Patriots coach Bill Belichick didnt like it, but Broncos receiver Wes Welker didnt violate NFL rules when he hit Patriots cornerback Aqib Talib on Sunday.
NFL head of officiating Dean Blandino has confirmed that Welkers hit which knocked Talib out of the AFC Championship Game was legal.
Under the current rules, this is a legal play, Blandino said, via Ian Rapoport of NFL Network.
Blandinos phrasing under the current rules suggests that the NFLs Competition Committee will look at such hits during the offseason and consider a rules change that would protect defensive players from getting drilled by one receiver while theyre trailing another receiver.
Until that rule exists, however, receivers are free to hit defensive backs that way. With the Broncos looking for every advantage they can find as they prepare to face a great Seattle secondary, dont be surprised if they run more of those pick plays in the Super Bowl.