon Pro 460 here, no problems. I feel bad for people getting faulty GPUs. At least Apple will cover the repairs or exchange.
     
  4. voyagerd macrumors 65816

    voyagerd

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2002
    Location:
    Rancho Cordova, CA
    #4
    2.9GHz/460 here.. and getting unrecoverable GPU reset loops on the Radeon.
     
  5. deadworlds macrumors 6502a

    deadworlds

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2007
    Location:
    Citrus Heights,CA
    #5
    So unfortunate, I'm sorry. Have you taken it in to the Apple store, or given Customer Care a call?
     
  6. sentential macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 27, 2015
  7. anson42 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2014
    Location:
    Oakland, CA
    #7
    455 here, no issues. What do the unrecoverable GPU reset loops look like? Failure to boot up or log in? Is this a situation where disabling FileVault does not help? Not that disabling FileVault is a good workaround, IMO.
     
  8. voyagerd macrumors 65816

    voyagerd

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2002
    Location:
    Rancho Cordova, CA
    #8
    They told me to take it to an Apple Store, but no reservations are available until next week...
     
  9. Ricc macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2016
    #9
    Do you have iCloud Photo Library activated? For me the panics occur when the upload process runs and "ImageConversionService" maxes out the GPU
     
  10. speedbumpnv macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    #10
    Might have something to do with the recent iPhone repair program launches.

    If the Apple Store is reasonably close by, its worth just stopping in to see if they can fit you in. I have had success with going in and getting a spot even though reservations were full for the next several days. They might feel sorry for you since you are having trouble with a new machine.

    With respect to the OP, I wish I could vote in the poll, but sadly, my computer won't be here until mid December :(
     
  11. shadow82x macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2012
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #11
    460 here, had some very minor artifacts in some videos and images. Got a replacement (for another reason) and haven't noticed it on here. Software or hardware? Seems some units are unaffected so it could be hardware.
     
  12. Drecca macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    #12
    460 here, and I get weird black bars in google sheets. And sometimes a red bar in safari. And on boot up. I'm thinking it's driver related.
     
  13. emmgr23 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2016
    #13
    Maybe is sierra, I had the same problem with my mbp 15 2013 when I plugged external screen , I just reinstalled El Capitan, and Everything fine , "graphic issue" was the problem of sierra during the beta
     
  14. JoelTheSuperior macrumors 6502

    JoelTheSuperior

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2014
    Location:
    London, UK
    #14
    If you're getting replacements and they're unaffected I'd be willing to wager that AMD are putting out bad chips again.
     
  15. mckrogh macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010
    #15
    So should I cancel my 460 order and go for the 450 or 455 model ??
     
  16. deadworlds macrumors 6502a

    deadworlds

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2007
    Location:
    Citrus Heights,CA
    #16
    Well judging from the poll, it seems that more than half of the people with a 460 are experiencing ZERO problems. I would keep my order as is and see how things go.
     
  17. koyoot macrumors 601

    koyoot

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2012
    #17
    Guys, are the AMD Radeon GPUs active when you get the glitches, and errors?

    Because all of this can be related to... Intel iGPUs.
     
  18. shadow82x macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2012
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #18
    When I experienced it on my returned MBP I believe it was the iGPU. Probably has nothing to do with the AMD graphics.
     
  19. SoyCapitanSoyCapitan macrumors 68040

    SoyCapitanSoyCapitan

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2015
    Location:
    Geneva
    #19
    Mac Pro tower users have been using the same Polaris graphics drivers with he desktop 460, 470 and 480 cards. I did it with a 470. We haven't noted any of these terrible glitches so it doesn't look like a driver issue.
     
  20. voyagerd macrumors 65816

    voyagerd

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2002
    Location:
    Rancho Cordova, CA
    #20
    My system.log indicates repeated resets of the AMD Radeon 460.
     
  21. FrankySavvy macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Location:
    Long Island, NY
    #21
    Same for me. I exchanged for a new machine with the same 460 card and no issues so far!
     
  22. koyoot macrumors 601

    koyoot

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2012
    #22
    But was it active, or system tried to launch it, and failed to do so? Because thats what can cause the glitches.
     
  23. Reflexiste thread starter macrumors member

    Reflexiste

    Joined:
    May 21, 2015
    Location:
    Belgium
    #23
    This is very worrying as a result already at this stage: 1 MBP pro 460 out of 2 is defective! Wooaw
    I start wondering if I will not cancel my order for my MBP pro 460.
     
  24. voyagerd macrumors 65816

    voyagerd

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2002
    Location:
    Rancho Cordova, CA
    #24
    It had been active already for some time according to iStat Menus. A user in another thread isolated the issue that multiple people including myself are facing.

     
  25. koyoot macrumors 601

    koyoot

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2012

Share This Page