Swype keyboard is available!

Discussion in 'iOS 8' started by lsutigerfan1976, Sep 17, 2014.

  1. lsutigerfan1976 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2012
  2. timize macrumors regular

    timize

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010
    Location:
    Columbus, Ohio
    #2
    I don't see it...
     
  3. bkends35 macrumors 6502a

    bkends35

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2013
    Location:
    USA
    #3
    Is there something like a keyboard section in the app store now? I think there should be, I didn't see it in the GM.
     
  4. lsutigerfan1976 thread starter macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2012
    #5
    It's in there. I followed them on Twitter. So I used the link they tweeted out to everyone just now. I am actually using it to type as we speak.
     
  5. Padmini macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2014
    #6
    One of the many "features" that Android users loved to criticize Apple users about....and now that its available, hardly anyone will use it, just like on Android.
     
  6. lsutigerfan1976 thread starter macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2012
    #8
    http://bit.ly/swype-iOS-8-App-Store


    I don't know if that will work. Cause I am on my phone. But that's the link they tweeted.
     
  7. bkends35 macrumors 6502a

    bkends35

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2013
    Location:
    USA
    #10
    This is actually true. I bet less than 5% of iOS users will be able to figure out how to change the keyboard.
     
  8. geeshiet macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2014
    #12
  9. skyperbon macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010
    Location:
    All over the WWW...
    #13
    SwiftKey should be available for download shortly.

    It shows available for download on the website but the iTunes link shows "not available in the US store".
     
  10. jr866gooner macrumors 65816

    jr866gooner

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2013
    #14
    Sweet.. Gotta try this when I upgrade to ios 8 at the weekend!
     
  11. shenfrey, Sep 17, 2014
    Last edited: Sep 17, 2014

    shenfrey macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    May 23, 2010
  12. creativedogmedia macrumors 65816

    creativedogmedia

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2011
    #16
    Also, there is a Swipe listed in the App Store that is NOT the newly released app. FYI.
     
  13. timize macrumors regular

    timize

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010
    Location:
    Columbus, Ohio
    #17
    It's really slick! A lot more responsive than the Android version. Not a lot of customization options, though.

    IMG_0559.PNG
     
  14. Switchback666 macrumors 68000

    Switchback666

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2012
    Location:
    SXM
  15. Padmini macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2014
    #19
    Less than 5% will even care. 5% of that 5% will be able to figure it out.
     
  16. dannyyankou macrumors 604

    dannyyankou

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2012
    #20
    I just wrote this post with Swype, and it's awesome:D
     
  17. Yun0 macrumors 65816

    Yun0

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2013
    Location:
    Winnipeg, Canada
    #21
    paying money for keyboards now..when ios 7+ already has a nice keyboard..

    no.

    so do we start paying for different battery icons in ios 9 now?
     
  18. jigzaw macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2012
    #22
    Haha. My Android friend was always bugging me about how I can't get swype (I actually do like it). But when I say "Hey I'll get to have Swype now" I hear more about how Apple is years behind Android blahblah. Like I would've given up iOS and my whole laptop/ipad/iphone ecosystem for what's just a sort of cool keyboard gimmick.
     
  19. DarkCole macrumors regular

    DarkCole

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2013
    #23
    So how about you develop a keyboard and give it away free then..
     
  20. ZebraDude macrumors 6502a

    ZebraDude

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2014
    Location:
    Naperville, IL
    #24
    I'm guessing that for some reason the GM version cannot see Swype! I have the GM as well and could not find it in the APP store for the device I had to locate and purchase it in Itunes on my PC!

    Must be a GM bug or issue!

    :(
     
  21. spytech macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2013

Share This Page