SuperDrive Firmware Update

Discussion in 'macOS' started by Osarkon, Jun 27, 2007.

  1. Osarkon macrumors 68020

    Osarkon

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Location:
    Wales
    #1
    Has anyone installed this yet? Any problems? I'd try it myself, but seeing as my SuperDrive just got replaced i'm wary of it breaking again... :D
     
  2. Peace macrumors P6

    Peace

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2005
    Location:
    Space--The ONLY Frontier
    #2
    What superdrive firmware update are you referring to ?
     
  3. aswitcher macrumors 603

    aswitcher

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2003
    Location:
    Canberra OZ
    #3
    Superdrive Firmware Update 2.1 12.3MB (Intel)

    Nothing on Apple's page.

    Anyone updated this?
     
  4. Osarkon thread starter macrumors 68020

    Osarkon

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Location:
    Wales
    #4
    One just showed up in my Software Update. It's numbered 2.1 .

    This is on a original Core Duo macbook.

    EDIT: Beaten to it
     
  5. Osarkon thread starter macrumors 68020

    Osarkon

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Location:
    Wales
    #6
    It showed up in my Software Update. After downloading it's in the Utilities folder. You have to run it yourself I believe.
     
  6. Peace macrumors P6

    Peace

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2005
    Location:
    Space--The ONLY Frontier
  7. Osarkon thread starter macrumors 68020

    Osarkon

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Location:
    Wales
    #9
    Got impatient with myself and went ahead with the update. I'm just ripping an album now to check that everything's still working and it seems fine.

    Incidentally it'll require a restart. :)
     
  8. Peace macrumors P6

    Peace

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2005
    Location:
    Space--The ONLY Frontier
    #10
    Make sure you have the power plugged in to.It requires that.
     
  9. Osarkon thread starter macrumors 68020

    Osarkon

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Location:
    Wales
    #11
    It'll refuse to update until you have AC power plugged in.
     
  10. buzlink macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2004
    Location:
    Kansas
    #12
    Yup I just submitted this for news.

    Didn't find anything on Apple website. I downloaded it, and closed Software Update and browsed to /Applications/Utilities/ folder and it automatically launched the update without me clicking on the icon. Not sure what it did, but drive seems to be working OK. Maybe it updated it so it plays scratched CDs better, as my drive suxs at playing anything with a minor scratch.
     
  11. flopticalcube macrumors G4

    flopticalcube

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    In the velcro closure of America's Hat
    #13
    But its not iPhone related. How do you expect it to make the front page? ;)
     
  12. sionharris macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2006
    #14
    at last!

    my superdrive has had awful problems importing and burning cds.

    fingers crossed this fixes it...
     
  13. miradu macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2003
    #15
    grrrr

    it bricked my drive.

    I wanted to restart my computer, and since I don't do this often (yay macs!) I ran software update. Software update finished and quit, so I then pressed restart.

    As my computer was in the shutdown process, the superdrive updater app launched and started without user intervention. It installed 66% of the update, before my system killed the process in the shutdown.

    Now my superdrive refuses to take any cds/dvds, and system info shows that it's there, but has no serial number. The updater app says there is no drive to update.

    yay. what a day.
     
  14. Cameront9 macrumors 6502a

    Cameront9

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    #16
  15. Osarkon thread starter macrumors 68020

    Osarkon

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Location:
    Wales
    #17
    It started up automatically after you closed Software update?

    I don't think mine did, but then I wasn't plugged into the mains. It just gave some message about needing to be plugged into AC power before it would try updating.
     
  16. nxent macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2004
    Location:
    seattle
    #18
    hmm, i just replaced the superdrive on my dual 1.8 G5 (pioneer D106). would have been a little annoyed if it could have been fixed via firmware update.
     
  17. mkjellman macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2003
    #19
    well I have a 2.33 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo MacBook Pro 15" and it refuses to install.

    I too have had issues burning CD-R media at any speed over 12x even with TDK certified 52x cd-r media.

    Any idea why my computer doesn't seem to need the update?


    Well i forced the archive to install to my desktop and tried to run the Updater...no dice. I found this in the Read Me though..."If you meet the system requirements and cannot update the firmware using this program, contact your local Apple Authorized Service Provider or an Apple Store retail location."

    WHYYYYY IS my superdrive broken and the utility won't work on my machine, that is listed.
     
  18. WannaGoMac macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2007
    #20
    Goes to show you, if it ain't broken, don't fix it....
     
  19. cirby macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2007
    #21
    A lotta updates...

    Kinda makes you wonder if there's some new hardware coming for those pieces of software...
     
  20. iWinnipegger macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    #22
    but......this has nothing to do with the iPhone...! :eek:
     
  21. neonblue2 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2006
    Location:
    Port Pirie, South Australia
    #23
    It doesn't work with my 15" 2.0GHz MBP even though it should. What's going on?
     
  22. p0intblank macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2005
    Location:
    New Jersey
  23. AppleMan101 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2007

Share This Page