Was I scammed? Iphone Iclone?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by slimg35, Mar 25, 2009.

1. slimg35 macrumors newbie

I am totally new to iphones and wanted to purchase one for mp3 abilities and GPS, I thought I was buying an Apple Iphone but the guy is saying he never said apple. Now I have been researching it and this Iclone is basically useless to me. It really seems like this advertising is illegal and I am wondering if I should pursue it through law enforcement. Also it looks like this phone is referred to as a CTEC Phone or "HiPhone" not an Iphone when sold on online websites. This seems like deception. I have never owned an Iphone so I didn't know it was a fake at time of purchase.

Here is what the ad looked like.

"
    iPhone -Unlocked -8 GB 1st Generation 2G/Edge
    -2 batteries
    -Works on any SIM card
    - Power cord and computer connection cord
    - Original box
    - Slightly used but works great!
    -Bluetooth Enabled
    -USB Interface
    -Color Screen
    -Touch Screen
    -Speakerphone
    -SMS-Text Messaging
    -Internet Browser
    -PDA-PC Sync
    -MP3 Player
    -Calendar
    -Polyphonic Ringtones
    -Email Access
    Unlocked- works with all SIM cards not just AT&T!!!

$275 or Best offer!
    Thanks = ]

"

What do you guys think?
    My idea is that he advertising this as a 2g/edge Iphone, it insinuates that is an apple Iphone. He also puts includes at&t there that would also insinuate that if the phone we're locked it would be used with AT&T. Also the camera on the phone does not work, and it does not have 8GB. It only has 1 MB of memory total. (I think it uses SD card and it's missing)

I have this guys Name, email address, and cell phone number and he is unwilling to return my money for this product.

2. arkitect macrumors 601

arkitect

Well if the ad said:
    and you received a fake then you can report this person to the police etc.

However! The fact that it shipped with 2 batteries should have warned you off. :(